Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and close to plenty of places to eat.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the spaciousness.
Cons: The bathtub was old and the vents in the bathroom needed to be cleaned.
Location: Lots of places to eat and close to where my job assignment was located.
I stayed here while working for a week. Every time I came back from working my room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting future guest know about your stay.
5 out of 5
by john

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for the review that you left. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Tonya

Super 8 is actually Great!

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
It's always a good stay at this hotel! Lisa, the Manager, always makes sure we have everything we need even though there are normally 15 - 20 of us staying at the same time. We attend a lot of family events (weddings, funerals) and have stayed at this location for the last 5 years (even before it was Super 8).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are very glad that y'all enjoyed your stay with us again. We always love having your family here and look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by Jennie

A Disappointing Stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
We had stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions and had always found it simple but clean and it met our needs. This third time sadly things were very different. We could have overlooked the fact that the bathroom door didn't close or that their was mildew on the walls of the bathroom, my husband's allergy medicine being stolen from the room was another story. Before we left for an Auburn University football game, my husband took his meds and then left them on the dresser. When we returned that evening he inquired where one of his medications was, a thorough search of our belongings and our car proved fruitless. Even worse was the night manager's response, my husband felt that she really blew him off. Just because you have never had a problem, doesn't mean you don't have one now. We will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are very sorry about the problems that you had with us during your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Nice hotel for emergencies

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Not clean linens were soiled when we tried to cancel they wouldn't let us change hotels...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are very sorry about the problems that you had while staying with us. We are unable to change Expedia reservations at the property, all three party reservations have to be made through that reservation site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Decent rate
Cons: Parking lot
Reasonable rate for the room. It has been updated, but the bathroom needed more updating. There was a microwave and a large fridge in the room. Breakfast was good with a variety of items. The parking lot needs work done, but that was a minor issue. For the price, we were pleased and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are in the process of getting quotes for having the parking lot fix. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Older, limited access in 2nd building, no elevator

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
The owners/managers live on site in the hotel rooms in the back building second floor. Kinda weird. The back building is 2 floors without an elevator. The grounds arent great, garbage etc. They are remodeling however all the old stuff is laying around the bottom of the stairs. Room wasnt bad. Floor around toilet wasnt very clean though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We have some housekeepers that are living on site temporarily due to the being from out of town. As far as, the elevators go we have never had them and a lot of motels with outdoor excess do not.
3 out of 5
by Bob

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
$100 for this dump is outrageous. Pay the extra $50 per night to stay at the Hampton up the road. Well worth it. Even the parking lot was as cratered as the surface of the moon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us. As for as the parking lot goes we are in the middle of get bids from different companies in order to get that issue fixed.
2 out of 5
by Bob

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
What a dump. If I stay in the area again, I will pay the extra $50 per night and stay in the Hampton just up the road. Parking lot looks like the surface of the moon with so many craters and the buildings are in desperate need of repair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are working to get the parking lot fixed. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
5 out of 5
by Donald

Staff

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Staff is friendly and very genuine about making sure we are ok
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.