Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleeping Giant

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Need to start at the end here as we are led to believe that the Mountechoro is due for a "refurb" at the end of October until whenever it is complete? Hotel is most definitely not a "Four Star" hotel in its present condition the whole place is tired and dated and this is shown with some of the staff! Bathrooms need overhaul as do the landings, carpets, lifts (sometimes could not get a lift due to overcrowding, great for the hotel not so good for the client), the beds are also very low (at least ours was) so if you have any mobility problems it is worth mention about maybe getting another mattress on top or something, also the food/menu selection was not great (the food was Ok) but, much the same each day and, if you like chicken then this is the place? With the place due for refurbishment commencing end of October the stocks are being allowed to run low so be warned that you may not get your favourite "tipple" or even a tipple at all? However there is supposed to be a water park going in place of the tennis courts and surrounding area(s) and of course a "refurb" but at present the Mountechoro is a "sleeping giant" and it must have been a formidable hotel in its day. Enjoyed the hotel and resort and would go back, but not until all the work is complete.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AI great value break

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Overall I was happy with this break. Given previous reviews I was regretting my decision to book here but I would recommend the hotel. I can understand other people's point of view, yes the carpet was worn and stained but the room was large and clean. Breakfast offered a good choice of hot and cold food. I was not a fan of the coffee but I discovered that if you add an espresso to a long coffee it was reasonable enough. As our break was September and out of peak season I did not experience any issues with the pool bar or the main bar. The WiFi was very poor but that suited me perfectly. With a teenager and a toddler I wanted to spend my time in the pool or doing other family activities, not asking the teenager to get off Facebook or snap chat. There was no problem getting sunbeds and the pools were nearly always empty. The kids pool was ideal for the toddler and the big pool did not exceed 1.2m which is fine for a dip or a swim. Bus service was handy to have for the old town but it only ran 3 times a day. Take advantage of the towel hire service. 10 euro deposit but you can change as often as you like, you can even bring them to the beach. No hassle getting deposit back. I added the AI option as it was available for very small money, go for it!. There was no problem getting limitless amounts of bottled water. I didn't plan to eat in the hotel but did so 1 night. We used it for snacks of fruit salad pizza. If you like white wine the AI is sparkling and easy to drink.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very old hotel , worse hotel I ever stayed in at all not worth it .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derry

4 star it's NOT

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Hotel dated ,room spacious but carpet worn and thread bare.Bathroom toilet bowl cracked but patched.Both suite yellowed with age. This room was a junior suite. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Friendly, comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Good points -clean and comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. The food and drinks are good quality and plentiful. Free beach shuttle service. Bad points -Wi fi only available in the bar and signal is weak. Pool is too small when the hotel is heaving in august, not enough loungers by the pool -we witnessed a few lounger wars, Not much variety with the food. We had an excellent time and would definitely stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Awful experience.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The pool was nice and the room had a balcony with a lovely view. It was decently close to the beach and some of the bars on the strip.
Cons: Everything. Service, decor, wifi, food, amenities, etc.
Location: The location was decent. We were able to walk to the beach and bars on the strip, since the shuttle service provided was effectively useless.
The staff in this hotel were completely rude and not helpful at all. Whenever we asked any questions or asked for any assistance, they acted as if it was a hassle. Our room was not cleaned every day and we had to request toilet paper..... The rooms have no wifi, which seems ridiculous to me for a "4 star hotel". They claimed that the two bars in the hotel had wifi but the connection only worked about half of the time. The rooms are very outdated and dingy. Our air conditioning was not working and when the maintenance men came to look at it, they said to each other in Portuguese "I don't know, let's go." and then said to us in English "it's working" and left... the room was never cool in the slightest even with it on full blast. The free breakfast was decent, but they had the same thing every single day. The hotel had a "free shuttle" to the beach and old town, however, it only ran four times per day to each location and the times were completely inconvenient, so we were unable to use it at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Very noisy hotel, every time we returned to the room the door card would not work you had to go back down to reception, not enough beds at the pool the food was terrible the staff were not much better id sleep on the beach rather than stay in this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Great location close to the strip. Hotel provides a bus to the beach. Lovely pools. Great variety for breakfast.
Cons: Rooms are a bit jaded and in need of updating
Location: Five minute walk to the strip.
Comfortable and clean room, a bit dated could do with updating. Room service and clean towels every day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dilapidated hotel!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
It's rated as a 4 star hotel...pictures show otherwise. Smelly rooms, dirty and ripped rugs, cracked tiles on bathroom walls/floor. Last day, we're still in room, housekeeping knocks and enters, even though we had the "do not disturb" sign on door!