Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not terribly expensive and close to highway

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable, there was cable, the shower was clean and there was good water pressure.
Cons: Better attention to detail...maps, ice. In all fairness, I'm not sure the young man at the front desk was a full time employee or just filling in?
Location: Just off the highway and you can take central ave directly to downtown. It's not long at all.
We arrived with a staff member who was less than helpful. We asked where the ice machine was and he said it was at the back of the building. After checking twice on a cold December day we told the concierge we couldn't find it. He then said 'I guess it broke' but you can go purchase some ice elsewhere 'it's not expensive'. I told him that I didn't think we should have to purchase ice as motels provide that. Eventually he went to that attached restaurant and got us some ice. Also that motel had no maps of the city. I found that also strange.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Comfortable bed with micro and frig

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Nice for price breakfast was okay zzzzzzzzxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzzxx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plattsburgh, United States of America

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Many food and shopping places close by.
Cons: Fridge and microwave in the room wouldve been nice.
Location: Crossgates and colonie malls are close by as well as many eateries and stores.
This hotel is centrally located and easy to find. There is a restaurant right on site as well as many nearby. The main shopping mall is a little away but others are very close. The property was well kept and clean and the staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The only down side was no microwave or fridge in the room and even though it was a non smoking room it smelled of smoke. Possibly from the room next door. Overall it was a nice place with a reasonable cost. Would definitely stay there again when in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Clean room and good breakfast
Cons: Expedia
Good location quiet room frig micro and flat screen tv
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Very easy to check in and had a good breakfast

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: lots of things nearby to do
The hotel was a little old dated but had everything joined would need
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany Ny

Short stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Fine for the price after coming into the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Visited my daughter for a college visit and this hotel was very accommodating. Will rebook in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The air conditioning worked fine. Restaurants around it were very good. City bus stop was less than half a block away
Cons: Pretty much everything. Furnishings were severely outdated, bedspread/blankets had holes in them, and room was not very clean.
Have never stayed in such a dump of a room. This includes the dumps I stayed in to crash after concerts during my misspent youth. Would have taken pictures but don't think they would not have done it justice. In overhearing conversations of other guests at the breakfast bar the next morning, it seemed everyone's experience was very similar to mine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale Fl.

Close to airport

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Sheets were clean and bed was not to soft.
Cons: Finish the renovation.Bathtub is going to have water damage.
Location: On the other side of the expressway is lots of resturants
ok for just one night. They need to finish the renovation. Just half done. Did not feel clean. Did not take my shoes off. Sheets were clean and crisp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnsons kitsch

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, large rooms, garden like courtyard. Retro, kitschy feel. Convenient location.
Cons: It would be great if they completely embraced the 60s ish decor and ran with it. more garden feel in courtyard maybe a volleyball net.
Location: Location is wonderful. Malls, movies, restaurants. Right off exit. Bus stop right out front. Gas stations. 5 minutes from Albany.
I have stayed here several times. I really enjoy the retro feel. Very friendly staff. Clean, large, affordable rooms. Not the best continental breakfast, but several restaurants within walking distance including dunkin donuts and Dairy Queen grill and chill for low budget options. Thai, Mexican right next door and an excellent Italian restaurant on site. Down the road are an abundance of others. A whole foods is just a minutes drive away as well. Big pool and a large tree and grass courtyard. Fun and inviting.