Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy and clean

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Very comfortable bed, good facilities. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east sussex

Great hotel in the centre of Alfriston

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Good food & entertainment & lovely log fires.
Cons: Nothing we were satisfied with our stay.
Location: The clergy house first national trust acquisition. Drusillas zoo & children's entertainment centre.
Positioned at the centre of the Dickension celebrations great hotel beautiful log fires in two rooms will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bexhill On Sea

Good overnight stop. Nice quiet room at the back.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Warm and cozy. Was nice to have a bath as well as overhead showe.
Cons: A few cobwebs but over all was quite clean.
Location: Perfect central position in Alfriston.
Thought we had booked the hotel across the road (George) where we stayed after our wedding in 1988 but booked the wrong one by mistake. However, we loved the log fires and enjoyed our stay. The menu was somewhat limited but we enjoyed what we ordered and found we could park on site (a bonus in the village) though we'd already paid to park down the road in the public car park. It was a nice touch to have a sherry or a whiskey when we booked in and other guests we'd chatted to had their dog with them in a dog friendly room - great idea. The bed was actually king sized which was a bonus and comfy, cotton sheets and a feather pillow. Not bad for a basic double. All in all, a pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great atmosphere and staff, but lacked a little in

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
I booked the location to enjoy Sunday evening stay in a Character Hotel with good food. The food, staff and atmosphere were great, but I was a little disappointing with the room:- Toilet had bee used and not flushed/cleaned Main room light bulb did not work Flaking paint off the ceiling. None of the above would have put me off coming, but it was obvious the room had not been checked in preparation for a guest stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Room service!!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Hotel staff were friendly. Room was clean apart from a half squeezed tube of savalon, which I suppose could have dropped out of the cleaners pocket. The only issues we had were that after an eight hour drive we arrived at 9:15 pm and room service finished at 9pm. Spent the night starving. Our room was next to reception which was ok until 7am when people started talking on phones and to other guests. I would recommend this hotel though as they were the only problems.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice & friendly

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
It's a nice hotel quirky and some detail is really lovely... The cleanliness of the room and room carpet lets it down - it's all in the detail, and think they are 80% there! Staff and breakfast lovely... Having said this I would recommend and stay again..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the star inn alfriston

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: A great hotel for a weekend break, good location, friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms, nice food, would recommend to friends
Cons: A few more traditional pub classics on the food menu ?
Location: Stayed in the centre of the village and only explored the village
We had an enjoyable relaxing visit to alfriston,celebrating our wedding anniversary and staying at the lovely star inn
4 out of 5
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Linda from Lancashire

Good stay

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay enjoyed a lovey meal in the evening would recommend the chicken and ham pie best I've had!
5 out of 5
by Kieran from Dwyer

Very impressed

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Newly refurnished and looks great. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and restaurant food we really good. Would definitely stay here again.