Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Prime location for main attractions, great view.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Bedroom view. Breakfast in room in morning. (Paid €15 extra each)
Cons: Get a hot tub. Oh and don't let the giant blazer bell boy try to order you a taxi to airport. As it would be twice the price than the usual €8-€12.
Location: Top part of the old town, full of all the good stuff. Do the tile museum 15min walk up coast.
All was really great. Still warm enough in December, just take a little spare jumper/jacket for the bits in the shade and towards end of day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, close to attractions.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Great location if you can walk, close to attractions and city center.
Cons: Correct hotel address on the website.
Location: Close to local view points as well as amenities such as restaurants and shops. Very close to the tram line for easy city center access, buy a pass.
Nice hotel in a desirable location, but the address in expedia is wrong, had our taxi driver scratching his head. Evidently the city changed street #'s and it was not reflected on the website. Once we found it had an enjoyable stay, love the country!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great hotel at the top of a hill

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Great location, great staff, breakfast was good but the same every single day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large comfortable room w/ balcony in Alfama

Posted Nov 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay in this old residential neighborhood. The hotel was nice and the breakfast was really great for €7.50. Tram #28 is close and the neighborhood is very walkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Girlie short break in Lisbon

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Views, room facilities, breakfast.
Cons: All good
Location: Up a steep hill, very close to the castle
Went to Lisbon with my daughter for a short break. Great reception from hotel staff, upgrade to a lovely suite and lots of local info. The hotel is comfortable and plush, fantastic views over the city. A steep climb up lots of steps to get there from Martin Maniz metro but there are easier access routes by 28 tram nearby or lifts and a short walk above Rossi metro. Breakfast was good, lovely fresh fruit, juices, coffee and super pastries and breads. Cold cheese and meat. Buffet hot food but we weren't so keen on that. We thought the hotel was excellent value and would recommend it, but you do need to be fairly fit and agile as access is not suitable for the elderly or disabled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Friendly hotel, excellent room and service

Posted Oct 28, 2017
After the fiasco of Monarch flights and rebooking, was absolutely delighted with the upgrade the hotel provided without even asking to the superior room with balcony and complimentary port. Staff were very friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast excellent way to start the day with the choice of food available. Room was spacious and clean, biggest beds we have slept in and comfortable. Next to reception area lovely seating area, computer and library use and bar which relatively good prices. Liked that only a relatively small number of rooms and therefore not crowded. Knew before we travelled hotel was located near top of hill and was happy enough even after having knee surgery as we like our walking however for anybody else using this hotel and as we found after the first day, there is a lift available from next to the supermarket/cafe at Elevador Castello which takes you up 7 storeys and half way up the hill rather than the steps. Only 15/20 minutes to walk to main area of city although mainly hilly. Fell in love with Lisbon and will definitely be returning and using this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire Scotland

Recommend.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Very high up near castle on a quiet, narrow street.Great views over city. Small, busy, very welcoming, friendly, clean and comfortable.Breakfast good and good value.Would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel does not accommodate the needs of guest

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: consideration for guests needs
Location: O K
terrible- There was no consideration for the needs of guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Old town location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Room size was good and it had a minibar with a great view from the window.
Cons: Breakfast bar food could have been replaced more often during busy periods. The eggs and bacon were not appetising but the rest of the food was good.
Location: Close to the Castle and restaurants.
Enjoyed our stay at the Olissippo, its very central and on a quiet street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location for visiting castelo de São Jorge

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Marvelous room view from the top of the hill
Cons: It would have been a perfect experience if we were given the code to access the street of the hotel prior to our arrival.
Location: Very close to the castle and not far from the other central areas of Lisbon.
The hotel is perfectly located for a visit to the Castelo de São Jorge and also to the rest of the attractions of Lisbon. The hotel location is a bit off-the-beaten path (since it is not in the vincinity of shops and restaurants); however, the hotel offers an astonishing view of the city from the top of the hill; the view is further enhanced by the full size windows of the bedroom. The bedroom is large, clean, comfortable and well furnished. The main problem we faced was to drive into the street that leads us to the hotel, since car access requires the use of a numerical code. The nearby streets are busy, parking in the surrounding is almost impossible and not having the code given to us when we made the resevation was therefore a hassle.