Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
We have stayed at this hotel many times but this time were disappointed when there was no housekeeping service on Christmas Day. This would not have been a problem except we were not told (alerted) about it in advance. Also the toilet over the course of that one day got a 'ring' around it which we felt would not have happened with just one day of no housekeeping. We also did not receive a full replacement of towels that we requested on our final night and had to use a hand towel for a wash cloth. Some of the staff were very friendly but others were heads down doing computer things and did not greet us as we passed through the lobby. These things are a definite change from our previous stays in this hotel. Overall it was okay but in the past we would have rated it outstanding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad start to my stay

Posted Nov 23, 2016
After driving four hours, I arrived in my room on the third floor only to feel a very cold draft. As I looked around, I could tell the heater was "on" and trying to produce heat in the room, however one of the 4' * 2' window panes was out of the track and lying on the floor against the window treatments. At this point, I didn't know if someone had climbed through the window or not so after a quick inspection, I decided the room was safe, but still cold. I immediately went to the front desk and explained the situation and the gentleman at the counter instantly replaced the room with another. It was a small inconvenience and never got an explanation why one of the windows was off the track but they made good on a new room immediately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding overnight

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Friiendly staff made the visit nice.
Cons: Check in was confusing. I booked the hotel through Expedia; my information was misplaced and duplicate billing occurred.
Location: Downtown near restaurants, taverns, theatre and walking street.
Nice hotel near many restaurants and downtown activities. Lobby area very nice, spacious, clean and inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to action

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Proctors, good food and drink
Close to proctors and good meals and bars. Staff exceptionally nice. Breakfast eggs were gross but rest of food was standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and convenient

Posted Feb 15, 2016
We only stayed one day but it was a nice experience. Very clean with very friendly personnel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Short stay for a family funeral. Hotel was very comfortable, perfect location in center of town, complimentary breakfast hit the spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close Proximety to Proctors

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: The hotel was located downtown and was central to almost everything.
Cons: Nothing I observed.
Location: The city of Schenectady, NY is historic so I would suggest taking a very good camera. There is a movie theater and very good restaurants nearby.
We had a suite which was very spacious and clean. Our room faced the the street which was pretty cool since it allowed us to watch the annual holiday parade from our room. If you are planning to attend an event at Proctors theater (we saw Motown), Hampton Inn is ideal. We didn't have to drive anywhere since everything was in walking distance. We came in by train and Amtrak was literally right up the street from the hotel so we didn't need a cab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Howell, NJ

Staff gave us room 3 hours earlier.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Hotel was situated in historic district, with plenty restaurants and sites. perfect for business people and last minute changes to presentations.
Cons: I wish i had more time there.
Location: plenty of restaurants, historic sites and night life
Great staff, clean, well provided amenities in room. And excellent free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The hotel is very nice; after a bad day with a car breakdown, it raised our mood again. The rooms are nice, the indoor pool relaxed us and made the children happy, and we had a very good breakfast.