Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
I can't think of any improvements that this hotel could make. Our stay here was first class
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorchester UK.

Nice hotel close to the beach with huge pool

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The hotel was "easy going" i.e nothing was difficult to do so it was a relaxing stay with no hassle.
Cons: The a la carte restaurant needs improvement. Food just ok but service poor.
Location: Great location but trips and things to do held in a big book at reception. No other info available. Info on hotel facilities also sparse.
Well, during our stay it was my birthday and the hotel gave me a bottle of bubbly and yummie chocolate cake. A very nice thought. So how can I say anything bad about the hotel! Truthfully it was a very good hotel, not too fancy but modern, lots of facilities, very clean and very helpful staff. Prices for drinks and snacks very good. The beach is very close and stretches for miles - a great walk. It is about a mile from town but taxi's are affordable or it's a reasonable walk. The weather in late September was fantastic with temps around 25-28deg C with clear sky every day. A couple of downers. The a la carte restaurant was poor. We booked a table for 7.30 but were asked if we could do 8.00. Agreed but when we arrived there were only two other tables occupied. Ok, not a problem but the hour wait between starter and main was inexcusable. The meal was OK but not great. We ate in town most nights where there are some very good restaurants. The other slight complaint is that the full information on the hotel facilities (gym, sauna etc) seemed lacking. I only realised there was a Sauna near the end of our stay. Also info on tours and external activities were kept in a book at reception. It would be good to have info in your room to mull over rather than propping up the counter getting in everyone's way. On the up side again, this is a pleasant hotel for the sunseeker and chiller. We would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Contemporary hotel 5 min walk to the beach.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Very spacious and clean lines.
Cons: The bar area was a little too contemporary and lacked warmth and comfort for a bar but was still very nice.
Location: Like any large hotel compromises have to be made. We had a hire car so it was no problem for us to travel into Lagos.
Lovely hotel situated in spacious grounds 5 minute walk to a beautiful sany shoreline. 20 minute walk to the lovely town centre of Lagos. Hire car is recommended if you want to get around but taxis are very reasonable 6 Euros to town. Food is first class with great choice. Very attentive staff all round. All rooms have easy access with swipe cards and simple to use room safes. Car parking is ample. Outside pool is unheated with fresh water but is designed exceptionally well with plenty of parasols and sun beds. Driving from the Airport takes 1 1/2hrs on the N125 but the A22 toll road will take only 50min. I would rate this very highly and give it 9/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Great family holiday

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We stayed here for 10 days in August on an all inclusive basis. The hotel is modern and clean and the pool and pool area are fab with plenty of space and sun beds around the pool. Just across the road (a 2 min walk) is a wonderful beach and it is only a 15 min stroll into the centre of Lagos. There is a tourist train which runs every hour from just outside the hotel which takes you on a loop around Lagos. The breakfasts were amazing and the other meals suited our family. We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and have already booked to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with a great location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
As stated in the title, along with this came amazing facilities to the spar including an indoor pool and breakfast buffet was well laid out with a good variety of food and drink, hotel grounds, lobby and pool area was always spotless and the recoptionists were welcoming and were quick to deal with anything that we asked (I asked if they could arrange my transfers to Faro airport). One minor issue was that the rooms had real thin walls so you could hear a lot of what was going on outside in the corridors. A major concern was the noises coming from above every morning, the cleaners must have been playing musical chairs or something along those lines. But to stress my issue alone will not stop me returning to Vila Gale Lagos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely hotel, very helpful staff

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Hotel facilities Proximity to the beach Helpful staff
Cons: Hotel entertainment very good for children, could be improved for adults.
Location: Opposite a lovely beach.. Couple of minutes walk. About 20 minutes from Marina and Lagos town.
Really enjoyed staying at this hotel on an all inclusive basis with two young children. Lovely hotel with great facilities. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Good location opposite a lovely beach. Will definitely be booking again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Well located

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location friendly helpful staff
Cons: Quite noisy in August due to lots of young families and entertainment targeted at them
Location: Beach
Close to beach with short walk across road and railway line and about 15 minute walk to marina area and another 10 minutes in town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach & city.For families

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice location, perfect for families, very clean, big pool, needs music on the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Highly recommend

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Beautiful hotel, very clean and friendly staff. Only negative is the route to the beach however I guess that's not the hotels fault!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Close to the beach, buffet service facilities for

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I have been coming here for 4 years. It's convenient and was nice and new 2 years ago. This year I was disappointed with the lack of attention to many things such as chairs by the indoor pool, leaking fountain by the spa. Angry and tired staff. The quality of the food is also cheaper, so we ate out most days as the cost has not gone down. Shame really I like the location but will now look at other smaller hotels for the money you pay.