Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest UK

Lovely, relaxing and quiet retreat.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Staff, beautiful location, personal touch.
Cons: A little isolated. Luz is a good 25 minute walk o the beach. Nearest larger town (Lagos) is a Horst taxi ride - 5 km.
Location: Lagos for entertainment and Luz for the beach. You can always just relax at the hotel.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Came to meet us when we arrived late and lost! Beautiful location, if not a little isolated. Very friendly atmosphere. You feel as though you are receiving personal treatment. For an escape, we would recommend it highly.
3 out of 5
by Tina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern ireland

Excellent hotel - a bit isolated

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We had an excellent stay in a beautiful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent. and right beside a fantastic pool. I would go back but i would hire a car. although the bus stop to Lagos is near by its a very dark walk.
5 out of 5
by Rafael Fernandez from Miami Florida

A true hidden paradise.

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels
A little hard to find, but definitely worth it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath Spa, UK

Montinho - comfort and service

Posted Feb 28, 2012 on Hotels
An excellent hotel with friendly staff and superb facilities. Although I stayed at a quiet time there was still attentive staff on hand to help. ie arrived late evening - they opened the bar for me, wanted laundry - next day shirts come back clean and ironed. Will be back! Only minor niggle was wifi service did not reach my room.
3 out of 5
by Sue from Newcastle Upon Tyne

There are problems

Posted Mar 15, 2011
The major problem whilst we were there was the consistently fluctuating power supply. This applied to the majority of the rooms in the hotel. Lights would frequently grow dim then brighten and there were many power cuts. Similarly heating the room using the air conditioner became difficult. This made relaxation impossible. When we arrived the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working. It took 3 days to fit a replacement. This meant that any showers taken in the first few days led to the room becoming damp for lengthy periods. The hotel was about 45 minutes walk from Luz, but a significant part did not have street lighting. As we had no torch we decided not to have an evening drink in the local bars. I certainly wouldn't risk driving the car under the influence. I'm sure that if the holiday had been later in the year the faults described would have seemed less important, The days would have been lighter and warmer. The hotel itself could be described as a 'gem' but only if it sorts out its electricity supply!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2010 on Hotels
Very nice place and the staff are very friendly. Enter the GPS coordinates in your sat nav otherwise this place is hard to find.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2009 on Hotels
From the grounds, to the hotel rooms to the staff to the food everything was really exceptional. This really is a neat place to stay with very clean and large rooms. The staff onsite was extremely friendly and outgoing. Highly recommend this place. A little hard to find but worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Brilliant little apartment complex with friendly and helpful staff! Great value for the price.

Posted Sep 27, 2009
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The setting is gorgeous - pool view one side and mountains the other. The apartment was small but equipped well (although no oven) but it felt light and airy and was perfect for 2 people. Would suggest this complex if you like the peace and quiet but want to be a short drive/taxi ride to Luz or Lagos.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Relaxation lovely sunsets and friendly staff

Posted Jun 16, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel is slightly outside Praia da Luz so expect a 2km walk to the village if on foot; This didn't put me off as the hotel had all the better views of the sunset, hills and trees for being outside main tourist area and scooters were easy to rent. The rooms were cleaned each day, the staff always had a smile and were helpful booking massages, boat trips for us. The on site food is reasonable and good and the pool was clean and surrounded by well kept shrubbery, trees We went as a couple and thought it was a lovely setting, but there were quite a few happy splashing families poolside. If you are entirely on foot and hate walking maybe get something closer but I'd definitely recommend this overall.