Ratings based on 913 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had a really bad night

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: I liked that they had a restaurant connected but I never got to use it.
Cons: If the person is handicapped they should have rooms to help them. They should treat the handicapped as human beings, not somebody to ignore.
Location: N/A
I reserved a room from Howard Johnsons in Rio Rancho. A handicapped room because I am disabled. When I arrived they told me my room had been given to another person but they found another room for me that I could get my power chair into. When I got there I could get into the room but I could not get into the bathroom nor could I get to the sink to just wash my face. I stayed the one night because I had no choice. The next day I went to a different Motel. Needless to say I will never stay at Howard Johnsons in Rio Rancho ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Placed in the worst room on site.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: pool was nice
I don't know if we were placed in the worst rooms because we purchased thru expedia or not. But our room was in low rent district. Mattress you could feel springs and we rolled to the middle. carpet was filthy. bathtub stained and sheets had no elastic so when you got in bed the sheets rolled up from the corners. When I checked out and told them we were offered food coupons for their restaurant. But we declined. When we went to pool several parties had their doors open/ There are some lovely updated rooms on site but we were not offered one. We will not go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio Rancho, NM

Older Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff was the best thing about the hotel
Cons: Clean up the grounds and fix the appearance of the buildings.
We were staying here for a week for a wedding. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The facilities are old and run down. We were assured the new ownership was in the process of updating. The grounds were dirty with trash and overgrown shrubs, untrimmed lawn and edging and many, many large dead trees. The buildings had several large areas of chipping stucco, rotting fascia boards. My room was very clean but the beds were horribly hard. My AC worked great. Every morning I had flying ants around my sink area to kill and send down the drain. But again the staff was always ready to do anything that needed to be done. I hope what the manager said was true and they update it because it is a large facility with great promise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We value all of our guests reviews and we are happy you enjoyed the staff here at the Howard Johnson. I would like o confirm yes we are updating the hotel and hope you can make it back to visit once the updates are done.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice close to stores and mall.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The stay was okay. breakfast was free, which was good. No noise and peace and quite. was an alright stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. We are glade you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Easy access to the balloon ride outfit we were on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Font Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was a great location for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city. utah

Disappointed

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The room was nothing like what we expected. Pictures show a complete different room. Its run down. Old! It needs updating big time! The grounds were un kept. Cigarette butts everywhere. And there was 3 adults staying in the room...when we arrived there were not enough towels in the room, so we went to the lobby and asked for some at 9pm. And we were told they had no clean towels. The next morning we had to call again For towels. The lobby guy brought us towels but no wash rags. I wouldn't recommend this motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear, Disappointed Guest, I am sorry we failed you during your stay with us. I am not sure what happened and why there were no clean towels for you at check in. I will be sharing your review with my staff and we will do our best to make sure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Check in was a little slow but overall it was a great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by FOM, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durango

Great price

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly staff, affordable
Cons: The bed and bathroom fixtures, shower head in particular
Location: Airport
We picked this hotel because we just needed something quick for a one-night stay so we could catch a flight out of Albuquerque International Sunport early the next morning. We knew not to get our hopes up when you're only paying $53 a night. At check-in, the receptionist was extremely courteous and helpful, and made us feel welcome. We did have an issue with our room keys, but she was quick to assist and fix the problem. It was a very could first impression. Our room was very clean, but outdated. The bed was rather flat and hard, and the bathroom fixtures were old with visible wear and tear. The shower head could use some updating as it took me longer than usual to complete my shower because it let out a small amount of water. Despite all of this, we still do not regret booking here. It met our needs--we got some much needed rest and weren't stinky on the airplane.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Broosky, Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed our front desk staff, we work hard to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable stay. I see you have mentioned a few issues with your room, please know we are working on updating these issues. Thank you again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The lobby was very nice I was very pleased. However the rooms did not meet up to the expectations set. Our room was joined by a door leading to another hotel room that was occupied by a group who was clearly there to party. They were up all night going in and out which kept my family awake. I could hear every word they spoke and every time the door opened and closed. I have never experienced noise levels like that in any hotel I have ever stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry to learn your stay was not to your satisfaction. Please know our front desk staff always does their best to help ensure you have a comfortable stay and would and could have helped you with this issue by asking your neighbors to please settle down or move you to a more quit room. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pagosa Springs, CO

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The lobby
Cons: General cleanliness of the grounds
Location: Good central location
The staff was wonderful, cheerful and accomodating. It goes downhill from there. I booked the room because we just wanted a place to lay our head and have a soak in a hot tub after driving a long distance. The pool and hot tub were out of commission, so, no soak or ability to cool off in the pool in the 100 degree heat. The grounds were a bit grimy but the room was clean and cool. The phone was constantly flashing and when I called the desk they told me to put something over the flashing light if it bothered us. I believe that these people do not have a budget big enough even for small repairs.The bathroom was acceptable but seemed tired. I only paid $47.00 for this one night so, I am not complaining so much as stating facts. It is not a usual Wyndham property but, I am grateful for the low price on this occasion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, So glad to know our front desk staff took care of you. They all do work hard to accommodate all of our guests request to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. I will be sure to share your review with my staff