Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Outdated, noisy, faucet handle in tub fell off, air took long time to cool off, staff did not want to give additional towels. Would rate no more than 1.5 stars!
1 out of 5
by Alyssa

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sangita, Hotel Management
Dear Alyssa We did not recieve any words in your review but we thank you and we hope you enjoyed your stay Thank you days inn management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Pretty bad. They gave us the worst room. I think it's because we had a dog with us. All the towels were stained. When I asked for a new room she said no then I asked for new towels and said no then decided to give us a room. The new room was fine. Questionable people outside the hotel. I will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sangita, Hotel Management
dear guest we do recall your stay. We apologized profusely for your stained towels. When you came to the desk and requested a new room you came in 3hours after you checked in we showed you 3 different rooms for you to chose from. When you asked for new towels we offered to change your room and had to convince you to switch rooms. we didnt refuse you new towels we simply put you in a new room to make things easier. thank you days inn management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted May 8, 2016
Had no complaints. Room was clean and staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your positive review. thank you Days inn management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Danny from Charlotte

No Wifi

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi did not work for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sangita, Hotel Management
Dear Charlotte We are sorry your wifi did not work properly. We have since fixed this issue. Thank you days inn management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Cheap and cheerful.

Posted Mar 11, 2016
OK, suited my purpose, bus stop at door, friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by sangita, Hotel Management
dear guest Thank you for your review we very much appreciate it regards days inn management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was nice

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Just what we needed. Perfect place close to down town nice room clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by sangita, Hotel Management
dear guest We appreciate your review thank you days inn management
5 out of 5
by claudia from Clovis, NM

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
I had surgery and we ended up staying one more night they went out of their way to clean our rooms and we rested. Thank you Awesome staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Hotel being redone, wifi issues

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: WIFI and tv channel availability, cleanliness
Location: Safe to walk a dog, good food nearby
The staff a was very nice, but we were checked in to a room that was currently being redone. The lamps had plastic sleeves on the shades and one bed had fruit loops all over it. None of the trash cans were empty, and one had the actual cereal bag in it. Can only assume it was a break room used by the staff, but most importantly, the wifi was completely unusable. Go to the breakfast in the office if you want to get online. Otherwise, this hotel does not have wifi or HBO as advertised on the marquee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We rely on our guests feedback to improve our Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We have addressed your concerns and would like to invite you back and see the improvements we have made. Sincerely, Yvonne Lupcho AGM