Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Averill Park, NY

Overnight in Schenectady

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Very nice' overall. But for the nice hotel and room, I thought the bathroom was small and oddly situated. It opened right into the room with a sliding barn-type door. Awkward. Otherwise everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern new hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Beautiful new hotel in the heart of downtown. Very clean with great amenities! Kids loved the large pool and cookies and I loved the comfortable beds. Staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay. I would definitely boom this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Brand new hotel with great high end finishes!! The room bathroom is on the small side but again the finishes are spot on. The bathroom door is on stylish sliders, which limits the level of privacy. So I hope you know the other guests in your room very well! Overall great hotel. I would definitely stay there again and recommend to others!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could have done better in the rebuild.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: It is new.
Cons: Would like to see the parking lot more secured. Bigger bathrooms.
This is a new hotel, that took a long time to complete. Over all they did a good job. My only issue is the size of the bathroom. It was very small. I felt like I was in a boutique hotel. There was very little room in the bathroom. You could not fit two people in there at the same time. Is this a deal breaker, maybe not. The cost of the room compared to the other hotels in the area could bring me back. I am in this town a couple of time a year,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The complete renovation is great!

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: New and clean.
Location: Right near the little Italy section, the library, City Hall, and Union College. Plus lots of restaurants close by.
The Doubletree Schenectaday is nos a great place to stay and an excellent value. Well done!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Move appliances. Put something to hold soap in the shower. Too late to provide more floor space.
Location: The neighborhood is not great, but it is close to Union College and the old downtown.
The room was cramped. The refrigerator and microwave were difficult to use, tucked back in cupboards under the counter. The bathroom was small. There was no place to put soap and shampoo in the shower. Not worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts about your most recent stay with our property. We are glad to hear you liked our convenient location near Union College. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the placement of our refrigerators and microwaves. We will be reviewing these to ensure our guest rooms are the best. We also apologize for the inconvenience about the soap holders and they have now been fully installed throughout our hotel. We hope you stay with us again the next time you are in Schenectady. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Hotel staff was extremely nice. They room was clean as well as the overall cleanliness of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Hotel OK. Management support: unacceptable.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Rooms were clean.
Cons: Place more than one Keurig regular coffee in the room. Place coffee cups in the room. . Don't allow barking dogs. Serve hot not barely warm sausages.
They overcharged me by $166.43 as confirmed by one of their Double Tree Desk Staff and by the two Representatives at Expedia that I spoke with on Sunday 12/13/15. I was told by both groups that a Refund would be applied to my Credit Card and that I would be called by the DoubleTree Manager on Monday (12/14/15) with an apology and with a confirmation that the credit would be applied, Thus far, no Credit has been applied to my Visa Credit Card nor has the Double Tree Manager called me. At this time, all I have is Expedia and Double Tree "Double Talk". I see no reason to ever consider doing business with either of you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Super clean.
Cons: Gluten free cookies or fruit at check in as an alternative to the regular cookie.
This brand new hotel is perfectly located at the center of the city, within a 5 minute walk of Union College and just steps away from downtown Schenectady nightlife. The room was impeccable and beautifully appointed - we loved the sliding door to the bathroom in lieu of a traditional swinging door. The bed was sooooooo comfortable, and our view overlooking city hall was very pleasant. I am a resident of Schenectady and was proud to share this new hotel with my out of town guest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
The Holiday Inn brand has somewhat slipped in my opinion. We were late making reservations for a Farm Aid concert and everything was booked from Albany to Lake George, except for this hotel. After reading the reviews, some good some bad, we booked rooms. We are happy to say everything was perfect, from check in with Dominick , who gave us a great restaurant, Canalis in town, Gina in the lounge, the wait staff in Samuels, housekeeping, security,etc. The rooms and the hotel were clean and the rates were more than fair. The area was fine, we walked all over the area and had no problems. We stayed three days and would definitely would go back.