Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Why did they give me that room?

Posted Jan 6, 2017
I was put in a room in the first floor across from the elevator. I was going to ask for a room change when my husband noticed that the elevator was broken donut wouldn't be a problem. All was fine - until the staff met outside our room to chat early in the morning. They were loud! The hotel was empty. Why put us there? Was it b/c we got a discounted rate through Expedia? I hope that is not what they do to all their Expedia guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean and staff were very nice.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Hotel was clean and staff were very nice. Staff would go out of their way to make you comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold Spring, NY

Perfect Amenities - Helpful Stafff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: staff, amenities
Cons: nothing
I am a close friend of a large family that needed affordable accommodations while a relative underwent major surgery at Albany Medical Center. I chose the hotel for the family because of its comprehensive amenities (indoor pool, free internet, free breakfast) combined with affordability. The hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate the special needs of the family. The family was extremely happy with their stay and will absolutely return in the future, should they need to stay in the area again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

heat /ac did not work

Posted Dec 12, 2016
heat /ac in one room did not work...pumped out hot air...room was 85...complained several times to no avail...at checkout next day was still not fixed...shower area was disgusting...was in town for college graduation...booked 3 rooms...other rooms were fine...this was not and I should be re-imbursed... the hotel said they would but bill went through Expedia. I called sunday and was on hold with expedia for 47 min and then hung up....not HAPPY
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Gil, Hotel Management
Dear frequent traveler, We're very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. Please contact me directly at (518) 489- 2981 Ext: 600. I would be more than happy to assist you with a resolution. Sincerely, Gil General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Cons: Beds were very used & mattresses needed replacement.
We have stayed here many times but it seems like the hotel has deteriorated over past year. on checking in the front desk was very helpful. When we checked in to the room, the smoke detector had been removed & there were bare wires where it had been. My husband went to the front desk & expressed concern over the missing smoke detector & asked to speak with the manager. He was told the person wasn't there now but would be back. My husband checked additional times over the afternoon to see if the manager had returned with no luck. Finally, he asked to have the manager call him. We never received a call from the manager. Such terrible public relations!!! A very nice maintenance worker came & had to rewire to install a new smoke detector. We will not be staying here again. Safety should be the top consideration when choosing a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Gil, Hotel Management
Dear frequent traveler, We're very sorry to hear that you did no feel safe upon checking in. We did resolve the issue as soon as it was brought up to our attention. Rest assured that this has been addressed with the proper department heads and it will never happen again. We do not like to hear that you wouldn't stay with us again because of this but we sure hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we are more than capable of meeting your expectations Gil General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, affordable, and convenient

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: All rooms and hallways need updating.
Friendly staff. Broken 2nd elevator was a nuisance. Nice lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Gil, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Sovereign. We appreciate our guests' feedback, good and bad. We understand how the one broken elevator could have been a nuisance. Rest assured that the issue has been corrected. We had to wait for our service contractor to order the correct part. All of our rooms were remodeled two years ago. We're glad to read that you appreciate the friendliness of our staff; We're all eager to provide great service. We hope that you also enjoyed our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. We will hopefully see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bx ny

Nice hotel close to my destanation.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
It's was an GREAT experience , I will be coming back to you guys soon. Keep up the good work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

convenient location.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Hotel is down the streef from the crossgate mall and across the street from SONY Alb any campus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A bit let down

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Location was great. Close to downtown Albany, right across the street from UAlbany, and close to the Northway/Thruway.
While the lobby and the room were nice and had obviously been renovated recently, the hallway and restaurant decor were very dated and a bit shabby. My biggest complaint was that there was NO internet during my stay. It was down and I was told someone was working on it, but that was not conducive to a business stay. I had no way of doing work while at the hotel. The staff did not offer any compensation for this either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. And close proximity to the University could be a plus.
Cons: Lobby smelled like stale carpet or something nasty. Room furniture was broken ( chair couldn't be sat in). Hotel also serves as low-income housing.
Nice staff. Included B'fast was pretty good. Right across street from Univeristy Western Ave entrance. But, room furniture is broken, and stained. Bathroom vents didn't work at all ( so showering steamed everything). Expedia fails to disclose that this hotel is used by the local municipality to house "long term residents". Self-serve breakfast with a bunch of people in their "jammies and slippers" was a real pleasure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Gil, Hotel Management
Dear D, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Sovereign. First and foremost, please know that we are not used by any local municipality to house long- term residents or low- income housing. We only have one long- term resident who has been with us for over two years; She is part of the family now. We're glad that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Our bathrooms are not equipped with individual vents. Our ventilation system is a common one. We do not have carpeting in our lobby. What you smelled was most likely the chemical used to clean our lobby floor. I am sorry that it inconvenienced you. We will look into maybe using a lighter one. Thank you for complimenting the staff. Your feedback good and bad, is appreciated and definitely valuable to us, We hope that we will see you again in the future. Best, Gil General Manager