Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spacious old-Arabic-style Riadh

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, style, friendliness of staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location in the Almaycin. Everything walkable. Views of the Alhambra. Bars, restaurants and nightlife right on your doorstep, but also calm
Beautifully comfortable, a refurbished Arabic-style house build around an open central courtyard. Our room was double-fronted. Calm, white drapes and neutral walls, fantastically comfortable bed, seating area, lovely bathroom and views over the Al-Hambra. Could have been noisy as it's right along the banks of the Darro, on the busiest street of the Almaycín but we were not disturbed, even with the windows open. Breakfast is excellent, the staff charming and helpful and the hotel itself about as comfortable and welcoming as any I've been in. Great value for money too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twickenham

Very comfortable room

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel overlooks the Alhambra walls and is a five-minute walk from the C3 bus to the Alhambra. The Arab baths are a few doors away.
We spent two nights at this hotel. I cannot recommend it more highly. We had a spacious modern room with a Juliet balcony facing the Alhambra walls. The room was furnished simply and tastefully and there was an excellent coffee machine in the room. The hotel lobby is an Arab-style courtyard with juice and cakes available. The location was superb - in the centre of everywhere we wanted to be. The C3 bus to the Alhambra was just a five-minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel facing the Alhambra in the old city of Grana

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Best view of the local neighbourhood and close to the old city.
Location: Visit the old city and Alhambra-Generalife by booking well ahead through on-line tours.
We only stayed one day and it was magnificent! The hotel staff Rachel, was very courteous. We had come in by car and used the valet parking which was very convenient and not much more expensive than parking on your own. It was well worth avoiding the hassle of driving the narrow streets and the chauffeur dropped us off at the hotel with our bags. We stayed at the apartments affiliated with the hotel and it felt that we we're literally living as a local. We had a protruding window which gave us a full view of the busy streets below which was teeming with pedestrians, local buses, taxis and the tourist train. We had a craft beer pub and many cafés & restaurants close by. We chose to go to the hotel restaurant for the breakfast buffet and the barrstor there served us gourmet level coffee, which was included in the price! We visited the Alhambra and Generalife with tickets purchased online several weeks earlier through a tour agency.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great stay in Granada

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We stayed in the apartments about 290 meters up from hotel - this was because on booking the hotel was full. The apartment was very clean, spacious, cool and had everything you could want. They even gave us a free bottle of red wine. There was an issue with the lock on the door when we arrived which was due to a cleaner having inadvertently double locked the door as they left. They were as quick as they could trying to sort it out - it took over an hour and I offered us breakfast free at their hotel. This breakfast was fabulous. It operates from a cafe called Duran which can be accessed from the road or from the beautiful main hotel foyer. It really was a fantastic stay in a beautiful place in then Arab quarters with the Alhambra practically on your doorstep. Highly recommend. Lovely hotel, apartment, area and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Luke

Great hotel, friendly staff

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Shine Albayzin was a great choice for our stay in Granada- fantastic location just minutes away from the main tourist area, clean comfortable rooms at a great price, and very friendly staff that immediately gave us great suggestions and explained the city and its areas very clearly (and circling the areas on a map, which was incredibly helpful). Our room was a little further up from the main check in area, but it was nice and quiet and the rooms were very comfortable. My only (minor) complaint was that the wifi was a little weak, but we experienced that with all the hotels we stayed at in Spain and may have to do with how old the buildings are. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Granada.
5 out of 5
by Heidi

Highly recommend Hotel Shine

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel and perfect location! The room was very spacious, clean, and had modern amenities. The staff was very efficient and helpful. Had a wonderful 2 night stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful location!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect and the apartment was very spacious and well decorated.
Location: Fantastic location with tapas bars and shops nearby. Views of the incredible Alhambra opposite.
We were delighted with our stay here. The location in the old quarter was perfect. We stayed in one of the apartments which was huge and had everything we needed for travelling with two children (in particular the air conditioning!). Even though all the lovely bars were on our doorstop, once inside the apartment we couldn't hear a thing and so it was a very peaceful and relaxing. We parked in the recommended car park which was a 15 minute walk (maybe 10 if you know where you are going!). When we were leaving we got a taxi back to the car park which was easier with luggage. Despite having to walk from the car park, I'd still rather stay in this location than in one of the hotels outside the old quarter. The hotel staff were very friendly and happy to answer all our questions. The two tapas bars they recommended were wonderful so we definitely felt like we had been given the insider knowledge. All in all, if we ever go back to Granada I would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Joaquin Geist from Granada, spain

Disaster

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Could not stay, nowhere in the description did the property or Hotels.com mention all guest had to present photo ID. Hence my spouse and I where forced to sleep in our car, on our anniversary night. We both had been dining and consuming wine, we were too over the legal limit. Our evening was going wonderfully until we were turned away by the property and Hotels.coms solution was to have us drive to another location, really?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Moslem quarter, close to everything

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Terrific stay. Nice accommodations and well situated Loved the adjacent coffee house
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome location and beautiful old building but made modern and comfortable in the guestrooms.