Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Amazing hotel with pleasant staff

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Was very happy with this hotel, food, drinks, services was great! Would definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DUBLIN

nice hotel very good staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: STAFF AND GENERAL
Cons: FOOD.
Location: A SLIGHT BIT OUT OF THE WAY ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE A BIT DISABLED. BUT THEY DO RUN MINI BUS TO ALBUFERIA AND ALSO TO FALASIA BEACH.
I HAVE STAYED AT LUNA ALPINUS ON MYOWN AROUND FEB/MARCH IN 2010. AND IWAS ON B 7 B. THE BREAKFAST WS EXCELLENT THEN AND I RAVED ABOUT THE FOOD IN THIER RESTRAUNT FROM THAT TIME TO MY TRAVELLING COMMPANIONS IN NOV 2016. HOW EVER THE FOOR WAS DISCUSTING THIS TIME. WE DINED FOR BREAKFAST FIRST MORNING BUT THAT WAS IT. WE LOOKED IN ON THE EVENING BUT THE FOOD WAS AS BAD WE LOOKED AT THE FIRST TWO HOT(???) TRAYS FOOD WAS COLD BURNT. WE JUST WALKED OUT AND DID NOT DINE OR GO NEAR IT AGAIN. IT WAS A PITY BECAUSE THE FOOD WAS ONE OF THE MAIN REASONS I SUGGESTED WE BOOK THELUNA ALPINUS AS EVERYTHING WAS VERY GOOD TO EXCELLENT
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel away from the main tourist areas

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Large airy suites with good facilities.
Cons: The internet connection should be much improved for a hotel that describes itself as four star. It was painfully slow and unreliable.
Location: Quite a few family run restaurants nearby, a bank and two good supermarkets.
We were immediately attracted to this hotel in a nice quiet area just outside of Albufeira with its nice surroundings and wooded areas. The three hotel pool were cleaned regularly and the beach is only a 20 minute walk away (or 5 minutes on the free bus) if you didn’t want to swim locally.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

sadly the hotel did not live up to my expectations

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The chambermaid was nice to talk to. And the children were no problem at all.
Cons: I wrote about this above. I did try to talk to the mgr. but he was busy in the food area and said he would be at reception later. I couldn't find him.
Location: I'd go to the lovely quiet beach about 1 mile away to try and get some rest. Also found a couple of places to eat good food.
I had expected to have a quiet and much needed rest. I was disappointed to have been given a room on the ground floor with the road quite close by. I felt a little 'vulnerable' (I was travelling on my own - and have done so many times over the years - but I didn't feel comfortable to have people/cars passing close to my veranda) I didn't open my curtains at all when I was in the room. I had asked if it was possible for me to have another room - but there wasn't one available (for such a large hotel I find it a bit odd that they only had 6 studio bedrooms - and all on the ground floor facing the road). They did offer me another bedroom but I would have to pay twice the amount that I had initially paid - so I stuck it out. Every night I was woken up by someone needing the bathroom on the floor above (regular as clockwork - about 2.00am!). The flushing of the toilet sounded like a volcano erupting - The Luna Alpinus definitely needs to sort out their plumbing. My room was also close to the 'quiet bar' which had a function every evening with guests going to their bedrooms past midnight. In the past I would have said 'If you can't beat them, join them' but I really did need a restful few days. I understand that we come on holiday to enjoy ourselves and have a good time but it would have been nice to have some quiet occasionally. The smaller of the 2 pools was nice, until the sun went in. I'd then go to the big pool where it seemed we were having a disco with quite loud music
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel lovely and clean, food.. could not fault it. Staff friendly except for one male on reception, (wanted to charge us for booking a taxi!) of course we did not pay him! We had got a taxi other nights and we were never asked for money up front! He was charging us €6 more than taxi cost! Over all.. Had a nice relaxing stay here, if you like quite it's the place to go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious rooms with family friendly atmosphere

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Spacious rooms with family friendly atmosphere. This is a great hotel for relaxing and using as a base to travel the Algarve coastline. good facilities and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

big room ,restaurants nearby

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room and staff and luna alpinus were great but my stay was spoilt by my room being over the service entrance for the laundry guy at 8am making a lot of noise and waking me up so much that I am still trying to make up for lost sleep ,and a bad smell on the balcony on the last day, but other than that was good there just dont get a room near 007
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Courtesy busses to beach and albufeira if required 3 pools so plenty of room for a swim
Location: A couple of nice restaurant and bars nearby beach 20 min away
We had an enjoyable stay a nice 20 min walk to beach a good time overall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK.

Lovely Hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 17, 2016
We stayed at the Luna Alpinus recently and enjoyed a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our room overlooked the garden pool and although we preferred the north pool, neither were ever too busy to find a couple of sunbeds. Although the dining experience on our half board tarrif was fairly average the staff were very efficient in dealing with a crowded and busy dining room. All in all a lovely holiday.