Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall, very good

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Shuttle service to downtown! Taxi service HORRIBLE in Albany area.
Location: Concerts, airport.
Very little hot water. Beds comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rosemere, Qc

Good hotel for a short stay

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Proximity to shopping and restaurants
Cons: Carpet and bath/shower could be a little cleaner. A little more effort would have been nice. Pool area has a very strong Chlorine odour.
Location: A good restaurant to try, Bone Fish just down the road. Excellent
Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were offered a room upgrade to make our stay more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Overall a great stay but the hotel was setting up for an event so no sleeping in, too noisy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Very clean hotel. Pool had a lot of chlorine that affected our skin and bathing suits. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dexter, NY

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Friendly staff and clean rooms. Dinner was very good and reasonably priced. I'd recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jan 19, 2016
This is a clean, friendly, quiet and spacious hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY,NY

Going Down Hill

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Not the burnt toast, awol room service staff or temped hot tub when it finally opened, but only the two employees who did try.
Cons: Staffing and maintenance and updating. The bones of the place are great, but staff that don't care make it unpleasant.
Location: Empire State Museum, Art, Dance and Car museums in Albany and Saratoga, Indian Ladder Farm with animals, and lots of shopping
Having stayed at this hotel twice before my family's most recent stay, while it was a Holiday Inn Express, we hoped our most recent stay would be just as good. Unfortunately, it was not. All I can guess, is either the new management is asleep at the wheel, and doesn't realize how their employees are performing and how the property looks to visitors, or they are intentionally trying to run it into the ground. We came into contact with one very conciencios waiter in the restraunt and one blond desk clerk who really made efforts to try to make our stay better, but they were the exception to the rule. We could deal with the lack of signage, the old signs covered and not yet permanently replaced, and the fact the side doors no longer required a room key during the day, even the fact there no longer was anyone staffing the pool, though more than once we arrived to find the bin of fresh towels empty, but what was more frustrating was the front desk's attitude. When we arrived to check in, a driver, I assume employed by the hotel was fighting with the front desk clerk, telling her he would not drive a guest, what looked to be an airline pilot, to the airport because his shift hadn't officially begun and that she would have to call a cab. But she seemed neither apologetic to the guest nor the least self conscious about the whole commotion the driver caused. Then, a work man came to the front desk and announced the hot tub would be closed for the forseable future, again no apology.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost excellent!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Love the pool, although we didn't get to use it. Enjoyed visiting with family "outside" in the "courtyard" type atmosphere. Comfy bed!!
Cons: The air & temp control of the room was too hot.
Beautiful, clean rooms & facility. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing I wasn't comfortable with was the temperature of the room. Even with the thermostat all the way down and the air fan on it felt too hot & stuffy. Love the hotel and plan on returning. Will mention the air control when I go back. Overall, was a great stay! Love the pool, even though we didn't get time to use it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First visit

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Our first stay. Very impressed. Staff off the charts. Polite, courteous, professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disorganized

Posted Nov 29, 2015
The staff had no clue about our reservation . Misc . Things were broken. Our group were spread all over the place , and all told different stories.