Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great hotel, short walk to fantastic beach

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Staff; fantastic service! Always very pleasant.
We have visited this hotel on four previous occasions. It really suits us, family of five with three boys(18, 16 & 11). The pool is great, rooms great, but the selling point for us is the staff. The are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Praia do Ancao beach is a short walk away, but you do need to have a car to get to most of the other surrounding beach areas of Val do Lobo, Quinta Da Logo etc. Access to restaurants and other amenities in Almancil and further away in Loule would also require a car. Overall, a good location, scenic and picturesque, with fantastic views of Ria Formosa and the sea. A very quiet hotel making for an enjoyable, pleasant family holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

High Standard appartment hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: A little shop either in hotel or location. And fresh coffee in the morning....
Location: As above
Everything was to a very high standard - the staff very attentive - the restaurant excellent. Breakfast of very good quality. The beach is 10 mins away and quite beautiful. Apparently there is a shuttle bus at certain times. The only criticism is that it is fairly isolated although in a natural park area ....and there is no shop either in the hotel or within walking distance to buy e.g. milk or necessities. And we had to use taxis most of the time. But definitely didn't spoil our holiday in any way....but would recommend a car for next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the friendly staff.
Cons: The bathroom towels, although clean look tired.
Location: A great location if you have a car. Fabulous places to eat and beaches a short drive away. Also stay on the N125 when driving and you avoids tolls.
A lovely hotel, in a quiet setting. Very pleasant staff who make you feel at home. Definitely need a hire car as it is quite remote and a bit of a hike to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good experience

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Second visit and have always felt comfortable staying here.
Cons: Beds could be softer and TV very limited. We self-catered most of the time - restaurant, when used, was very acceptable.
Location: Not far from sea which is visible from upper floors. Beach but not special other than for a stroll. Not much to do in vicinity apart from golf.
The hotel is a little dated but standards are high. Staff very pleasant and patient. Apartment large enough and reasonably well equipped. Cleaning carried out whenever required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Had lovey stay would go back no that would like to say 👍👍👍👍👍👍😂
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great budget hotel, good location for the beach, great restaurants within walking distance. Car needed really unless very short stay. Second visit and we'll be back again. Hotel clean, good breakfast, pool area well kept. Small kids area which is tired, but good for the kids as lots of equipment. Good location for the golf courses in the golden triangle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel near beach.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
We were given an upgrade. Very spacious rooms with balcony. The breakfast was good. We had dinner once and it appeared costly and lot to long for. Not bad, but it could be a lot better. The nearest amenities are about 4-5 kms away so you will need a car to go around. The staff has been extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this except the dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester UK

This hotel is great value for money.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Great location, rooms very basic but extremely clean. Very nice staff
Cons: Beds a little hard. would have liked a double bed rather than 2 singles
Location: We go to Quinta Do Lago every year so are aware of the areas attractions. A car is a necessity for this area.
Just spent half term here and it was great, breakfast and staff very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Great service

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Staff were superb, room cleaned and new towels daily. Will definitely return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Nice clean hotel near to great beaches

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Staff Rooms were clean Good value for money Quiet in day when golfers out.
Cons: More information on local area and walks in forests.
Location: On a large residential area with easy access to beaches which all have life guards up to the 30th September Mainly golf
5 night stay got off to dodgy start when we were bumped out of our pool view room to accommodate the overbooking of golfers! Two nights followed in Room 001 which is a perfectly nice room but looks out over the ground floor of the car park with no useable outside space due to lack of privacy. We were compensated with a bottle of local fizz and apologies On our 3 rd night we moved to a 2 bed apartment with lovely sea views which was easily large enough for a family of 6, so although a nice gesture we would have preferred the room we booked from the start. all the staff at the Formosa are lovely and friendly, breakfast is good. We ate 3 times at the hotel and on 2 occasions it was good.