Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Old, worn out

Posted Aug 19, 2016
This motel desperately needs renovation. The room was damp, smoke alarm was beeping, TV remote didn't work, carpet was dirty, shall I go on? Check out time was 11:00 am but they called the room 3 times, starting at 9:00 am, asking when we were going to leave. We got a discounted room rate using Expedia.com, but it was still too much for this crummy room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Everything in this hotel was falling apart and smelled of weed... I have stayed in better hotels that were under construction with nicer individuals manning the front desk.
5 out of 5
by mike from ahoskie

Good stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
it was good
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alvin from Ahoskie

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was great! Great price, clean room, comfortable room and great city in all! The perfect place for couples to have a good time.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Only needed a room for the night to sleep. Was not fancy nor did I bother with the free continental breakfast as it is usually not worth it and coffee is weak. Kept my socks on due to filthy carpet and had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom....glad I kept my socks on!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington NC

Worst motel experience we have ever had! Rate this

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down
Location: I went to Elizabeth City NC to participate in a sanctioned bicycle Century Ride.
When we arrived in Elizabeth City around 5 PM we went directly to this motel(?) The office was locked and no lights were on. There was no answer to the doorbell which we tried many times. No cars were present. Therefore we went to an adjoining motel (Comfort Inn) whereupon the receptionist informed us that often the personnel of the Econo Lodge often just left it closed at various times and left many travelers in the lurch. Also, the motel appeared to be quite rundown and grimy. I would highly recommend that this motel be banned from yoour info, We lost our funding for room there as well, J.Richard Tamisiea
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Oh

Convenient & reasonably priced

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The late night & morning staff.
Cons: Properly verifying the identity of a guest before cancelling a reservation.
Location: -Virginia Beach is 1 hour away. -The Museum of the Albemarle in Elizabeth City is a cool place for history buffs. http://museumofthealbemarle.com
Overall it was an enjoyable stay, however I would recommend to anyone that stays there to make sure you check in during the morning or late night shifts. When I showed up to check in at about 10:45 pm, the woman behind the counter said she had just cancelled my reservation. After verifying that it was in fact my reservation, I asked why and she said "Well SHE called and said to cancel it." I told her there was no female that should be calling about, or involved with, my reservation. I asked who it was that called and if the caller had given the reservation number but all she kept saying was that "she" had called. At this point the young lady that was coming in for 3rd shift took over taking care of me. She got me the room I was promised, gave me 10% off my total bill, and instructed the morning staff not to charge me for having an extra person in the room for 2 out of my 3 nights and for the roll-away bed that I requested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

They need to fix the door leak when raining...

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Cons: breakfast can be improved a lot!
No frills hotel with bare necessities The only complaint is the free breakfast selections or lack thereof...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Will not stay here again when I come to Elizabeth city, room smelled of smoke, roaches in bathroom, loud people in room next to me.