Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Large rooms, clean and comfortable. Wonderful pool and gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Selby, N Yorks

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Lovely small hotel set in a fabulous rural location. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and the rooms are of a good size, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The restaurant serves excellent food and has a very good value 3 course set meal on an evening. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is a great place to stop if you love peace & quiet!
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Barrow In Furness, lake district.

The frogs chorus

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel is a family run business with a focus on hospitality and friendliness. The room was adequate for what we wanted but was old fashioned with a small balcony. Everything else about this hotel was exceptional, the pool area, the breakfast, the cuisine all 5 star. Then you walk out of the pool area into the very well kept gardens and the ponds. Within the ponds you find an array of friendly turtles, if you remember to take a few slices of bread from the breakfast table these turtles will be your friend for life. At around 7 pm every night while you sit outside near the pool area you will be entertained by the frog choir. it was truly amazing to listen the sounds from these amphibians. All in all i will be visiting this hotel again as we really enjoyed the whole experience. Thanks to all the staff
3 out of 5
by IAN from bolton

good but two points must be made clear!

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
By and large this is a good place to stay with really great service from superb staff, no question about that. However, if you are a light sleeper then be aware that room walls are paper thin and the place is also surrounded by incessant dog barking/ yapping/ howling. Tolerable to some but not for me sadly! Pays yer money, yer takes yer choice...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset- UK

Small friendly hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Quiet secluded hotel with friendly staff.
Cons: The swimming pool was a bit cold for us.
Location: Slightly out of the way so you need a car.
We only stayed for one night but would consider returning for longer. Although we arrived at 11am we were welcomed by the friendly staff and given our room early. Our room was not large but very clean and modern. We headed for the pool which was very quiet and had views over the hotels attractive grounds. The pool was a bit cold for our liking but maybe that was because of the time of year. There were plenty of sun loungers and chairs. In the evening we strolled the short distance across the gardens to the hotel restaurant where we found the staff relaxed and friendly. The food was very good and well priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet and generally friendly

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Faro was okay, Tavira likewise but Ohloa was a treat. The beach at Vale Do Lobo was expansive and mostly deserted but not easy to find.
The hotel is situated away from Faro in a very rural setting. This has pros and cons. It was quiet, except the barking dogs in the night, but also relaxed which was what we were looking for. The facilities were more than expected although not advertised in the room hotel information book for instance. The grounds were very well presented and therefore there was no real need to leave the hotel. The restaurant turned out to be disappointing. The set menu was great for getting to know the quisine but the meal was costed down and the service level deminished. Havig said all that I would agsin especially out of season.
5 out of 5
by Herbert from Bad Koetzting, Germany

Very good value for the money

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed only one night. Very relaxing atmosphere.Nice pool and surrounding landscape in country club setting. Good size room and clean. Wonderful parking lot in front of hotel and free. Fine breakfast. A bit far from the town and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very Friendly and nice place to stay..

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff..
Cons: Pool chairs..
Very Friendly staff and great place to stay in the Algarve..My Friends and family really enjoyed this hotel breakfasts were going lunch was good and reasonably priced..Very nice grounds, nice pool and good sangria...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, Ca

Restful Portuguese Retreat

Posted Jun 17, 2015
My daughter and i stayed here for 2 very peaceful nights. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff was pleasant. The hotel has a beautiful pool...birds sing all day long and frogs chirp at night. The restaurant has very tasty food, and their included breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
by Anne from Ireland

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
A ivery comfortable hotel in a very rural location so a car is essential. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good breakfast and teapot and kettle available to make a proper cup of tea! Food in the restaurant was very good, we ate there the three nights of our stay. We enjoyed our stay.