Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This is in terrible condition.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Bad condition, smelly, tub not draining, toilet not flushing properly, breakfast no good. Calls for a total reno and upgrade.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

ACCEPTABLE, ONLY HOTEL IN THE AREA DOG FRIENDLY,

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Staff and house keeping personnel were very attentive.
Cons: Smoke smell, cleanliness of common areas, elevator, rugs and luggage cart all are worn and need upgrade and constant housekeeping attention.
Location: Union College right next door.
Room was OK, lobby and common areas worn. Only Hotel in town that is "dog friendly." Also has smoking rooms available but the smoke odor is throughout the hotel. There are also nonrefundable pet fees that you need to be aware of that are not noted using expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Not a very good hotel. Hallway is very dark. Room is a good size but bathroom is small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Dreary

Posted Sep 16, 2016
This was a sad and lonely place to stay. We sort of knew we had chosen badly when we saw that there were only 5 cars in the parking lot, while the lot for the Doubletree across the street seemed to be full. Our impression was confirmed once we got inside. The room was clean and the staff did their jobs. However, the paint job was sloppy, there were stains on the rugs, there was bad staining on the wall in the bathroom where the plumbing had leaked through the drywall (in fact the hole the water had come through was still there too). The view from our window in the back of the hotel was of the edge of a park and kinda creepy, and right before bedtime we heard a lot of shouting out there. I was just about to call the guy at the front desk and suggest that he call the police, when the shouting subsided. Drug deal finished, perhaps? I don't want to know. The continental breakfast was extremely limited--we elected to leave and go find a restaurant. We were visiting a local college: I can safely say, if our daughter gets in, we will never stay here again. In all fairness, the price was a lot less than that Doubletree I mentioned, but I think I would rather spend more money next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ky

This hotel is very conveniently located in town.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: The price
Cons: They could have rolls or donuts, something of the "grab and go" variety available at breakfast.
There are a couple of other hotels nearby, but since we are only there to sleep, no sense in paying twice to three times as much for a place to sleep. The rooms are clean, free wi-fi, parking lot is well lit, nice people at front desk. Breakfast is mainly cereal, oatmeal, toast or yogurt, but we always plan on going out for breakfast anyway. We come to Schenectady twice a year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice that it was close to the college

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: close to the college
Cons: Toilet would not flush and it was not vacuumed very well
Location: very good
Staff was nice . Just did not like that it was not vacuumed and toilet would not flush.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather yucky but good on the budget

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Front desk staff people were snippy. Hall way smelled of illicit activity. We were looking to save money. Beds were very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015
The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was competent and polite. The breakfast was ok, I guess. Limited, but then, it can't cover any of my favorites: i.e. sausage and pancakes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Bad Place

Posted Sep 21, 2015
After reading reviews and getting input from local friends, we decided not to stay there because of bad location and negative comments ranging from surly staff to bedbugs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Close to downtown

Posted Sep 21, 2015
This is an ok Days Inn, and from the inside it is pretty average for these kinds of hotels. But the location will perhaps make some uncomfortable. We were there on a Saturday night and there were maybe four cars in the entire parking lot, yet we saw more folks than that coming and going. We did not have a negative experience, but I wouldn't risk it a second time.