Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, a short walk to the beach,

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Spa facilities, location and easy access to shops and restaurants
Cons: Evening entertainment
Location: Small shopping mall, a range of restaurants and fast food outlets nearby. The beach is approximately 10 minutes walk away.
I loved the facilities at the hotel. An indoor and outdoor pool. Turkish bath, sauna, spa and jacuzzi. The buffet breakfast provided a substantial offer in terms of selection. We were not as keen on the dinner but again the selection was varied especially for the starters and the desserts. The staff were professional and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good 4* Hotel well situated

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff were very friendly especially the entertainment staff. Pool area is spacious and clean. The hotel was everything we needed from our holiday. Good location with only a genital 10 minute walk to the old town.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Alex, Thank you for sharing your lovely review and for recommending the Cerro Alagoa. We are really pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your kind comments to entertainment team. Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels and hope we may welcome you again in the near future Kind regards Aníbal Costa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Hotel, Value for Monday, Location

Posted May 16, 2017
Great location, GYM, Pool, bar and restaurant all great. Staff formerly and good value for money. Only improvement I would suggest is we had twin self catering room and could do with a refresh but it's clean and functional so happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Vijay Patel, Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday. Kind regards Aníbal Costa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Most things
Cons: The staffing at breakfast
Location: A 10-15 minute walk to the old town with all the stuff that comes with it. About a 20 minute walk to the strip if you feel you must go there.
Good location, good breakfast choice although the staffing has difficulty coping in busy times. Overall no real complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Anibal Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Trev, Thank you for sharing your review as we are pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay and were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels and hope we may welcome you again in the near future Kind regards Aníbal Costa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Shopping, restaurants
Vila Gale is one of the best hotels in Portugal, they are a **** Hotel not like the others that says 4 star but is more like a Bed & Breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Edi, Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We are really pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday. Kind regards Aníbal Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
All was great especially Luis at reception. Only thing I would have changed is to have clean towels our second day but I understand about the preservation of our environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Costa, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday. Kind regards Aníbal Costa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel close to the beach and old town

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Nice hotel close to the beach and old town,good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Anibal Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Elvis, Thank you for your kind review as we are very pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa, and that we have been able to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels and we hope to welcome you again in a near future kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Room was good, buffet great, staff great. Hotel over all was clean & tidy, pleasant calm environment. Will definitely stay at Vila Gale hotels in the future. Had a good time. Nothing to fault.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Afzal, Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We feel very proud when our guests review us as a "great hotel". We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location. Good for non smokers.

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Ebookers
Stayed with my granddaughter for 4 nights B/B. Chosen for its location and indoor pool, both were great. Although I booked a non smoking room, I was disappointed not to find a designated seated smoking area.. No smoking permitted on balconies, which were not screened from your next door neighbours. So not much privacy. Smoking only allowed on the front step, which I do not think reflects well on smokers, or the establishment.. The patisserie next door has outside space for smokers and serves alcohol! Very reasonably priced too. Otherwise a great break away. Rooms were well cared for, not dated as mentioned by another review, clean and well presented in a traditional style. Could do with new mattresses, but slept well. Lovely bathroom with toiletries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough hotel but no entertainment!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Nice pool area and the Dog and Duck pub was OK for the first few nights...
Cons: Please provide some form of entertainment for guests in the evenings! Even over the Christmas period this was limited to say the least.
Location: It was a fair walk into town and not much to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel
We had an OK stay for 5 nights, but would not want to stay there longer than this as there simply wasn't enough to keep us entertained.