Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dominique from Berkeley, CA

Absolutely Dreamy, Worth Every Penny!

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely incredible in every way! Even more lovely than the photos, which is rare. The property is a stunning historical palace perched on the cliffs above Praia da Rocha (a perfect stretch of coastline for sunning & swimming). The 1920s mansion is so classy and authentic compared to the tragic 80s condos and hotels that were built up around it. Rooms are spacious, modern, and stylishly decorated. We barely left the property, thanks to the luxurious amenities like the pool area with cabanas and bar service, and the restaurant with ocean views. It's hands-down the most beautiful, charming, and luxurious place to stay in Portimao. We found it attracted a classy, calm crowd and the service was fit for a king, with turndown service and all. The complimentary breakfast was top-notch, as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jens from Luxemburg

Super Hotel & Restaurant

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Wir hatten 3 super Nächte hier verbracht.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Amazing luxury stay

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Location: Gorgeous beach 50 feet away, down a private staircase. Otherwise, a bit of a lacking neighbourhood.
Bela Vista is the real deal. Fantastic rooms, service, and staff. Everything was in great condition and immaculately clean. My wife went crazy for the L'Occitane toiletries, and had a great experience at the Spa. The beds were the best we had in Portugal, and the ocean view was gorgeous. This was a bit outside our normal price range, but in the middle of a three week tour of Portugal, it was an excellent luxury stop. We didn't eat in the restaurant, as it seemed a bit pricey and a touch on the 'stuffy' side, but otherwise have nothing but great things to say. Note: the strip of Portimão where the hotel is located is not great. Mostly Irish pubs and drug dealers, but the beach is gorgeous right below the hotel, and the hotel site itself is gated, quiet, and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Character-ful boutique hotel. A calm oasis.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The peace and quiet, the pool, spa, proximity to the beach, L'Occitane toiletries in your room, free Wifi. A plug socket near the mirror, result!
Cons: The smell. A brighter lamp or overhead light would be useful, as the lamps are too dim. In room and coffee making facilities would be nice.
Location: Lots of bars, both on main street and on beach boardwalk. Fab mini supermarket opposite the front gate for soft drinks and snacks, wines and spirits.
Small hotel with a two tier separate extension taking it up to around 30 rooms. Plus points, gorgeous building, lovely staff, nice pool with plenty of sun beds and plenty of shade when needed. Great breakfast and attentive pool bar staff. L'Occitance spa gorgeous and tranquil. Right adjacent to the beach and close to bars and restaurants. Downside: so very many steps to get down to the beach or marina. The hotel and the resort are perched on the cliffs so if you are not good with steps you will struggle to make the most of the gorgeous beach and great beach bars. Also, each morning there was a smell something like drains, and it permeated everywhere, the corridors, the room, the patio and also the ladies locker room of the spa. We asked about it and was told that it was due to low tide. Not sure we were convinced by this response, and it didn't linger all day, but it was most noticeable in the mornings. The resort is literally outside the hotel gates. There is one main street that goes the length of the resort and out the main gate to the left is all the Irish and sports bars and restaurants. Out the right of the gate the street leads to the marina and more restaurants. Good simple food could be had down beach boardwalk bars at lunchtimes and in the evenings. None of the town restaurants were particularly brilliant. Seems like Alvor is the place to eat. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast but it would probably have been lovely based on breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Texas

Nice

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel with comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Diana from NYC

Beautiful hotel, but mediocre service

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel buildings, pool area and restaurant were in impeccable condition and we were very pleased with the grounds overall. The service, however, was subpar. We waited 30 minutes to check in upon arrival, and had issues with the service in the restaurant as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A + C from Lexington, KY USA

Bela Vista Resort in Praia da Rocha

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
We are an adult married couple who stayed in the Bela Vista Resort at Praia da Rocha, south of Portimao in the Algarve of Portugal, during June 3 - 6, 2014. The Bela Vista Resort is an R & C property and is superbly maintained. We strongly suggest requesting a room in the older part of the hotel for the quaintness and charm. We occupied a Superior Double Room in the 100 series (second floor) with partial sea view. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated with azulejos tile panels, and was comfortable. We enjoyed morning breakfasts (included with the room rate) on the portico of the Vista Restaurant overlooking the Praia da Rocha beach. We spent our afternoons lounging by the lovely pool that is on the Resort property. We had dinner for one night in the Vista Restaurant, one of the finest in the Algarve. The service provided by the hotel staff was of the highest quality. We would not hesitate to return to the Bela Vista on our next trip to Praia da Rocha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

An oasis in the middle of a tourist town.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Deserves its 5* rating in every aspect. A truly relaxing beachfront hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sansy from Haywards Heath

Descent to Beach a "breeze"

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly, efficient & helpful staff. Slightly more choice at breakfast would be appreciated. Plenty of nearby restaurants & bars. As senior citizens, we found the descent to the beach a "breeze" the return ascent a long breathless "slog", lost count of the number of steps! However, a lovely choice of Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and service

Posted May 19, 2014
Great location, quiet and removed from the relative loudness of the rest of Praia da Rocha. Staff were superb - and the breakfast could keep you going until dinner. Pool was an oasis - and the rooms, while a little cramped, were fresh, clean and comfortable. If you do stay - best restaurants with a view nearby are Restaurant F, and Dockside. The rest of the town is mostly British and Irish bars. If you want a bit more tranquility, take a 10 euro cab to Alvor - pretty little fishing village full of restaurants.