Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Excellent

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Every thing!
Cons: Nothing that is not planned already.
Location: Opposite to a National Trust House and on footpaths for walking.
This is an excellent place to stay. The first thing we noticed was the renovated Bar restaurant area that was extremely pleasant there is a spacious out side area that is well furnished where you could while away the time looking out over the country side. We were shown to our room by a pleasant member of staff who explained that the bedrooms needed up dating and that this was due early next year..we had a special cheeper rate so were ready for the worst. But apart from not being up to the standard of the down stairs we were happy with our room , the beds were comfortable and the bed had Mattress covers on all ways a plus. The room was really clean and welcoming. The variety of food on offer was excellent and we opted for the early bird menu and were not disappointed, the food was really enjoyable and the portions very plentiful. The restaurant was extremely busy all evening but in our room we could not hear any noise. Our breakfast the next day was fantastic too, and the bonus that we could eat up till noon made for a leisurely start to our day and booked out of our room by 10:30 and then had our breakfast. We will be returning again to this hotel and are looking forward seeing the updated rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria

Great hotel and food

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, lovely friendly staff - superb food (evening meals and the breakfast). Nice big room and so convenient for visting local National Trust properties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Yahav

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Inez

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A

Not recommended - dirty!

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Toilet wouldn't flush properly. Curtains not hung on rail properly and too thin to block light. Shower filthy with black mould and panel hanging off. Window handle broken. Tv too tiny to watch. Tired decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Birmingham

Lovely Location

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: The service was brilliant. We stayed for a Sunday lunch and the food was great. The included breakfast was also delicious. The room was pleasant although a little dated and the views and surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and peaceful. Beautiful to sit out at night with a drink from the great selection available at the bar. Cons: The walls were a bit thin - we could hear an argument from one of the next rooms. There were a couple of stains around the room and the shower was almost impossible to get into when the bathroom door was closed (and we're on the slim side). There was a sign to say rooms are being refurbished later in the year and these few points didn't completely take away the comfort of our stay. Overall this was a very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very satisfied. They know they have to refurbish the rooms, so not everything was up to scratch, but they were very welcoming and friendly. Would be happy to use the hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Sutton Coldfield

A pleasant stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice place to stay with a very comfortable pub/restaurant offering a good selection of food and drink. The room was very clean and comfortable the shower room was very compact and not much room to move about. Apart from that all was fine. The breakfast was a good size although the service was a bit slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael from Downham Market

Great Stay

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Even better than the last time I stayed there, the place has new owners and they are making it a top hotel in the area.