Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Bugs

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Everything was great until we came accross the roaches
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by jaye, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whiteville NC

Location central to restaurants and major roads

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: I've stayed with this chain before and found that it was like the others. It's clean and the morning breakfast is good. Comfy clean rooms.
Cons: No recommendations. Just continue to do what you are doing.
Location: Location was good but was there to visit friends so I didn't do the touristy things.
I was there to visit friends and the location was convenient. Didn't spend any time enjoying local activities but did eat at the "regular" chain restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Jaye, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review of our hotel and location and the staff. We appreciate your time and your business. We look forward to serve you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Okay Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Our room and bathroom was dirty, there was chips on the floor and a dirty wash cloth hanging on the shower curtain rod. Walls are thin, could hear the people above us walking around all night and the smoke detector kept beeping off and on, was finally able to get someone at the front desk around 2 a.m. to come remove it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by jaye, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies. It was a very busy marathon weekend. We are working on making it better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of money

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Terrible hotel. Don't waste your money. The staff was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by jaye, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies. Thank you for letting me know of the nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met all expectations.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to church and to stores for shopping and restaurants .
Cons: nothing
Location: Answered above.
Very busy as motel was probably full. Always someone at the desk willing to help you with whatever your need was at the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Jaye, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel, location and great staff the desk!! Thank you for your business. Look forward to serve you again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evans, Ga

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I have stayed at this motel numerous times over the past 3 years and have always been pleased. This experience was awful. We wanted 2 Queen Beds but was not available so we settled for a King suite. The comforter on the king bed was a queen the first night..almost froze to death fighting over covers. Four people stayed in room, only furnished towels for two people. The drawers on the dresser would not stay closed with our clothes and belongings inside. Then at three AM the fire alarm battery kept beeping...No Sleep at all.didn't want to call for maintenance because the kids slept thru it. We told the staff the next morning so the comforter was changed when we arrived back..still towels for only two people and at 4 AM and again at 6Am that dang battery beeped so that was not taken care of . I am very disappointed in my stay this time. I do know that the tornado was an issue the week before and I am trying to think that had a lot to do with some things but no sleep for two days because a battery was not changed (laziness ) is wrong,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Customer, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We regret to hear if you were not given the type of room that you wanted during your stay. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability and we apologize if it wasn't possible in your case. Also, we are sorry if you were not satisfied with the amenities in the room such as the comforter, drawers and if you had a hard time to sleep because of the beeping alarm battery. We understand how important it is to have a quiet room for you to be able to sleep well. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to reach out to us so we may review your requested accommodations in detail.
4 out of 5
by Sam

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
We had to change rooms because the first room bed was not made up. The second room was great. It was an inconvenience that we had to move everything to another room even though it was across the hall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience we caused you while you stayed with us. We will work on this issue and get this corrected. We thank you for your feed back and we thank you for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome Staff!!!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We had a pleasant experience staying at this hotel. My only thing that caused me to not rate it excellent in all categories was the fact that the beds were a little more firm than what I like to sleep on (but that is a personal preference) The hotel staff was awesome. They were all very friendly! Enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by jaye, Hotel Management
Thank you for the high stars and great comments! Thank you for letting me know about my staff members awesome service. We thank for your business!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bathroom in 323

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: friendliness of the staff and close to everything
Location: close to food and shopping and where I need to be
stayed in room 323. The rim of the toilet was dirty and the tub stopper was broken but I was able to use it but when you went to fill the tub the shower head would drip all over you. Other that that the stay was great as usual when I stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by jaye, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We will have these suggestions looked at and corrected asap. We appreciate your review and thank you so much for your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany

NEVER AGAIN

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Cold stale breakfast. No coffee and they didn't care. Rude uncaring people. Noisy room. NEVER AGAIN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies. This does not sound like our hotel. We have the best breakfast in the town and the most friendly staff in the area... I will most certainly look in to this and correct the problem asap. Thank you for letting us know. We do appreciate your comments and your business.