Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Rachel from Cambridge

Location, location, location & great value

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
Fabulous location - food hit n miss but always something edible, food and drink always available if you wanted it. The drinks however were not brilliant and I was led to believe that you could pay extra for premium brands. This was the main let down, along with the family room being just a normal room with a sofa bed and nothing more. Fine for the week, but would recommend a suite upgrade if available when you go. There were large groups of golfers and those from Scotland were particularly partaking of a s much all inclusive as they could, resulting in the discovery of vomit in a corridor and lift on one occasion! This was not the case for the other groups - seems the Scots let the UK down on this front, as did an older Scottish couple that were just crude and offensive. That said, it was very good value, all the staff were really charming and very helpful The rooms were clean and comfy, the outside pool lovely (indoor pool a big let down). The bonus however was that you could for a small fee of just 10 euro per adult (kids free) upgrade your evening meal to the next door 5* Pestana Alvor where all drinks are premium as part of the price and the food superb. One of the best beaches in the region with some fantastic places locally to visit and beach restaurants to dine in. B&B would be preferred if I were to return.The other guests let the hotel down for the other guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Rachel, Thank you for your nice review, we shared it with our team and everybody is very proud of your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we will be pleased if you return. Kind regards Ricardo Santos – Unit Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alvor Portimao

Flott hotell med en fantastisk utsikt mot stranden

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Maten,utsikten, bassengområdet, renholdet samt kort vei til stranden og sentrum.
Cons: Hvis man kan utsette noe på vår reise så var det at enkelte av personalet virket slitne av en lang sessong.
Hotellet ligger praktfullt til med en fantastisk utsikt mot stranden og havet. Personalet bar litt preg av en lang sessong og virket veldig klare til vinterstenging, men ellers hyggelige. Maten er nydelig og variert. Dette var vårt første opphold på dette hotellet i Alvor og vi har allerede bestemt oss for å reise tilbake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester. uk

pestana delfim

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Cons: the gym and spa were in serious need of an update
it was a nice hotel but needs a bit of updating ,staff were really friendly and helpful its only a 10 minute walk into town and 2 mins from the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

High Rise Hotel lovely gardens near stunning beach

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: We visited out of school holidays for a quiet gettaway and were rewarded with a peaceful poolside haven. It is more 3* than 4* but due mainly to decor
Cons: The entertainments guy waited silently at the time of appointed events (boules / volleyball particularly)& made no attempt to engage guests.
Location: Ideal for beach lovers.
Despite a rather dated building, the peeling painted exterior hides a realm of facilities and comfort inside. Receptionists were efficient and helpful. The rooms were clean and almost all have balconies with fantastic views. The food selections were varied and wide-reaching with choices including wonderful salads, grilled meats, plenty of fish, always a pasta dish, lamb, veal, duck, pizza and casseroles. The desserts also offered plenty of choice. With long meal-times the buffet never seemed too crowded. When we stayed there were only a few children, the majority of residents were golfers who vacated the hotel most of the day leaving the poolside peaceful. The golf societies were somewhat rowdy in the bar at night! If the poolside is not your cup of tea then the stunning beach is barely 5 minutes walk away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Great value for money!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Great service, friendly staff, 5min walk to an amazing beach,
Cons: Evening entertainment was poor. Pool & Fussball should be included. Open blue lagoon bar. health club could be updated. sauna was never on.
The hotel staff are excellent, from the receptionists helping with your inquiries, down to the housekeeper folding your PJ's and placing them under your pillow! Although some reviews on here say the staff have bad customer service, they need to think about the fact that the restaurant and bar staff have A LOT to do between services, and can't always exceed our expectations, I put my hands up to them. Food was different every meal time, and the drinks are poured VEEEERY generously! The outdoor swimming pool is great, however the pool bar was closed due to the time of year. Gym is small and very standard, and the sauna was rarely on, therefore you had to turn it on yourself and let it heat up before using it. Good location - only a 15min walk to the near by town, or a 5 min taxi ride (4euro's....bargain!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Stayed for 5 nights and was defiantly value for money. Food was nice with a lot of variety, rooms were spotless and staff were lovely and helpful. Hotel is slightly outdated but this wasn't a bother to me and the beach was less than a 5 min walk away. Stunning sea view and not far from the local town. There was a lot of elderly guests so not really suited for a group of young people, but this could have been due to the time of year and is a popular place for golfers, though the small groups that were there seemed to have a good time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Right on the beach.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: decor and the food.
Location: Beach and lovely fishing village.
Staff very friendly and ready to help. They went out of their way to help when my husband took ill and was admitted into Hospital. They asked every day if I needed anything and enquired about his progress so I never felt alone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Not a 4* hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
This hotel is marketed as a 4* hotel, but in reality, 3* would be more realistic. * The hotel decor and furniture are very dated. * One barman to both bars even when busy. * Obvious cut backs, i.e. understaffing, one barman only to each bar, even when continuously busy. Plastic glasses even in the evenings at both bars. * Limited Wi fi, only available in the bar and lobby area, not in rooms. * Toilets on the 1floor smelly However, staff are friendly, helpful and work hard. Rooms have good storage facilities, mirrors, electric sockets and are cleaned daily.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of refurbishment

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: In need of refurbishment
Location of hotel is easy walking distance to the beach and a walking distance to the centre of Alvor. A taxi cost less than 4 euros if the walk is too far into the centre. Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Rooms are cleaned efficiently every day. Hotel in general was disappointing due to its overall need of refurbishment. Food was adequate and should have catered for most tastes. Evening " entertainment" was of a poor standard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from österreich

Ein in die Jahre gekommenes Hotel!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Die Lage, die Grünanlage, das Büfett war auch in Ordnung Der tolle Strand (sehr sauber, atemberaubend die ganze Küste)
Cons: Einen eigenen Kinderbereich schaffen, der Lärm im Speisesaal und in den Relaxräumen war oft sehr laut.
Location: Gut organisierte Ausflüge (waren super) Bei Alvor in schöner Strandlage
viele Bereiche renovierungsbedürftig, Zimmer groß mit tollem Meerblick, Möbeln sehr abgewohnt, Badezimmer gehört auch saniert. Ganz schlecht ist der Außenbereich beim Nachmittagssnack, verrostete Sesseln mit kaputter Plastikbespannung usw. Ein ganz großer Minuspunkt ist der Saunabereich. Auch die öffentlichen Toiletten bedürfen einer Sanierung