Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Wonderful location - very central - fantastic breakfast in the morning. Roman exceeded expectations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2016
Fantastic outlook onto the canal and stylish boutique hotel! I should have stayed for dinner at the hotel apparently as it's one of the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Prime Hotel Option in Fabulous Location

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel and the staff went over and above, to ensure our stay was an enjoyable one.
Cons: The diva chef needs a serious reprimand, as his response to a legitimate complaint was truly unbelievable.
Location: You couldn't find a better location for shops, views, local attractions and restaurants.
Hotel Brosundet is a lovely historical hotel set in a wonderfully central location, in Alesund. The interior is quite modern though quirky (purposely uneven floors) and very clean. The rooms are bijou, but comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was enjoyable, as well. We ate at the restaurant in the evening and though most of the meal was spectacular, my steak was ridiculously tough. I politely complained when I sent my dinner plate back (with 1/2 the steak left), to no avail. I asked the waitress if she had informed the chef (when we got no response) and she confirmed that she had. Later we were charged in full for the meal, without apology. The good news is that when we broached this with the hotel manager the following morning, they acted appropriately and more than compensated us for this unfortunate incident. Happily, this completely saved the day and we would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Lovely, charming boutique hotel in a great location. The room was small but immaculately clean with nice, natural decor and a great view of the water. Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Location and waterfront view.
We found the room to be fairly small but comfortable. It was very clean and well put together with a fairly spacious bathroom with a shower we particularly enjoyed as there was a shower head as well as a separate shower spray. The view from our window was wonderful as we had a very nice view of the water as well as the opposing waterfront. The front desk was also very accommodating and welcoming when we arrived as well as when we departed. Breakfast buffet was well-presented with a wide variety of items to choose from. The expresso machine was especially appreciated as we love strong coffee! The only minor issue was the noise level since one of the nights we spent was on a Saturday when the outside noise level from the cafes and bars was quite high well into the early morning hours (4 to 5 AM). An overall wonderful place to stay in a beautiful building and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Beautiful hotel in a lovely location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We had a lovely stay in a most beautifully appointed hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

Nice and convenient hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Cleanliness, but then I am OCD! I found hairs on the desk chair.
Location: Everything is near by, the museums, shops, restaurants and for us, the Hurtigruten boat dock was a walk away.
The hotel is a delight. Rooms are a little on the small side, however, the location is extremely convenient and the spaces on the ground floor are ample (bar, outdoor seating area, fireplaces eating area). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the restaurant is a must for dinner (everyday!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Fulerton, CA

Beautiful location and friendly staff!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: The hotel bar sometimes overflows onto the hotel patio which can create a lot of noise for hotel guests trying to sleep.
We stayed here for 3 nights. We had reserved a room with a seaview and received a corner room on the 4th floor. The room was very small and the bathroom was even smaller. The bathroom was so small that only one person could be in there at a time and it was definitely designed for small people. On our first night we heard a lot of street noise from the holiday partying. We complained the following day and they moved us to another room where the view was not as pleasing, but the room was bigger and quieter. It can get warm in Norway during the summer and their hotel does not have air conditioning. Thankfully, the second room we stayed in had a fan which provided relief b/c the room had a small window on a top floor. The breakfast was adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful when needed. There are restaurants nearby the hotel and it's not too far to get to the shopping area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie from Melbourne, Australia

Modern and characteristic hotel in great location

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Character filled and great location. Room smallish, however very warm and comfortable. Lovely views. Open fire in lobby added to ambience.
Cons: Access to car parking was via a local car park house. Perhaps the hotel could consider including car parking fees for this in the room rate.
Location: Located on the waterfront amongst other heritage listed properties. 10 minute walk to most tourist spots. Good cafés and restaurants locally.
Our stay was very enjoyable and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Great location. Buffet breakfasts were sensational with plenty of choice, and everything was fresh. Highly recommend having dinner at the hotel restaurant...we had the seven course degustation which was amazing. We would return to this hotel if opportunity arose.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Lewes, East Sussex, UK

Great location - small room

Posted Jun 30, 2012
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Size of room
The hotel was quite pricey, but it was very central and our room had a lovely view onto the canal - but it was very small. We stayed three nights as part of a two-week holiday, so had two large bags. There was hardly anywhere to put them and only a very thin wardrobe of sorts. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff friendly. The room would have been fine for an overnight stay.