Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Felt very cozy and quaint..much better than the usual chain hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Above Average.

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The staff was very cordial, but you weren't always sure who was doing what (valet, manager, bell hop, waiter?) Overall, appreciated the staff's attentiveness. The building inside looks a little tired (dining area, hotel room). You could hear pretty much everything in the hallway. A sweep for the bottom of our door may have been helpful with sound. Going through Expedia, I felt we got a good value for our money, even with the added expense of the valet cost. The hotel is located in pretty good location for local shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phildelphia

The staff is outstanding.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Charming, warm and helpful
Cons: Make sure there is enough staff to serve breakfast!
Location: Walking distance to almost everything! Wonderful shops and restaurants.
The staff was always welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean with all the amenities (except for a shower cap which I got at the front desk). Breakfast was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Beautiful well appointed hotel. Perfect location for walking everywhere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Lauren, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to host you during your next visit to Alexandria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Deceived, hotel confused about what a corner is.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
I booked my room through Expedia and paid extra for an available "corner room" pictures with windows on two sides ect. How you would expect a "corner" to be as it was explained to me in gradeschool geometry class. You can see in included photos from inside the room it was a complete lie and not actually a corner room. Upon questioning the staff at the front desk and showing them my itinerary specifying "premier CORNER room" I was told that the room I was given is a corner room because it is coded in the computer as such. By that logic I assume they could code a basement closet as a corner room also and it would actually be a corner room! $250 total for one night and me and my guest felt disappointed, deceived, and lied to. Unbelievable. Would not recommend to anyone as NOTHING was done to remedy this either and I gave up arguing the meaning of a corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Lauren, Hotel Management
Hi Damian, Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We apologize we were unable to correct the situation during your stay and did not find a way to remedy this situation. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Old Town trip!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Everything!wal
Location: Walkable to many restaurants and lots of shopping.
Hotel was lovely. Hotel staff made us feel very special and were very welcoming. Room was a nice size, very clean. Breakfast was great. Very convenient location. Walkable to many restaurants and great shopping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

When they say 1st floor, it means basement

Posted Oct 6, 2017
At $300.00/night, the basement is a rip-off ... almost no daylight , low ceiling. Staff is courteous and location in town is ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear JR, Thank you for your review. I am happy to see you found the staff courteous and the location to be ideal. I apologize you didn't find the room to your liking. If you get the chance to stay again, we would be happy to offer you a higher floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jane

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
The Morrison House is a very nice hotel. The rooms are very pretty and the staff was very nice. Although I would probably stay there again I want to mention a couple things that might have improved our visit. I wish they would have had a mirror somewhere in the bedroom. The only mirror was in the bathroom so consequently it was impossible for one person do hair or makeup while the other was in the bathroom. The TVs were unreliable - sometimes working, sometimes not. The sitting area near the lobby offered a nice selection of tea and coffee but it would have been nice to have self service in each room. Lastly, the restaurant offered a nice menu but the service was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

everything was amazing!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: everything, but especially the staff.
everyone was incredibly kind and always available. it felt like having our own private staff! they upgraded us to a beautiful room with a great view of the sunset and accommodated a late check out as well. will absolutely come back on our next trip through!