Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

When they say 1st floor, it means basement

Posted Oct 6, 2017
At $300.00/night, the basement is a rip-off ... almost no daylight , low ceiling. Staff is courteous and location in town is ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear JR, Thank you for your review. I am happy to see you found the staff courteous and the location to be ideal. I apologize you didn't find the room to your liking. If you get the chance to stay again, we would be happy to offer you a higher floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

everything was amazing!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: everything, but especially the staff.
everyone was incredibly kind and always available. it felt like having our own private staff! they upgraded us to a beautiful room with a great view of the sunset and accommodated a late check out as well. will absolutely come back on our next trip through!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Great hotel with great staff in a fantastic locati

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, comfort, armosphere.
Cons: We only had one meal at the hotel, a breakfast, and it was very disappointing. The ham was too salty for my friend to eat but hashed with eggs was ok.
Location: Great location, central to all the Old Town has to offer, Many restaurants in walking distance, likewise waterfront and Metro. Near King St trolley.
Myself and a friend spent July 21-24 at the Morrison House and it was grand. The welcome by Ashley behind the desk and Sam out front was very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, clean and very, very comfortable. It was tastefully appointed, tv well positioned and there was a clock radio which I appreciate and see less and less of in hotels. The bed was very comfortable, the room dark enough to sleep well and the hotel and neighbourhood were quiet. The hotel is perfectly located in the Old Town, half ways between the water front and metro station and just enough in from King Street to avoid any traffic and hubbub. As an aside, this was my 14th trip to DC and the first time I didn't stay in the city. Given the ease of getting to and from DC via the metro and all that the Old Town has to offer I don't think I'll stay in the city again. On to other things you may care for: good water pressure, ample hot water, a free shuttle to Reagan is available upon request and the fresh cucumber water in the lobby was the best! I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to friends and family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and staff is very attentive. My TV did not work but was to busy with work to let them now until I check out. They took off two days of parking. Free Wi-Fi was great. Watched netflix with no problem.
4 out of 5
by richard

Expected a bit better.

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Alexandria location was super! Room furnishings seemed somewhat sparse. No wastebasket in bedroom, only in bath. Very little shelf space in bath - insufficient. Had trouble turning on/off the tv - perhaps due to being electrically challenged. Room telephone never worked. No convenient ice machine. Noisy air conditioner.
5 out of 5
by Earl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Fantastic boutique hotel, recently completely renovated. Great location, intimate bar, great resaurant, board room and welcoming lobby space as well as friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service and atmosphere

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice decor with some unique touches. Great staff. Room service was great, dinner was delicious. Mini bar and robes but no coffee maker in room. Coffee and tea available in lobby. Just one block from trolley stop.
5 out of 5
by Dan

New fav in old town

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great Stay! Last minute arrangements and was pleasantly surprised. I have always been a big fan of Kimpton and now they are part of Marriott for the point collectors! I just hope this brand keeps its unique style. Nice hotel in s great spot.