Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from schiedam

Netjes maar oudbollig

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Lokatie is best mooi . Je kijkt vanaf de kust neer op het enorme strand van portimao.aan voorzijde heb je een boulevard met hoop winkeltjes
Kamers zijn op zich redelijk netjes en voorzien van comfort. Maar het is het net niet! ! Net als de rest van het hotel zijn ze onderhevig aan behoorlijk wat achterstallig onderhoud. Beschimmelde kitnaden in badkamer.schuifdeur naar balkon die niet meer sloot. En heel zwaar schoof .gebarsten wastafel. Personeel was niet bijster charismatisch op een enkeling na. Diner was alleen te verkrijgen in aangelegen casino
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portimao

Ne le conseille pas aux non-fumeurs !!!!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: La vue sur la mer.
Cons: Odeur cigarette très forte : 12 h /jour min. Nourriture moyenne On n'y parle pas le FR sauf Claudio (quand il est là :) Pb d'eau chaude-eau froide
Location: Il faut absolument faire une excursion avec un bateau pour découvrir les beautés des paysages...
Ne vaut pas un cinq étoiles. Grand max 3-4 étoiles. Sentir l'odeur de cigarette dans sa chambre même quand celle-ci est située à l'autre bout de l'hôtel où se situe le casino est inacceptable !!!! A partir de 21 h jusqu'à 9 h : odeur insupportable. Personnel : OK - Nourriture : moyenne - Vue sur mer : imprenable. Si vous allez à cet hôtel quand Claudio est en vacances, vous ne trouverez AUCUN membre du personnel parlant français. Je confirme le problème d'eau chaude et d'eau froide : soit tiède soit bouillante--> Il faut faire plusieurs essais minutieux pour trouver l'eau chaude sans se brûler !!! Pas d'eau froide possible pour la suite 863. Je ne conseille pas cet hôtel. Je n'y retournerai PLUS JAMAIS.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

The view from the balcony was lovely..

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Location was busy for October especially in the evening going out to look for somewhere to eat.
The room was very spacious and the bed was large. The only down side was the TV screen was small and didn't show very well...couldn't adjust the settings was too dark
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Brilliant location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Location is perfect right bang in the centre. Pirate ship is a must great value for money best boat trip sights are amazing
Hotel is perfect location if you walk out reception you're on the main strip or out the back 2 mins from beach. Pool is big and clean, sun loungers aren't all taken very few have towels for taken signs. Breakfast is your typical buffet plenty of choice though. Our room was clean, spacious for all we ever seen of it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ocean view balcony

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: the balcony view and the size of the room was very nice overlooking the beach
Cons: to me everything was ok compared to other hotels no problems
Location: beach, sightseeing, cafes, food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast is a bit of a bun fight.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Position and staff
Cons: They should pur tea and coffee in the rooms
Location: Far too many to list
It is a good spot staff very helpful. My only two issues were not having a chair to sit on by the pool I was told they had no more of them available and some idiot in the lobby bar wanting to charge me 2.5 Euros for a tea bag we were leaving early next morning and the night manager gave me two no charge.The Mediterranean way of emptying drains in the night can be a bit overpowering shame I don't sleep better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect.
Cons: Decor needs to be addressed as it does look a little tired which is a shame really.
Location: Right in the centre of things plenty of bars restaurants steps straignt onto the beach from hotel pool area. Within walking dstance to portomao
Good location a bit tired could do with a lick of paint and a spruce up. Reception area lovely but noticed really bad marks on the wall around the reception desk area not a very good first impression. Breakfast very good plenty to choose from. Hotel receptuon staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, England

great location..

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: large room....pool...access to beach..
Cons: maybe a bit of a re-vamp but still ok..
Location: close to marina and pubs and restaurants....located just off the sands to the beach..
very enjoyable experience..nice room..clean..great view over pool and ocean..good food..well looked after by hotel staff..beach is at bottom of staircase..pool is big with plenty of room...come out of the hotel and to your right is marina about a quarter mile down road and to your left is the strip where you will find pubs and plenty of good places to eat..really enjoyed our holiday..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North London

A home from home

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Everything is excellent at the Algarve Casino
Cons: Could add an iron and tea making facilities in the room.
Location: Great location on the beach close to other towns and just excellent for going for a walk in the evenings and window shopping or having a night cap.
Being dropped off at the hotel was amazing. you knew you had arrived to a classy place. All the staff were really great from the moment we arrived. The staff cant do enough and suggested great day excursions for us whilst we were there. The breakfast and dinner was really good, whilst busy the staff still managed to look after everyone. The facilities are great and the hotel was really clean. Some reviews say the hotel is dated I say its retro and sitting in the evening having our dinner in the Casino area made you feel part of the great gangster films. We always felt that Robert Deniro would walk in with Sharon stone. The evening entertainment in the Casino was always worth the wait. I even tried my luck on the roulet wheel and won 70 euros!! by gambling 10 euros The cleaners are very helpful and the room was always spotless. Our only gripe would be that there was no iron or tea making facilities in the room. The location of the hotel is just right on the beach and near other towns. Do go to Alvor a great fishing village and excellent restaurants. Would I come again, you bet I would..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Gemütliches Strandhotel mit Casino

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Die Position des Hotels, perfekt als Startpunkt für alle Unternehmungen.
Cons: Wenn man schon dafür bezahlen muss, neue Sonnenschirme und -Liegen für den Strand.
Location: Sehr zentral , alles.
Das Hotel hat die Glanzjahre hinter sich, vieles an Möbel, Wände ...ist in die Jahre gekommen, nicht desto trotz, hat sehr viel Stiel und Charme. Der Garten hat mich sehr fasziniert, mit mediterranem Flair, eine Oase der Gemütlichkeit. Mann hat viele Sonnenliege und Sonnenschirme am Pool zu Verfügung, leider etwas sehr dicht nebeneinander gedrängt, damit ist die Privatsphäre gestört.Alles aber exzellent sauber. Ein extra Pool für Kinder ist vorhanden mit viel Spielzeug gegen die Langeweile. Der Strand mit Liegen und Sonnenschirmen ausgestattet , dort aber müssen ,2 Liegen und ein Sonnenschirm zum Beispiel 10€/Tag, bezahlt werden , obwohl sie auch zum Hotel gehören. Diese Liegen sind aber oft durchgelegen,Rückenschmerzen gibt es inklusive, und die Sonnenschirme sind auch etwas unstabil, ausgeblichen. Der Frühstück ist sehr gut, mit allem reichlich ausgestattet, am meisten aber am überwiegend englischem Publikum ausgerichtet.Viel frisches Obst,Getränke,Kaffe...Eier in jeglicher Form nach Wunsch zubereitet.Sehr guter Start in den Tag zwischen 7.00-10.00 Uhr, also nichts für Langschläfer.Mann kann auch aufs Zimmer bestellen,dann nur eine kleine Auswahl, aber wird bis 11.00 Uhr gebracht. Die Sauberkeit ist ausreichend,das Personal höflich,zuvorkommend. Vor der Tür unzählige Cafés und Restaurants.An dieser Stelle empfehle ich herzlich das Restaurant Adris, sehr gut und bezahlbar. Alles sehr empfehlenswert.