Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Exceptional family hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The standards of service lived up to the price. We weren't once disappointed - very refreshing!
Cons: The shuttle to the town could be a little cheaper and more regular.
Location: Sagres is a lovely, sleepy little seaside town. We visited Lagos which made for a busier day with more shops, etc. The beaches are clean and beautiful
I cannot rate this hotel enough. The standards of care, service and cleanliness are second to none and we had the holiday of a lifetime. It is pricey but, unlike some hotels, it lives up to it's cost - and more. I would definitely re-book and it's a lovely spot to holiday. Portugal is a wonderful, friendly and clean country and this hotel captures that culture. Stunning beaches, delicious food and friendly staff who cared for our son and us. Expedia offered a good mid-season package with flights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Home from home

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Surfers' paradise!
For those wanting a family holiday with a 'home' for a base, Martinhal provides all that is needed - along with lovely views from the ocean houses. Well presented, comfortable and easy to live in. For those with older families, the restaurants can be a little noisy - but the main restaurant tips the balance back with lovely panoramic views of the bay, and there are plenty of options town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent for young children

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The resort is fantastic for young children with playgrounds, pools and clubs galore. The villas are fab. Only problem is the food. The terrace is the only restaurant that does good food. Others are poor. The supermarket on site is poorly stocked and far too expensive eg. 18€ for 11 swim nappies. Take a taxi to the local supermarket. Would say it's more of a 4 star but still a great holiday destination.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing as always

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
We got married here 5 years ago. It was an amazing experience then and it was again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Great location right on by the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The staff are lovely.
Cons: Grounds maintainance. Restaurants food.
Location: There are great relaxed restaurants in Sagres and well worth a visit.
Our recent stay at the hotel was great. Not a five star hotel but by far a super hotel with kids in tow. It definitely is set up to ensure parents enjoy it as equally as the kids do. Our three year old was a joy during the week - mainly because there was so much for her to do. Food in the restaurants could certainly be improved - other reviewers comment on it not being value for money and this is definitely accurate, but there are lots of great little restaurants in Sagres so you are no forced to eat at the resort. All in all I would most definitely return and would highly recommend for families.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kids everywhere!

Posted Jun 17, 2016
If you are on holiday with your kids, it is ok, but if it's a romantic break you are after, this is not the place. Average food, constant noise of children and very average hotel staff, especially on reception and when you check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bath

High quality, family friendly accommodation

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Great standard of accommodation. Amazing friendly staff. Quality food and drink easily available. Play facilities are great. And plenty for adults too
Cons: The watersports charges are excessive. Team great but equipment is pretty standard and basic stuff (canoe, SUP, body-boards) should be free for sure.
Location: Great location. Amazing spacious beaches all around. On site facilities are great And the local amenities though not glitzy are great quality.
We had a great break here in this excellent hotel. Stress free and plenty for everyone to do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great accommodation not so great restaurants

Posted May 12, 2016
We just came back from a week in a 2 bed sea view house. Whilst the house, resort and facilities are top notch we were less impressed with the restaurants and staff. The restaurants are very expensive for what they are and the village shop is a rip off! By day 3 we decided this was a self catering holiday and that we should explore local restaurants. A car is an absolute must as you really are quite stuck in the area otherwise. The waiting staff do seem to spend most of the time standing around chatting. The accommodation was awesome and the views stunning! Highly reccomend house 207 ocean view! If you don't mind your holiday being self catering then you will have a wonderful trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Brilliant family village by the beach

Posted Mar 20, 2016
My husband and I with our two year old have just had a weeks holiday here staying in one of the vila mimosa's which had two bedrooms and bathrooms. Living area was great being upstairs. We enjoyed breakfast each morning on the balcony with lovely views of the resort. The house had all the facilities I needed and was only a short walk from the village square. Staff were always really nice and brilliant with our son. Our son loved all the playgrounds, indoor softplay, pools and lovely quiet beach. There is also a bike hire place which we did one day and really enjoyed. The food at the restaurants was delicious although a bit pricey. The evening restaurant in the hotel had a free babysitting service in an adjacent room which was a great. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would definitely recommend it for families.