Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Marina & Town

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The breakfast is good. Rooms are clean & comfy. Bathroom lovely & bright & modern, with a hairdryer & moveable shower head!
Cons: Size of breakfast room is small - means there are times when it's hard to find a table.
Location: Just a few mins walk along the front from all sorts of great restaurants & main town, plus it's just over from the Marina, if you're a boating type ;)
The staff are really welcoming here & they rescued my earrings when I dropped them down the sink, which was such a relief! Hotel is lovely, clean & well-maintained. Very close to town, market, marina, train station & all the delights of Lagos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

So pleased!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
This hotel was a surprise for me, so much nicer than I expected. The room was spacious and clean, the decor quite pretty. Wifi readily available. Breakfast was delicious and bountiful. Our room overlooked the bus terminal but it was not an issue, we did not notice any excessive noise. The location is right on the main street near the marina. Excellent! Close to the beaches, shopping, restaurants. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle ((not sleepless)

Quiet hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Very pleased all the way around. Comfortable beds. Pleasant staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset. UK

Excellent location. Clean friendly hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The rooms are spacious and clean. There is everything you need for a comfortable stay. I would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great Location overlooking the marina in Lagos. Stayed on the 3rd floor. The only negative we found was, from early morning until going to bed, every fews minutes my husband and I can hear an almighty thump, it's as if the pipe are expanding. I did complain about the noise at reception on the 3rd day of our stay.The reception said they will get maintainace to look into it. I was offered a room on the 2nd floor but as there were a group of noisy students in residence I declined the offer. The noise in our room continued. Two nights before we were due to leave, my husband spoke to the night staff at 3.30am, as the noise was continuous. He was invited to hear the noise in our bedroom. He said he would let us sleep in a different room on our last night in the hotel. Apart from the constant banging noise, the room was cleaned every day, the staff have all been kind. We wanted a relaxing stay at this hotel, we've had a tough year but unfortunately it wasn't, anything but.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

excellent location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This hotel is walking distance from the town shops bars and cafes andvis adjacent to the marina. The rooms are spacious and very clean. I would certainly com e back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient hotel for Lagos centre and marina area.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location. Good price.
Location: Lagos has a nice town centre with the usual cobbled narrow roads and restaurants.
Location good - walking distance to town and marina. Internet good. Plenty parking right outside - 1€ per day (we were there in low season, March). Rooms at the back of the hotel look over the bus parking area and there is some noise of cold diesel engines being started at 6.45 or so. Not a problem unless you really sleep lightly and are terminally hung-over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location . Great views. Great stay

Posted Mar 6, 2017
A really lovely Portuguese hotel. All staff are very friendly and couldn't couldn't fault it other than… We would have preferred a double bed rather than two singles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, CA

Close to marina, beach, restaurants, etc

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Everything !
Location: Marina right in front of hotel. Beach 10 mins walk or the hotel provides a shuttle. Great restaurants, bars, cafes and all a short walk from hotel.
Excellent experience at Hitel Marina Rio. Location couldn't be better. Breakfast had great variety. Nice mezzanine and bonus roof top pool. Hotel was super clean and staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Hotel with view of marina

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The facilities, location and staff.
Location: Hotel located opposite marina, near town, shops, restaurants and bars as well as beach.
Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff, good choice of breakfast, nice lounge area, swimming pool and roof terrace with views over Lagos. The hotel is close to the old part of Lagos and convenient for restaurants and bars. There is an underground car park which you have to pay for or alternatively there is a small car park just next to the hotel which only costs one Euro per day. There is a lovely beach not far away and you can see storks nesting on the top of chimneys. The bus station is right at the back of the hotel and on Saturday morning there is a market just round the corner. The room was very comfortable with nice modern recently fitted bathroom with excellent shower. We had a marina view room at the front of the hotel which had a balcony with table and chairs and clothes drying rack. All in all very good facilities and a very friendly welcome from the staff who are very helpful.