Featured Image

Reviews of Hilton Albany

3.5 out of 5
Hilton Albany
40 Lodge Street, Albany, NY

Overall score and ratings

3.6

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 295 out of 966 reviews
5 - Excellent 31%
Rating 4 - Good. 277 out of 966 reviews
4 - Good 29%
Rating 3 - Okay. 170 out of 966 reviews
3 - Okay 18%
Rating 2 - Poor. 122 out of 966 reviews
2 - Poor 13%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 102 out of 966 reviews
1 - Terrible 11%

3.8/5

Cleanliness

3.9/5

Staff & service

3.5/5

Amenities

3.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
I booked a king sized room, they gave it away before I got there and gave me a queen room. The room key didn't work so I had to go back to the lobby to get it fixed.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hotel was very grimey and dirty. Wallpaper peeling off in the bathroom and tub overflowing. Carpet was All stained
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Is good hotel please come and enjoy
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was clean and very close to concert venues. Friendly people
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
DO NOT STAY HERE. NO HEAT. During my stay (late Oct) the high was 55, and the low was low 30s. The building had no heat. Getting out of a lukewarm shower into a 40-50 room was a nightmare. All they offered was additional blanket. No offers for concessions or refunds, and when I asked for concessions/refunds I was told bc I booked 3rd party they would not help me. So beware of that. Most things are in disrepair, and the hotel itself is unclean. Don’t be fooled by the Hilton name. This place is a dump. Management is extremely inconsiderate and clearly this hotel is struggling. Do not stay here.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Bed was very comfortable. Staff was exceptional. We needed a ride to the Palace Theater and they provided one at no cost.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was amazing
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Was clean and convienent to where my meeting was
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Perfectly fine. The people were very nice and helful
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness
This property is a great location to stay to go to events at Times Union. We did have some issues with the tub not draining very well but other than that, no complaints.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities
The room was okay size but the bathroom was very small and tight.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Long check in lines, loud wedding party, keys didn't work first time around, wifi from 1998, and pricey breakfast buffet with soggy french toast.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Great location. Great staff. Room was cold cuz they are still on summer AC and haven’t switched to heat yet. Parking expensive.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
We chose the hotel largely because of its location and for purportedly having an indoor swimming pool. The location turned out to provide easy access to the State Capitol and other buildings but the pool was closed for renovation. The area was dark and gloomy at night. Restaurant service was slow. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Shower was designed for accessibility but it was hard to keep water from going under the shower curtain to the bathroom floor.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Front desk service was terrible. Upon check in we were told we would not get the King sized room we had booked but rather a double room with fulls. The woman checkin us in did not even bother to apologize or acknowledge the inconvenience. We had booked for our anniversary, my partner is 6’4 we would not even fit in a full bed together. We went up to the room, the elevator was dirty and smelled of weed, paint was chipped and peeling in the room, bathroom was TINY and dirty, took the stairs back down and their were holes on the walls with plaster all over on two separate landings, also Red Bull all over the floor - our shoes literally stuck to the floor. We had explicitly booked this hotel for the pool and the hot tub amenities - the pool was completely under construction and hot tub filled in with concrete. Upon this we decided it wasn’t worth staying. When I checked us out the woman at the desk once again didn’t even bother to ask why we were checking out 2 hours after checking in nor did she even ask me what it was she could help me with - so rude. For 200 dollars a night I expect decent friendly service and cleanliness. I would never book here again and I suggest anyone to save your money and book somewhere else.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Clean and well maintained.In-house dining restaurant and bar definitely a plus
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I enjoyed our stay and would change anything about it.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I would come back
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Bathrooms were VERY small, only 3 old flat pillows in room for king size, beds not that comfy. Rooms were clean but the facility outside the rooms could use some TLC. Only stayed there because son was staying there for MEPS. Probably wouldn’t return.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very convenient for exploring downtown Albany. Staff was helpful and professional.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The beautiful architecture.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
There were two front desk check-in staff members but lines were long as phones were busy felt bit rushed. Hotel had a wedding and number of events and only two front-line employees to serve the hotel restaurant & bar but they were only able to really serve the wedding party that filled the entire area.Breakfast was bit disorganized, needed to ask for coffee as the server did not arrive till much later.Short-Staffing issues aside, I will stay again should the need arise but hope to be able to get better service.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great.!!!!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We are staying here again in November
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very clean hotel , the staff are very friendly .
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Poor front desk service.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel and the room was clean and most of the staff was relatively friendly. Besides cleanliness the room itself was not great. The bed was uncomfortable, the AC wasnt effective. The bathroom was small and the shower was cramped. Water pressure not so good. Next time I come to the area, I’ll stay somewhere else.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service
My third stay here — first two were fine. After three years, things have changed. Horrible dining options near hotel. Clearly amateur service personnel. Abysmal housekeeping services (no towels left on second day, no room cleaning service whatsoever on the third). Only positive: incompetence extended to their bookkeeping— they forgot to charge for a breakfast and undercharged me for parking. I’d like to think this was to make up for my discontent, but they were unaware of my discontent. It was just another blunder in a long series that typified my experience. Avoid at all costs. And that’s too bad. I would have said the opposite after my last stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The front desk staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and there were a few restaurants within walking distance for dinner.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The front desk associate was very friendly and helped us with a quick check in. Upon entering the room there were no pillow cases or pillows on the bed. In addition to that, we later found out there were no towels and the tub drained poorly. Our stay was fine. But could have been better with these adjustments.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Room smelled with cigarettes and broken TV did not work - overall not a great instance of reputed Hilton brand
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The room I stayed in was not the cleanest. Also I couldn’t sleep well due to the noise coming from outside.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hilton Albany
Please keep the exterior of the hotel as clean as the interior. The entrance was in dire need of a sweep and power wash.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
did not like, looked dark, old and dirty, room had an odor., rugs old dark and dirty looking, paint chipping on ceiling in shower. main entrance, not inviting, dark looking. outside the hotel, undesirables hanging around street corner.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Loved the architecture around the hotel.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children, Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The bathroom was nasty. Drain to tub was rusted out , water took long to drain from the tub. And there was the last customers hair all the bath tub wall. There was no garbage pail in the Beth room or the room . Not pleased at all
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
We’re assigned to 15th floor, top floor. The view from the room was great.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021