Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Very peaceful hotel with sea views

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The situation and tranquil atmosphere.
Location: You can visit the fortress at Sagres and the lighthouse at Cape St Vincent.
The Pousada de Sagres lies on the edge of the small town of Sagres on the cliff top with very expansive views. It has a very calm atmosphere and large amounts of space inside and outside. Our room was comfortable with good bathroom and a balcony with chairs and sea view. The breakfast was very good with wide choice and we also enjoyed a nice meal in the restaurant. There is a large bar area with huge fireplace with roaring fire in February as well as two other lounges for watching television or playing games. There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel and it is only a few minutes walk from the centre of Sagres. There is an outside swimming pool and nice terraces for sitting in the sun enjoying the sea views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Coelho, Hotel Management
Dear Angela, Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review. Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Fernando Coelho Unit Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy... Full of character hotel..with great view

Posted Nov 18, 2016
It was by far the best experience in Algave! Although it was only one night.. The hotel offered the peace and quietness I yearned for! memories of its surrounding views and sunset will last me a lifetime,. I hope to return ....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Three star hotel with five star pretensions

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Location: Excellent cliffside location
The views are magnificent, the dining and restaurant folks topnotch. But it's a modest ranch style hotel, not a castle like pousada. It is terribly understaffed (one hotel clerk in charge of front desk, luggage handling,and room repairs), resulting in repeated delays. The elevator broke for our last day and a half. Our room air conditioning was inoperable and could not be fixed while we were there. And two hands are required to open or close the room door, which meant setting food, drink, wet towels, etc. on the floor while we wrestled with the heavy doorknob. But, oh those views!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Portugal

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Most enjoyable. We loved everything about it.
5 out of 5
by Katryna from Baltimore

Beautiful location and wonderful staff.

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing! The views are spectacular, the staff helpful, the little town easy to navigate, and the ocean is 10 minutes away and gorgeous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Fabulous Algarve

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Facilities, Location
Cons: Availability of staff
Location: Beaches, Fortaleza Sagrea, sight seeing
The Algarve has everything to offer in the Spring, good weather, great scenery (wild flowers), great beaches. A great place for a relaxing holiday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Freedom

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. They could use a few more electrical outlets in each room.
4 out of 5
by Michael from USA, Missouri

Just what we wanted in Sagres

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place to stay. Large clean room, very nice public spaces, great views in non-congested area. Is a bit remote from main section of town but that is not why you come here. Eveing meal food was fine but uninspiring; breakfast was good. I'd guess the best place to stay in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review. Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Fernando Coelho Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Peaceful place when you need a rest

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Very quite beautiful for young and old people, the private balconies facing the sea (on a big cliff) is wonderful.
Cons: I hope it will stay like this forever, just mantaining what necessary.
Location: Small fisherman village, some nice restaurants and souvenir shops, best place for surfing and other sports.
I have been here many times and everytime I travel to Europe I always try a couple of days in this Pousada, gives me the peace I want to meditate and recharge my batteries for another year. This is also an historical place, that's where the portuguese started the sea discoveries long time ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by Coelho, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Ester, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! Looking forward to welcome you back Best regards, Fernando Coelho | Manager
3 out of 5
by Rajesh

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pousada de Sagres. We hope to have the pleasure of your future visit, Best regards, Fernando Coelho | Manager