Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK.

The third review.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Beach position.
Cons: General modernisation to fully justify a five star rating and offer fully inclusive packages. It does not cater that well for children.
Location: The location cannot be faulted. The general area does not offer a large range of entertainment other than its bar and restaurant trade.
We have now experienced Summer, Autumn and Spring, in that order and within the last eight months. This trip was booked without hesitation of looking elsewhere. So further visits will certainly be a strong consideration. The hotel, despite being a little tired, has a premier position to the beach, being of easy reach, from within the grounds. There have been obvious improvements to the outside pool area. Meals are never a problem either. Overall the staff are charming, pleasant and very helpful at all times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Very clean hotel with good facilities. Breakfast was excellent and served by friendly staff. Lovely views across beach! Would definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Very nice hotel, close to restaurantes and hotel right at the beach with a wonderful boardwalk Staff extremely friendly and courteous Will go back again Wish they had queen size or king size beds as two beds together is not very comfortable Overall very good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The cockroach hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The view, the room, the reception and pool area.
Cons: The food, getting rid of the cockroach problem.
It was a family holiday, and it was my daughter's boyfriend's first time spending Christmas in Portugal and staying in the Algarve. While the reception area, facilities and the rooms were in good condition, we came to this hotel looking forward to the meals we would be eating for Christmas Eve and Christmas day. It's a 5 star hotel, and we were paying 50 euro per person, (each meal), so we expected something wonderful (especially given that Portugal has an excellent tradition for wonderful food. Instead it was so cheap and stingy, and not worth even 10 euro per person. When it came to the food, I have had better in a hostel! We were served up on both nights dried meat with not much sauce, or where it was meat on the bone, it was more bone than meat (my wife had goat, which was basically 2 large bones on her plate). Worse of all, there wasn't a single potato, or even a tray of veg we could serve ourselves, (for a meat dish we had, it only came with 4 pieces of broccoli). The "desert tray" was the biggest disappointment of all - Portugal is known for its deserts, and it was a poor display of stale French toast, crumbling Christmas cake and some Portuguese deserts that were not fresh at all. There is a patisserie across the road, had there been a problem with making deserts, they could have purchased some lovely cakes there. Worse still, my daughter and her partner found a large cockroach in their bathroom on the last night before we were leaving! To make matters worse, we com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london Ontario

Beautiful view

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Really enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. The only issue was the availability of ice for the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey UK

Lovely hotel right by the beach

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Happy with everything.
Location: We stayed at Praia da Rocha. Beautiful area. We were there for the New Year. Must try the summer there will be lots going on.
Lovely hotel, & very friendly & helpful staff . Will recommend to friends & family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatjam Kent

Great relaxing holiday

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Had a great stay at the Casino Hotel.... all of the staff were very helpful and attentive. Lovely location overlooking the beach.... the light lunch menu could be a bit more varied but that is just an observation... I would highly recommend staying here...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views of the beach

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and attentive staff. Very quiet and peaceful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Beware minibar charges

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Only good thing is view.
Cons: Five star? No tooth brushes supplied or tooth paste. No razors or shaving cream supplied.
Stayed end of August, just got bank statement more than 8 weeks after our stay (November) with a charge of 23 euros for minibar. We never took anything from the minibar, and I suggest if you stay here you get the minibar bill sorted at check out. We were asked at check out if we had used minibar to which we said no but this is not good enough you need them to check minibar in your presence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Very big nice 5 star hotel would love to try in summer