Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old rundown hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
From the broken toilet seat to old TV, it was not a good place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from watford england

Pleasant hotel staff. Poor gym equipment old.

Posted Mar 30, 2016
The bed was hard and uncomfortable . The rooms were clean chamber maids were polite and friendly. No staff on reception after midnight. Noisy hotel at night. Didn't use the dinning room. The gym equipment was old and rusty. Sauna and jacuzzi were clean and very good.
4 out of 5
by Sheridan from Highbridge somerset

Nice resort

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
A little difficult to find, better signage would be helpful. Used out of season so didnt make use of facilities but it looked like a very nice resort. Restaurant pleasant although breakfast at 10euro was expensive. We ate in the restaurant, al la carte menu varied but small portions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire UK

Lovely hidden gem in authentic holiday area

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Pool and entertainment at the neighbouring resort.
Cons: More information about things to do in the area (other than the boat trips). Parking bit of a nightmare. Noise of other guests.
Location: As above - beach, kayaking and bike hire. Day trip to Tavira. We found the Cabanas beach strip really lovely. Zoomarine very nice but busy.
We weren't too sure about this hotel when approaching it but as quite a few resorts around but the actual hotel was lovely with great pool and close to beach. The apartment (209) faced the river which was very peaceful and fabulous sitting on balcony in evening. Very clean and beds comfortable. We are British so we found this to be a hidden gem in that not many other Westerners were there. The beach is a short (free) boat ride across the river and although no toilets etc there were umbrellas and loungers to hire. The resort next door (Golden Clube) had fantastic evening entertainment which couldn't be heard if you wanted to go back to your room. The hotel at night is quite noisy - no fault of the hotel its the other guest who snooze in the afternoon and go to bed late. The buffet dinner was good except for the desserts. Soup and fish were their speciality - very tasty. The staff could have been friendlier but they were efficient. Good reception staff and cleaners doing a great job with daily housekeeping. Parking a bit of a nightmare but you definitely need a car. Walk through the other resorts towards Cabanas and the beach / river stip is fabulous. Good nightlife and excellent kayak experience. All in all very nice holiday and will definitely go back. Take a day trip into Tivira as the trip to the castle is beautiful. Quaint towns with pleasant buildings and restaurants. We went in August so had fantastic weather. Enjoy.
4 out of 5
by roger from Thailand

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Wanted to try a couple of days in Tavira. Found this hotel and area much more inviting than in town. Only issue is the massive complex you must drive through to get to the hotel. Nice hotel and facility. Family oriented, no criticism but we are an older couple.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: Better designed seating and softer beds.
Quiet relaxing week and chef was very accommodating owing to our dietary requirements.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Spain

Relaxing break

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place but hotel a bit tired. Balls of dust on arrival and bathroom could have done with new mastic, etc. Facilities and apartment equipment very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds, England

Great apartment with river views for bird watching

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Apartment facilities & views
Cons: Confusion between reception and restaurant over our breakfast booking were unnecessary but easily sorted.
Location: Walking, bird watching, lawn bowls at Tavira County Bowls Club up in the hills, and of course some great fish restaurants.
We have stayed here before and really enjoyed the apartment which is well equipped and in a good quiet position but still within walking distance of the restaurants & facilities of Cabanas. The river and salt marsh views from both rooms and the balcony are a real bonus for bird watchers too. The guided walk of the salt marshes organised by the hotel is worth it to learn about the history of the area as well as seeing the flamingos & waders close up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

Recommendable

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Locality & size of accommodation. Would be great for families with children.
Cons: Extractor fan in bathroom. Wifi reception. Newer tellie.
Location: Near saltpans plus lovely beach road which is well equipped with shops, restaurants and bars. Walk into Tavira takes well over an hour at a good pace.
Went out of season so very quiet. Lovely swimming pool. Room - very clean and beds very comfortable. Spacious. Also living room / kitchenette and bathroom. Extractor fan in bathroom didn't work. Balcony with great views. Basic furniture but neat and clean. TV old. Wifi poor reception. Staff very helpful. Bikes to rent - excellent. Good location. Good value. Will definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by Fiona from Glasgow, Scotland

November in Cabanas

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
Had 3 days in Cabanas at the end of a touring holiday . We enjoyed the apartment and it's facilities. Everything was very clean , with daily housekeeping and fresh towels . We had the opportunity to sample the restaurant which was to a good standard . As it was off season the hotel and it's environs were quiet, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay