Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very helpful staff. comfortable beds.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: nice pub.
they dropped us off and picked us up at the airport with no hassles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f from toronto canada

Nice, clean friendly staff and good food

Posted Dec 6, 2016
My first time and it was awesome, it was a quiet stay, wonderful staff , the food was great in the dining room and I look forward to staying here again and again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albany ny

Balcony room great to sleep in.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Everything I needed was right there, food ,drinks, and comfort.
Cons: Clean rugs in hall.
Location: Having a Christmas party and didn't want to drink and drive
Hallways need some attention very dirty. Balcony room and leaving door open to hear water running put me into a great sleep. Room was very clean. Will be back. Also great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel near Albany airport

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Gorgeous inside w/gardens, lights, stone pathways throughout. Excellent food & service. Employees were very helpful & curteous. Can't wait to stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Unique Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Great stay, rooms could use a little updating. Nice conference facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Old and worn

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Shopping
I haven't been to the Desmond since the early 90s, but now have to travel regularly to Albany from NYC. At that time the hotel provided visitors with a quaint family friendly experience so I figured it would make a nice option when I came up for a SUNY mtg. Was surprised when I got there because it became quickly evident that the hotel had obviously not had one upgrade or improvement in over 20 years since I had last been there. When I arrived they had no luggage carriage in the lobby so I had to lug my own bags to my room. The seats in the room were worn and so lumpy I had to have room service find me another chair and the no slip grips in the tub were dirty. Wall sockets didn't work when I tried to plug in my computer and the iron was old so it almost scorched my clothes. Won't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kristie, We appreciate you sharing your comments with us, and they have been shared with the appropriate department managers. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, we strive to resolve any guests as soon as we learn about them. We hope to see you again and show you that your stay was not indicative of our usual standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, great food

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Good comfortable hotel. Friendly staff and great food in the bar. A hotel with character rather than homogeneous airport hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston,SC

I love how close it was to the hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
It's was a beautiful hotel. I felt like I had slipped back in time. I adore hotels that give you that feel. The only problem I saw was the tub. That was the only thing I felt needed any remodeling. Other than that everything was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

NIce décor throughout hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Décor.
Cons: detailed cleaning
Location: Great location near airport.
I enjoyed my stay for the weekend. Majjor kudos and thanks for the shuttle service and drivers. Great location near airport. My only negatives were there were guest hairs on the carpet and in the shower and can hear airplane noise. Needs detailed room cleaning. Otherwise pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great place!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Really lovely and had a great stay. Will return for sure.