Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel but not so great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel is very clean and modern, the rooms are nice and very comfortable. The staff was ok, a little aloof, but polite. Unfortunately with the elevated highway, if you are on the side that faces it, you will hear noise in the early morning. It's downtown but at the very end of the nice area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and will take your opinion into consideration to improve on our service. We hope if you return to Albany we can get you in a room off the highway so you may enjoy your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

good value new Empire Plaza

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Nice place close to empire plaza for my business meetings there.
Cons: The bed was OK, but not the most comfortable I ever slept on.
Location: Restaurants, empire plaza
this place is within walking distance of the Empire Plaza, but no need as they have a shuttle which will take you there for your meetings, or to the airport, or just about anywhere you want to go. The room is clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and filling. the staff were excellent, and there are restaurants close by. The area is a little run down, but I never felt unsafe walking or driving outside. I will be back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Robert, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you will be back! Hopefully the city of Albany will help us revitalize the area so that it is more inviting. We are replacing beds this year . Hopefully this will aid in your decision to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown but a bit out of the way

Posted Jun 26, 2017
located at the edge of a safe neighborhood. Hotel shuttle bus will drop you off and pick you up to sites within a reasonable radius. Otherwise keep to main streets when walking. For example it is not safe to walk to Schuyler Mansion but walking to Empire State Plaza and other major points of interest on State St is ok. Door to room did not always lock even though it "clicked" when shutting it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will definitely stay again

Posted May 19, 2017
Stayed with my Girl Scouts to visit The Capital. Room was large. Staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope the entire troop enjoyed their stay! Please help us to spread the word about our renovated property. We hope you will stay overnight with us again the next time you are in town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

shuttle service

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: service and convenience to train station
Location: restaurants, train station across the bridge - that's all we had time to do
excellent local shuttle, quick, responsive, very cordial driver
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the properties location and amenities. Please visit us again the next time you are in Albany
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Near downtown
Cons: Not much
Location: great brew pubs just 20 minute walk also to state buildings walkable
Very comfortable quiet clean room good breakfast offered
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoy our property as much as we do! Our favorite brewery is Druthers located on Broadway in Albany! Hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Satisfying

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness.
Cons: Friendly staff.
Location: It is by the highway. Easy to find. Downtown is in walking distance.
Staff was ok - not appreciably friendly and could be friendlier and more informative. Room was excellent; clean; comfortable. When I looked through the window, I saw dirty rooftop and highway; unwelcoming. Decent and good breakfast; warm and welcoming breakfast area. I stayed alone for a day on my trip at the New York State capital to do some work in the Capitol building. The human connection and friendliness will have made a great impact!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not "feeling the love" from our front desk. We have recently put a great training schedule together with our staff. We will make sure this is on the list of items to go over. We are sorry we couldn't impress you this time around.
4 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
My room was very clean and the breakfast was amazing. The service was fast and friendly. I was a little disappointed in the pool it was a little cold for my kids. We had fun in the pool but couldn't stay long in there cuz they were cold. I picked a hotel with a pool so we can enjoy it but besides that it was wonderful. Everyone that came in the pool thought it was cold too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your review. We apologize the temperature of the pool was not to your liking. Our maintenance staff check the temperature regularly . We will look into why this was not done on your stay! Please come back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your review. We think we have the best front desk staff around! We will share your comments with them at the next employee of the month luncheon. Hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Easy to get to, nice for short stays

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, right off the highway. Nice pool and staff, great rooms, and a great breakfast offered.
Location: Not too much to do nearby. Had nice dinner and few beers while watching Mets game at a bar nearby. Downtown isn't far but definitely not right there
Stayed for a night on a trip from Baltimore to Buffalo. Perfect for a one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Shannon Jones- Director of Sales and Marketing , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope you take advantage of our complimentary shuttle next time you come into town. We recognize many of the top bars/restaurants are not within walking distance but our shuttle will take you there and back! Please visit us again .