Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Lovely public house and b&b

Posted May 30, 2016
Hospitality, rooms, food, all first class, would definitely stay again, and would highly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Excellent

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Every thing!
Cons: Nothing that is not planned already.
Location: Opposite to a National Trust House and on footpaths for walking.
This is an excellent place to stay. The first thing we noticed was the renovated Bar restaurant area that was extremely pleasant there is a spacious out side area that is well furnished where you could while away the time looking out over the country side. We were shown to our room by a pleasant member of staff who explained that the bedrooms needed up dating and that this was due early next year..we had a special cheeper rate so were ready for the worst. But apart from not being up to the standard of the down stairs we were happy with our room , the beds were comfortable and the bed had Mattress covers on all ways a plus. The room was really clean and welcoming. The variety of food on offer was excellent and we opted for the early bird menu and were not disappointed, the food was really enjoyable and the portions very plentiful. The restaurant was extremely busy all evening but in our room we could not hear any noise. Our breakfast the next day was fantastic too, and the bonus that we could eat up till noon made for a leisurely start to our day and booked out of our room by 10:30 and then had our breakfast. We will be returning again to this hotel and are looking forward seeing the updated rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location on a main road, transport links good

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: I was on a business trip so I did not visit places.
The staff at the hotel were welcoming and polite. If you asked for anything they were kind and very helpful. They did not interfere with my affairs while staying there. When I had a challenge connecting to the internet someone came round and sorted me out. Some improvement would be helpful and that is why I have decided to write this review. The time for breakfast need to be reviewed. I had to miss breakfast for the first two days and even the days I had it I ate in such a hurry to make it to my event in just about time. Some information should be made available as to the ways to improve on this. I was advised to pre-order my breakfast the night before but I had less than 10minutes every morning to munch on it and leave in a hurry. This was dissapointing. I would expect a buffet so there is no time wasting in the morning. Another dissappointing thing was that it appeared my room was not cleaned regularly. I did not expect my towels to be changed daily but the room needed to be cleaner for the money paid. On one of the nights I had to go round looking for shower gel as none was left in the room. My room was boiling hot. I do appreciate it was hot outside but temperatures of 22-30 celcius at night was a bit on the higher side. The white linen on the beds was a plus. I appreciate the staff who knocked on my door to let me know my meal order was ready. For this they get a plus. Overall, I would recommend some training for the staff which would improve the rating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location, excellent value for money

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. Good choice of real ale and menu looked appetising.
Cons: Shower not very powerful and no storage in bathroom. However, we understand that refurbishments are scheduled for later this year.
Location: Close the Coughton Court and easy drive to Stratford-upon-Avon. Lovely countryside with good view from soon to be completed rear patio.
Public rooms were very smart and comfortable and the staff very friendly. Bedroom was clean and tidy, but bathroom required updating. Excellent value for money with good quality ingredients for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Small hotel near Alcester

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The fact that it was small. The evening meal was tasty.
Cons: Unfortunately the breakfast was over greasy and the coffee weak and tepid. So breakfast could definitely be better.
Location: The location was good for our next day trip to Alcester and then Stratford
A basic hotel which was ok. The room was small but adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Worst Place I've ever stayed

Posted Aug 26, 2014
On arrival to the hotel there was no formal check in apart from a small form to fill in. I had to ask a number of questions got handed two keys and told where to find my room. The room was large with a tiny en suite. Neither had been cleaned well before my arrival. There was a used bar of soap in the shower and dust on the carpets. The back of the toilet was was coming away from the wall and broken bathroom fitti vs above the sink. The shaving mirror also didn't work. In the room the curtains were held up by a couple of hooks meaning they fell down each time you opened and closed them. The glasses and cups for tea were dirty and in fact one glass had a water mark where it had stood and water evaporated. The bed was like sleeping on bricks and the pillows no better. The lady serving breakfast was lovely but the offerings were far from a quality breakfast and that went for the cooked option at weekends to. A male member of sraff walking through breakfast taking about going on a stag weekend and then starting the Hoover was a great morning service. As I lived locally untill a few years ago I always had the impression this place had a good name but i wish I'd stayed at the travel lodge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

battle prom weekendt

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: bar and meal excellent
Cons: room cleaning (dirty carpets, cobwebs on wall and ceiling, mold on tiles in bathroom
battle proms excellent even though the weather was cold
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Friendly hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff and good food and drink.
Cons: Rooms checked prior to occupation to ensure satisfaction for clients.
Location: On a busy main road. Cloughton Hall opposite. Nearest shops 2 miles away.
Good food, room needed maintenance. Shower waste partially blocked. Curtains hanging off the ends of the curtain rails. Not open on Sundays after breakfast for food nor drink.
4 out of 5
by britney from uk

Lovely friendly location, quiet and scenic locatio

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Staff were very friendly, location was idyllic and very reasonably priced
5 out of 5
by Mandy from Exeter

Nice place to stay

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, you could just chill out
Very nice place, room good size, comfortable bed, tea & coffee supplied Outside seating to sit and watch the world go by