Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a quick stop.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We stay at this hotel a couple times per year. It's a great stop on our drive from central Texas to Utah and I think it is a great hotel for how cheap it is. The breakfast is really great and my kids love the pool. I've stayed here 3 times and plan to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Not comfortable stay. Shower curtain and rod came out of wall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SAM, Hotel Management
WE SORRY YOU WERE UNHAPPY-WE WILL FIX THE ISSUE YOU EXPERIENCED THANK YOU FOR LETTING US KNOW.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Outdated and in need of upgrading. Strong odor in hallway and elevator. Hallways not clean. Breakfast menu very limited and food of marginal quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SAM, Hotel Management
WERE SORRY YOU WERE UNHAPPY- WE WLL WORK HARD TO FIX THE ISSUE YOU EXPERIENCED.THANK YOU FOR LETTING US KNOW
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque NM

This hotel is decent

Posted Jul 2, 2017
My stay was fine for the price and they are pet friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SAM, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR STAYING
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Easy access from interstate. Breakfast.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Hotel was Nice. Comfortable. Clean. Staff friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with issues

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Desk staff were friendly. Ultimately you get what you pay for. Hotel in need of updating. Hallways were not clean and hallway on our floor smelled. The elevator smelled. The food choices for the continental breakfast were lacking and of marginal quality. Room though was in decent shape and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SAM, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR STAYING WERE SORRY YOU WERE UNHAPPY-WE WILL WORK HARD TO FIX THE ISSUES YOU EXPERIENCED THANK YOU FOR LETTING US KNOW
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Dirty

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We booked a 2 queen bed for the night and it was dirty there was hair in the shower and food on the floor. We were moved to another room with two full beds which also ended up being dirty the toilet had NOT been cleaned or even flushed. At this point after moving my 2 small kids around after driving for 10 hrs I said it was fine and had to book a second room for my husband and I to stay in since the second room they put us in was smaller. You guessed right the bathroom in the 2nd room I ended up paying for was also dirty with pubes in the shower this is about 1030 11 pm I give up my kids and sister stay in the smaller room my husband and I in the other. The beds are hard as rocks and it is old and the carpets are stained. We brought this to three seperate staff members who brushed it off like it was no big deal. They did however take 15 dollars off one room so that's a good thing right. Don't waste your money you won't get any more sleep then you would sleeping in your car!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SAM, Hotel Management
WERE SORRY YOU WERE UNHAPPY-WE WILL WORK HARD TO FIX THE ISSUE YOY EXPERIENCED THANK YOU FOR LETTING US KNOW
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We were driving Cross Country with our Children and needed a place to rest while in Albuquerque so used Expedia and will NEVER AGAmake that mistake!! The reviews and pictures shown of this Howard Johnson were NOT of the filthy, rundown, Scary place we paid to stay!!!! There were people there that were not guests!! Smoking Marijuana and Cigarettes at every entrance! Our Rooms were NON SMOKER (supposedly) yet there were cigarette burns in our sheets! The front desk girl was very sweet but other than that I was terrified for myself and my Children this is NoT a Family friendly establishment and I am appalled the Expedia would list it as such!!! For the price of the rooms also (we got two) you would at least expect Them to be clean! There were red stains on walls and on sinks HORRIBLE!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by sam, Hotel Management
were sorry you were unhappy-we will work hard to fix the issue you experienced. we do have guest that stay with us that have health issues and they do have medical marijuana cards. thank you for letting us know
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basketball Camp

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and fast check in.
Cons: Make sure machines are working.
Location: Like the location. Close to stores and freeway.
Continental breakfast was good, but orange juice dispenser was out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks good from the outside, but interior isn't.

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: The bed was actually comfy & the best thing about the room. The breakfast was alright, but they close up right on time so get there early.
Cons: Tub faucet was dirty & streaming water. The lounge chair/ottoman were grossly stained. The a/c wouldn't cool & had broken buttons/knobs. And more....
Location: Location isn't bad. Fairly easy access to both 1-25 and Paseo del Norte. It's on a one way street, but you can access it from behind on a side street.
We stayed here because of an early morning appt the next day. I've stayed in several hotels in the Abq area, & this one is probably the most filthy one I've seen. We were greeted by a hotel staffer & another visitor having a disagreement over some issue with their room. We waited until she left & approached the attendant.He wasn't a very personable fellow & when we ended, he was taking a call & cut us off short. He hadn't told us WHERE the room was, so we had to wait again to get the information. Then he seemed disgruntled that we needed more information. I thought, well, maybe this is just from the previous encounter he'd had & he was just upset...then we got to the room. The room was on the third floor near the back. There was only one elevator & it was near the front of the hotel. We hoofed it up the back stairs & the weird odors in the stairwell & the odd lighting made it seem ominous. We get into the room & on first glance it didn't look too bad. Then we started settling in and that's when everything was evident. The a/c wasn't working, the tub faucet had a bad leak, large stains on the chair/ottoman, outlet face plates were dangling from the wall, the carpet was old & dirty, bathroom corners were caked in dirt, etc. It was awful. I had read the reviews of this hotel and knew it *might* be problematic, but thought we'd give it a shot anyway. The other reviewers were right. Stay here at your own risk.