Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton

Great hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Had a chilled stress free break at this lovely hotel We had a villa clean spacious amazing layout Food was amazing very helpful friendly and approachable staff 6/5 👏👏
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in a great setting

Posted Sep 27, 2017
We stayed in one of the two bedroom villas and we were really impressed with the accommodation - lots of space and very comfortable. Having our own terrace and pool was great as we were travelling with a baby however the pool is pretty chilly so we weren't brave enough to use it as much as we'd have liked! Hotel pool area and beach were both lovely, with plenty of space and great surroundings. A really lovely sandy beach. Our only slight criticisms were around some elements of the service. Overall everyone we dealt with was great, however we were disappointed to have to chase a couple of times for some fairly basic kitchen items that weren't in our villa when we arrived (knives, shelves for the oven and a plug for the sink - basic I think!). Also the cleaners would let themselves in and suddenly appear in the villa without knocking etc - again not a massive criticism but it seemed a bit odd and made us feel a bit uncomfortable, especially as they didn't turn up at the same time every day so we weren't always sure when to expect them. All in all a great stay and we'd certainly recommend the hotel, just a few relatively small points that we think could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield

Excellent villa with private pool & close to beach

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Having arrived in Portugal, to great weather The facilities at the hotel were explored & throughly pleased. Once we got shown to our Villa, the shear size of it was amazing & then realising we had our own pool it was an extra bonus which we really took advantage of, especially by the children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

not 5 star any more

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Personal pool in apartment is great
Cons: Apartment needed total redecoration and refit.
Location: Great Italian close by- Bellavita- also amazing beach.
We went 2 years ago and stayed in the apartments. Was amazing. 2 years on I dont know if we got a bad room but the apartment was shabby, the sofa covering had peeled off, there was stains on the walls, and the air conditioning vents were bent and dangerous. Also my 13 year old daughter count as adults in the buffet makes it expensive. Buffet itself wasn't as good as previously either. One restaurant had closed down, and the on-site Italian, although staffed by lovely people is just bland at best, both Pizza and Pasta are pretty tasteless. I complained and was told manager would get back to me, I also complained via Expedia feedback and was told would be dealt with directly, never heard form anybody even on check out- I should have complained again, but I go on holiday to relax not argue. no way is this 5 star Setting is amazing and Staff are great generally, shame
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

family holiday with hotel villa rental

Posted Aug 24, 2017
excellent hotel and villa. heated pool for the kids. restaurant beside pool was excellent. supermarket was a short drive away. whole family loved the experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Faulty Towers Gives Better Service

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: Given the above. LOTS!! Poor service. Little effort to rectify problems. Billing was a disaster.
we stayed for 12 nights in July. We arrived and all looked excellent, although the staff were not as friendly as other Hotels we have stayed in. They should note it costs nothing to say hello to your guests. Or problems began on the third day. I discovered none of the upstairs balcony sliding doors locked. I would have expected this to be checked prior to our arrival. From a security and safety point of view we felt this was unacceptable. When it was reported to reception the lady shrugged her shoulders and said we have security guards. It was only when i point out our three year old had been sleeping in one of the rooms did she seem to take notice. Next began the farce of the doors being fixed, we reported the problem at 10am. Maintenance came at 1pm and told us the problem had been fixed. I checked after he had gone and only some of the doors had been fixed. To cut a long story short it took 3 maintenance calls, 20 minutes holding trying to contact reception and 4 visits to reception before it was fixed. No apology. We had opted 2 days into our stay for half board. At check out we were presented with a bill that made no sense to either us or the lady at the desk. We agreed she would forward the correc t bill and my card would not be charged until we had agreed. I received an email a week later saying my card had been charged and all was correct. Not only had they charged for breakfast (which was included in the original price) they offer no apology for the mistakes
5 out of 5
by Beinan

Great location, good size villa

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great villa in a great location within easy walking distance to a popular beach and easy drive to rest of Algarve. Extremely good sized garden and lounge. Underground parking is very convenient.
3 out of 5
by Katrina

Highs and Lows to this stay

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
There were real highs and lows to the holiday. Negatives - Long walk to the villas to the hotel especially if you are going to the beach. The layout of the villas isn't great with the children's room being right at the top of the stairs and it took 2 days and a lot of complaining to get a stair. Some of the staff were rude as well. The rooms are tired and could do with some TLC, also there were a lot of ants in the kitchen. Positive - Both restaurants were lovely and the staff at the restaurants were fantastic and accommodating to the kids. Would highly recommend both. The beach was stunning although you had to pay extra for the sun loungers which is not the expectation of a 5* hotel. Having a heated pool was great and having our own private pool was lovely too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Mrs. Katrina, Thank you very much for your detailed review regarding your stay in Vidamar Resorts Algarve. Hope you have arrived well and safe to your destination. We acknowledge all points of the review, and we are sorry that we didn’t fulfill your expectations regarding the Villa itself. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned. Regarding the Beach area, the Sun loungers are a business outside the Hotel, as it's not our property. Thank you for mentioning our staff, as well as the services in the restaurants that were up to your expectations. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Best regards, The Management
4 out of 5
by Simon

Vidamar Villas

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Could do with modernisation. Tv only in living room of villa. Pool is freezing. So is main pool at hotel. Rooms are great size but the beds are like sleeping on the floor they are so hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Simon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your overall Vidamar experience. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned and prevent any future occurrences. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Algarve and to the Vidamar Resorts Algarve. Best regards, The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

NA

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The staff, the grounds closeness to beach, the main pool area were great, food was lovely with lots of choice and great value for money.
Cons: The villa swimming pool wasn't that clean so that could be improved.
Location: NA
My friend and I had a great break at the hotel, very relaxing and such a lovely area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Vidamar, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Vidamar Resorts Algarve as well your kind review. We appreciate that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you for the time you took to share your opinion with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff as well all the services that were up to your expectations and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned and prevent any future occurrences. We hope to see you again soon, Best Regards, The Management