Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagan, MN

Great one night stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Temperature control. Nice updated decor.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Green Mill next door.
Just needed a quick one night stay on our way to Iowa to move our daughter into college. Very clean, modern. Quiet. Great temperature control in the room. Can walk across the parking lot to Green Mill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great hotel and close to destination

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and convenient location
Cons: Bacon for breakfast would be great addition.
Location: Just a pass through.
Nice room with 2 queen beds. Comfortable beds and controlled environment. Breakfast was excellent with several choices. Eggs were superb! Were able to store two bikes in locked storage room. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Everything was great. Would stay there again. That says everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

last stop on trip back to Chicago

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: nice room, quiet
Cons: breakfast
Location: ate nearby
We had stayed at the same chain of hotels in Gillette WY, our best stay during a 2 week trip. We told the staff we'd be leaving at 4 a.m. The staff arranged to have a full breakfast ready for us at 4 a.m. We were incredibly impressed. The staff in Albert Lea made the same promise, but the breakfast was not ready and the man preparing the breakfast seemed quite annoyed by our presence.
5 out of 5
by Janet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great attentive staff. Very clean

Posted May 14, 2017
Very nice staff, housekeeping. Lady working breakfast very friendly. Easy check in and out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albert Lea Minnesota

No TP in my room

Posted May 12, 2017
I checked into my room after a 16-hour day with a 8 hour drive and 8 hours working in 95-degree heat. I immediately went to use my bathroom where I realized there was only 6 squares of toilet paper on the roll and none to be found in the bathroom. I called the front desk and was told I would have to come and get my own toilet paper because they were busy as I was sitting on the toilet doing my business. I have no interest in visiting hotel by Carlson ever again. Most probably a isolated incident but none the less very uncomfortable and upsetting.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the situation and inconvenience of not having an extra roll of toilet paper in your room. I also apologize for the response that you received from our staff. I assure you this was an isolated incident that will be immediately addressed with my staff. Thank you again for bringing it to my attention and I do hope you will stop and give us another try when you're in the area.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Linda

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
We would have preferred a slightly lower price for the room. The breakfast area was attended to well with a very efficient and pleasant woman. Good food, too.
5 out of 5
by Marie Ives from Rosemount Minnesota

Enjoyable

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very Relaxing and Friendly