Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Villa with a nice pool

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Staff are friendly and private pools are well maintained. Bar is cheap and well stocked, breakfast is hearty
Cons: Better Coffee facilities in the restaurant and rooms, softer beds and updating a few of the communal attractions.
Location: Some good restaurants offering traditional Portuguese food at good rates and a couple of hidden gems of beaches. Not the main touristy one..
I've stayed here before and booked the same offer as a prior visit of a villa with a private pool and breakfast included. This works well for me as it allows me to keep the villa as a base of operations whilst popping out to various family friendly attractions and beaches all on a full morning stomach. Rooms are spacious each with en-suite facilities, all of the air-con worked and the shutters are all in good order. The decoration is spartan. The kitchen facilities are fair and are stocked enough to allow for home cooking with plenty of decent sized supermarkets around. Downside is no BBQ available for the garden and the lack of coffee making facilities in the kitchen but to remedy I just bought a cafetiere in town and our moods were certainly lifted. To be fair I did prefer the villa from my previous stay to this one, solely I think because there was a pond behind the garden filled with horny frogs keeping me awake at night in my incredibly hard bed which was a shame. Once I got used to it though it was more annoying than anything else. I found the restaurant offered a wide range of breakfast options on a buffet all quite tasty, again though they are let down by offering coffee from a machine which added UHT milk. To me that is a sin but others may tolerate or quite like this.They do offer an all inclusive option which I imagine would be fairly priced and of decent quality but personally this doesn't work for me as I do not like being tied to an area whilst holidaying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Really good hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
Really good hotel but needs a few tweaks to be a 5 star. Apartment is massive and really nice but beds are waaay to hard even with a mattress topper. Air con is rubbish and Towels are cheap. Just lacking in little things like tea/coffee in the apartments etc. Really good 4 star but with a few extras could be a 5 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Pure relaxation & tranquility

Posted May 22, 2017
Been coming here for the last 6 years & I really never have any complaints. The homes are large, comfortable and have all you need. The homes are not too close so feel the privacy required. You do need a car to get about but I dont mind this. Once you get used to the area, you realise everything is quite close by. Staff are always very friendly & endeavour to do their best for you. Facilities are average, as in nothing more or less than you expect...indoor & outdoor pool & spa. If you dont come back relaxed & chilled...something definitely went wrong LOL!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely feeling Emily friendly, clean hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Overall a lovely stay. Mattress was uncomfortable but when we complained they were swift in providing a mattress topper (I got the feeling this was a frequent complaint!), the outdoor pools were freezing, too cold to even dip your toes in. Indoor pool was lovely but don't forget your swim hat! Reception staff were mostly friendly but I'm not sure if it was the language barrier but when we complained about the courts being too dark to play tennis despite them taking 10euros of my daughters money who excitedly wanted to play but couldn't due to lack of light they literally didn't answer or respond, so no offer of being able to play for free the next day or get money back, which was a shame. Also the mini golf is actually a tiny putting green so don't waste your time or money unless that's what you're after. Very clean, good links to taxis to take us to the beach, marina and Zoomarine which the children loved. Lots of variety for breakfast buffet and lovely cocktails and bar / waiting staff :) children liked the small park area and the games room which includes a pool table and air hockey. This was my second visit to the hotel and I would consider returning.. although it may be worth trying to find somewhere closer to the beach or with slightly better facilities.
5 out of 5
by Clive

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lanark, Scotland

Would highly recommend

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We had a fantastic stay. Would highly recommend staying here. Loved having a swim, sauna, jacuzzi every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from york

Really quiet hotel away from the town.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Lovely hotel away from Carvorio but only 6 euro taxi ride to center of town. We went B&B only as the food in the town is excellent and much better than hotel food. Great Italian down the road 5 mins walk. Rooms are excellent and have everything you need. Rooms are 5 star. However, rest of the hotel is 3 star. Buts that's ok because you pay 3 star prices. Many reviews on here want 5 star for peanuts. I went to this hotel 6 years ago when it was new and it was 5star then. It's tired now but the price has not increased in fact it's cheaper. Fair play I had a great time. Fabio the bar man is great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need a car

Posted Sep 11, 2016
The hotel was clean but was a bit tired in places, barely saw any staff apart from the cleaners probably due to it being quiet. It was a very relaxing place but just too far from any shops, bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A Great Place To Stay!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Had an excellent time at the resort. The staff were very hospitable ( special thanks to Joao, Soraia, Philip and Theresa, for the very warm welcome...very much appreciated). The villa was very spacious and cleaned daily. Had a few issues initially but they were dealt with promptly...the staff were always keen to help. The kitchen was well equipped - we had breakfast and a few meals there and it felt very homely - having a dishwasher and washing machine is a luxury you don't get at many resorts. Also large flat screen TVs in the living room and bedroom was an added bonus and balconies off both rooms...everything designed to help you feel comfortable and relax and unwind. Large bath with separate walk-in power shower....bliss! My wife celebrated her birthday there and the staff brought her a birthday cake and a bottle of Spumante...she was very touched by the kind gesture. We would highly recommend Vale da Lapa - looking forward to our return visit next year!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Suit adult couples and families with toddlers.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Modern, well-furnished,accommodation. Regularly cleaned and serviced.
Cons: Upgrade the pillows! Replace or upgrade sun loungers. Supply a table-tennis table in the Games Room. Make complex more family-friendly.
Location: Isolated location. Definitely need transport for towns and beach. A couple of restaurants within walking distance.
Aqua Hotels Vale da Lapa is promoted as a 'spa' hotel. It's NOT a hotel, but a large, apartment complex with 1-2 bed apartments, spread over a large site. My apartment consisted of a large lounge with 2 sofa beds, kitchen and WC on the ground floor, and 2 large bedrooms with TV's and en-suite shower rooms upstairs. Well furnished kitchen, with w/machine and dishwasher. Overall, the facilities and cleaning service were modern and 5-star. However, be aware that Bedroom 2 is ONLY available (unlocked) if you have specifically booked 2 BEDROOMS. It appears that this advertised as 'family accommodation'. This wasn't made obvious when I booked on Expedia, and I over-booked additional accommodation for two families. An expensive nightmare! My biggest gripe were the pillows! Yes, really! They are filled with foam chunks and are more suited to a dog basket. A good holiday experience is as much about a good night's sleep, as sun, sea and sand. Negative points: Quite a small 'hotel' communal dining area inside, with additional tables and chairs outside. Inadequate shade outside. The usual self service buffet. Not a great choice of hot food. Although friendly, the staff found it difficult to cope. With breakfast finishing at 10am, the quality of food goes rapidly downhill from 9.30. The single swimming pool is too small for the amount of guests. Not enough sun loungers, with many broken. The games facilities (a pool table and games machine) in the Games Room are wholly inadequate.