Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Beautiful vintage hotel ! Location is amaZing .. roomas r kinda small but well maintained
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairo

Hotel in need of makeover

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Very fine old elevator, proximity to corniche
Cons: Mattresses, noise isolation from windows to street, service level in general
Location: Al-Alamein WW2 museum, cemeteries for soldiers, lighthouse/fortress, Al Montazah palace/park, new library is a must see, Roman open air theater
Stayed for a weekend exploring Alex. At check-in my credit card was charged for the 3 rooms booked. Unfortunately rooms were scattered over the hotel - different floors etc. Mattresses were very hard (though you could choose 3 diff. pillows). Poor noise isolation, so honking from local traffic and music was loud all night long. Restaurant service was slow and staff was more interested in checking room numbers than bringing coffee in the morning or drinks for dinner. Food itself was fine - both dinner and breakfast. Upon checkout, staff required adjustment of room price so charged credit card once again. Wasn't asked about minibar charges - instead staff requested inspection of rooms to check the usage. No trust in customers - not even asking for consumption. Upon some discussion they accepted our info on water, juice and milk consumption. We had expected better experience in general as hotel is recommended as one of the historical hotels as a "must stay" when in Egypt, but we felt we could have chosen a different hotel and had a better experience for lower price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Historic Hotel in an excellent Location.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing really, I was happy with everything.
Location: Seafront prime location. Close to restaurants, shops, banks and walkable to most. Transport available closeby if needed.
This is my preferred hotel in Alexandria however it is my first visit since it became a Steigenberger hotel. I have stayed at the Steigenberger in Luxor several times, so I was expecting the same level of customer service, I was not disappointed. I think Steigenberger take customer service to the next level. My stay exceeded my expectations and I wished it was longer, next time I will add a few extra days here. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the seaview rooms are worth the extra money, I was actually upgraded to a seaview room at no extra cost. If you can't stretch your budget that far, the free seaviews from the rooftop are equally impressive. The staff are efficient and helpful, from check in to check out they provided great service. They were very informative and helpful at all times. The breakfast buffet was better than average and we ate other meals / snacks here which were fresh, generous and tasty. Special thanks to the staff in the Le Jardin restaurant, they were always smiling. I love the location of this hotel and the views, it is so close to everything you need and walkable to most things. If you need transport it is closeby, I will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by William

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was great and the staff was very helpful with some of my odd requests. Beautiful and yet with a Old Time feel to it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was very disappointing .

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: the Cafe shop , and room service,
Cons: The Bar workers .
Location: Beach.
One night I had dinner and drink at the Bar, nice show there and I likes there voice and I Tip them and they were very nice and happy when I tried to take photo only for the singers , everything was good until a young guy works in the Bar came for me and told me I can't take photo for the singer, I told him they happy and didn't complain about that also this is a 5 stars hotel and this is a Bar its not a private room, when I went I asked the reception about a Head night Manger I told he not stay in the Hotel, after a long time a night shift guy came for me that he's said I can't take photos for the singer, and I did't like the way that he was talking with me, looks like for me he take his young guy side, anyway this is was the first and maybe the last time stay in this Hotel, that can't be a gentle with guest who are polite with them when he complain a bout something,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Sherif Leon , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Cecil hotel for your recent visit to Alexandria. It was our pleasure having the chance to host you. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guests’ is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed your stay is a reward in itself. On the other hand, we regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory due to the inconveniences you have mentioned, I would like to confirm to you that all the mentioned points were taken seriously & enough action was initiated. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Sincerely, Sherif Leon General Manager Steigenberger Cecil Hotel – Alexandria
4 out of 5
by Nader

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Ahmed Hosny, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Cecil hotel for your recent visit to Alexandria. We are really pleased that you rated us 4 stars Looking forward to welcome you again soon. Sherif Leon General Manager Steigenberger Cecil Hotel – Alexandria
5 out of 5
by Andrew

classic hotel in great position and lovely views

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great room with first class service for all staff. Room 207 is a must for an upgrade.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff, amazing view, large and clean rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Cecil hotel for your recent visit to Alexandria. It was our pleasure having the chance to host you. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guests’ is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed your stay is a reward in itself. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Sincerely, Sherif Leon General Manager Steigenberger Cecil Hotel - Alexandria
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prime location and beautiful style

Posted Jan 25, 2017
It was the very first time for my husband to visit Alexandria and it made all the difference staying in this hotel , it's old rich style and service it added a pleasant touch to our trip .. I highly recommend this hotel to any person looking to stay in style ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

classical old hotel with great historical memories

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: classic and traditional
Location: excellent, city center, near sea
classical old hotel with great historical memories, you can memorize the golden history of 20th century of Egypt History. Being one of the oldest and mean time highly sophisticated and equipped hotel. with new renovation, it makes it more convenient with modern life and meantime maintaining history the location by Sea added other magic as well as the heart of Alexandria location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Sherif Leon - General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Cecil hotel for your recent visit to Alexandria. It was our pleasure having the chance to host you. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guests’ is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed your stay is a reward in itself. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Sincerely, Sherif Leon General Manager Steigenberger Cecil Hotel - Alexandria