Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spirit Lake, IA

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Comfortable hotel
Cons: Again, the shower seemed to be water spotted, and had a soap scum line. The cloth shower mat was very damp the next morning when I went to use it.
Was pleasantly greeted when checking in. Nice lobby area. Unsure if the shower had been cleaned in our room. Rm 123
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bismarck ND

Good stop-over hotel, but location is rather noisy

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Easy to find, comfortable bed, great staff.
Cons: If I stay there again I'll try to request a room on the opposite side, away from the truck stop next door. Some of those trucks were pretty loud.
Location: Didn't explore the area.
Arrived late at night and were greeted by an excellent staff (Brian, if I remember correctly) who took care of us efficiently. Very nice dude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Kinda disorganized around the hotel. Mechanical room doors open, maids cart in hall entire stay. No towels in room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel service ever had

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Only positives were we ended up with a suite for the price of a regular room and front desk lady when checked out. During check-in, 2 people were at desk to get towels. Found out why the next day. Housekeeping makes the bed and removes some trash, but doesn't refill anything or do much else. We had to get towels, coffee packet and shampoo the next day. Same thing the 3rd day. Front desk person's response 2nd night was "that happens sometimes." It shouldn't though because that's what housekeeping does! Also, 3 breakfasts where fruit never refilled so never got any. On 3rd morning we went out because also out of milk, waffle mix, and oatmeal was hard like cement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. It is a delight to know that you were pleased with the room that you had. We always desire for our valued guests stay to be outstanding. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the service you received from our staff and that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us correct any imperfections we may have in our services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The interior needs to be updated. The breakfast was above average.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed. I like that there is a separate bedroom with a door that closes (for my snoring husband).
Cons: Get hot water for showers, paint rooms, they were in desperate need to paint.
The room was comfortable but needed paint. There was never any warm or hot water for showers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Slept well. Friendly staff.
Cons: Faster Internet and easier connectability. Replenish the breakfast items quicker.
Location: Convenient to lakes, shopping, restaurants, and access to freeway.
Good location and easy access close to food, shopping, and freeway. Good check in and check out with friendly counter persons and complimentary peanut butter cookies. Bathroom was hurriedly finished craftsmanship, caulking and drywall. Breakfast fixings could have been replenished a bit faster, some extra wait time. Worst internet all week long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and convenient to Interstate Hwy

Posted May 30, 2017
Enjoyed the nice room and delightful breakfast. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious

Posted May 28, 2017
Our hotel room was very spacious and clean. Quiet room until a neighboring guest was taking a shower. We could hear, quite loudly, the water running. The pool, hot tub, and sauna were very quiet and clean. Wide variety of breakfast items to eat and staff were very fast to serve more when needed. My only complaint was one front desk staff that came off a little crass when checking in. We had a great overall experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The price was great.
Cons: Clean it better and get rid of the mold in the shower.
Location: The location was good, next to the highway.
I usually try and stay in Country Inns and Suites wherever I go because they are usually very clean and the staff is great. But the room we stayed in this time was not very clean. There was mold around the bottom of the shower, a wash cloth was left wrapped around the shower head, toilet paper wadded up behind the toilet, lodged where the water comes in at. So I was a little apprehensive about staying there, that maybe the bedding wasn't clean either so I didn't look and we left first thing in the morning. The price was really good, but the cleanliness just wasn't up to their usual standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. It is glad to know that you liked the price and the location of the property. On the other hand, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness and accommodations of your room during your stay, such as the bathroom amenities and the bedding. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.