Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Very nice hotel, beautiful well kept gardens.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Peace and quiet, beautiful grounds, convenient position of apartment on complex.
Cons: Some aspects of the apartment we had could be updated, needs a bit of 'tlc'.
Location: Some way from town of Carvoeiro, and to explore Algarve transport needed. Nice clifftop walk nearby, handy shop on site and restaurants close by.
Spent nearly a month there. Reception very helpful, convenient shop on site. Free transport from hotel three times a day very useful, but also nice walk into Carvoeiro. Restaurant on site and others close by, those we tried very good. Lovely outdoor pools and indoor if required. Not near beach but convenient bus calls there regularly to all beaches.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from united states

amazing hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
I have traveled all around Europe and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. the beach was just a short drive away from the beach. The price was great knowing you had a whole appartment to yourself. i would recommend staying there if you are staying there for an extended vacation. the only thing that would have made this perfect was the beds. they could have been more comfortable. but overall great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nice and peaceful location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Great location and lovely complex beautiful views roads around were quiet aswell restuarants dotted all around area
Cons: Shop on site well stocked but could be cheaper pool was very cold but clean
Location: Beautifull beaches close by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Lovely hotel in a good location!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Stayed here with my boyfriend and it was great. We had hired a car which you'll need if you want to travel around. You can walk to the beach though and there is a shuttle into Carvoeiro 3 times a day. The hotel is clean and amenities great. The only downside for us was that our bed was extremely uncomfortable. Other than that I would go back there tomorrow!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Geurts, Hotel Management
Dear Claire, Thank you for your preference. We work hard to ensure the total satisfaction of our customers and we appreciate hearing your opinion!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looking a little tired

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The grounds which seem to have more attention than the apartments.
Cons: A little T.L.C. on the apartments
Location: A little bit of a distance from the centre of Carvoeiro but plenty of nice restaurants close by and Helders Bar is just brilliant.
This was our third stay at Rocha Brava, and would have to say the apartment (621) was a little tired looking and needed attention all over. The oven in the Kitchen needed replacement. The drains from the upstairs main Bedroom had a terrible smell that was there from day one. The Sun loungers were dirty and due for the waste bin. All in all I have to say not our finest stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed with the reception staff. My first encounter with reception had two colleagues fighting. My second encounter with reception I was hiring a towel for 5 days. (One week is €5). I was charged €1.50 per day for 5 days and ended up paying €7.50. When I tried to change my hire to a full week I was not allowed and had to pay €7.50.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

A wonderful self-catered family break

Posted Sep 9, 2016
A great spot for families with excellent facilities for little ones. It's 800 metres from the beach and has several on-site swimming pools. We were travelling with my 22-month old son and found that there was loads for him to do. We had previously stated at Rocha Brava before my son was born and also found it to be a relaxing option for a couple in their 30s. The staff on reception are generally helpful if a bit cold at times. Overall a wonderful experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Luís Branco, Hotel Management
Thank you for your preference. We work hard to ensure the total satisfaction of our customers and we appreciate your feedback in order to improve!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

A nice getaway

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed for 8 days with my husband and our little boy. The apartment was spacious and fairly well equipped. The usual gripes about slightly-too-narrow creaky beds that goes with self-catering accommodation, but no major headaches. The resort is a little remote and the free shuttle bus to town is a godsend. The shops on/around the resort are very expensive, so be sensible and take a taxi to the main supermarkets in the locality. Staff were pleasant and the cleaners attentive. The pools onsite were great. Also, be prepared to be off the grid for a good chunk of your stay. WiFi access is patchy at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

self catering

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: the lay out nothing above two stories high village effect. A relaxing place to stay lovely grounds, more than one pool , well maintained
Cons: reception area small, maybe an indoor seating area with bar for when too hot outside or too cold to sit outside.
Location: close to lighthouse and cliff walks not too far from town centre
excellent self catering accommodation full size and well fitted kitchen all rooms decent size and well furnished. Grounds well kept lots of greenery pleasing to the eye. Decent sized balcony with room for table chairs 2 sun loungers and drying screen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Anke Geurts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your preference. We work hard to ensure the total satisfaction of our customers and we appreciate your feedback in order to improve!
4 out of 5
by Gabriella

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels