Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South London

City break in Lisbon

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Lovely hotel set in Castle grounds. Attractive and stylish with great staff service and a lovely (long) breakfast. Room very comfortable and it was a pleasure to both relax in the hotel and use as a base for exploring the old town in which it was situated in. Also very good for us being set up on a hill ! Would recommend and we are planning to rent visit we enjoyed our stay so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and relaxing hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Great location (if you are relatively fit), super hotel that was like a home from home - tea, coffee, cake - all day and evening / computer, printer for booking tickets and trips / lovely courtyard /great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Unique experience

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The home feel about it and the staff.
Cons: Wifi for sure needs to be improved.
Location: It's in Alfama near Castelo S. Jorge. Just take the bus or the elevator to make things a bit easier.
Solar do Castelo is a unique hotel from its architecture to its location and the way it's run. Located in Alfama, near Castelo S. Jorge, getting there is an adventure in itself. The roads close to the hotel are narrow, steep and narrow; so be prepared for a workout. The hotel itself is charming and definitely memorable. It has only 20 rooms and gives you the feel of home away from home. Breakfast and wifi complimentary. However, the wifi is practically non-existent in the rooms. Our room was pretty small, but we found it at a great rate, so we can't complain. It has all the necessary amenities. The staff is fantastic and helpful in getting you around the city. I'd recommend this little gem anytime. It will give you long-lasting memories for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice provided you like hills:-)

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Comfy room, nice hot water and good water pressure in the shower! great breakfast, nice staff. Too bad I couldn't upload my pics!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

Fabulous!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
From the minute we arrived until the day we left we felt well looked after and relaxed. The hotel is a beautiful building with a quaint outdoor area, perfect for before dinner drinks or breakfast. The special touches such as a chilled sparkling wine and a daily replenished port in the room was appreciated. Breakfast each morning was delicious! Freshly squeezed juice, coffee, gorgeous breads & pastry as well lots of cold or hot choices. I loved the little cart that they used to transport us down the hill to the taxi was fun! I sure hope to return one day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

this hotel is a beautiful oasis

Posted Aug 1, 2017
exceptional hotel , peaceful beautiful courtyard, stylish, comfortable surroundings with great attention to detail in every aspect . right next door to the castle in the old town. cant praise it enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Extremely helpful staff and the hotel was absolutely stunning - potentially the best we've ever stayed in. The breakfast is to die for and the honesty bar is a lovely touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Incredible hotel- modern yet old & historic. Loved the little exhibition in the basement. Awesome location. Best breakfast buffet ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

Fantastic experience

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The quality of service, comfort and overall quality was great. The stuff was very friendly, we are truly impressed about how good it was. The hotel is located in too on a hill right next to the castle of San Jorge, a 10 minutes walk to the city center, not very far from the airport. I highly recommend anyone to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Relaxing place to stay in busy city

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The courtyard! After a long day of walking, we enjoyed having a coffee or drink in the courtyard.
Cons: The hotel staff were accommodating, but they could have been more friendly.
Location: The hotel is at the top of a hill next to the Castle of St. Jorge. The castle town was quiet at night, but there were many great restaurants close by.
Lisbon our last stop on our vacation in Portugal, so we really appreciated being able to relax at this hotel. The room was very comfortable and we liked having breakfast included. The hotel is next to the Castle of St. Jorge, so the area is very touristy during the day, but a ghost town at night. We loved how quiet it was because it allowed us to be able to relax in the courtyard after dinner. We could easily walk around the city from this hotel. We never took a cab. You just need to be prepared for the hills :)