Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Angie from Dublin

BAR AND RESTAURANT ON SITE CLOSED

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed our stay at the vitasol but was appalled that the only bar and restaurant on site was closed for our entire stay we couldn't even get an ice pop or a drink while we lay by the pool, the management knew about this in advance and never contacted anybody to inform us. We had a 3 bed apartment which was huge and we had a huge balcony. However there were a lot of steps up and down to the pool and a huge hill up and down to the town, just things to be aware of however it was a nice site and had lots of grass around the pool area which was nice.
4 out of 5
by Liam from Cork

Good

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 night stay for family wedding. Ticked all boxes spacious clean and decent location. However there was no bar or restaurant on site as the lease has yet to be taken up for the season ( and may not be)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap basic accommodation

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Could do with a lick of paint, but cheap and cheerful
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham uk

Stayed here 6 times now, but needs updating!!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: location, Pool area, well kept grounds, parking and self contained manner of apartments.
Cons: Needs Wifi. Furniture updating and maintain the appliances and fittings. Noise between other apartments spoils privacy.
Location: Lovely beaches, old town centre is cleaning up, good choice of restaurant's around marina. many other beaches etc along coast towards Sagres.
Having stayed Here 6 times over the last 8 years its starting to show its age. Generally the grounds and pool area are kept to a good standard and can provide a cheap base for a family or group holiday in Lagos. Always loved the location and views and staff have been polite. Sadly the Apartments are getting tired with worn, broken cupboards, broken or missing tiles in the shower, broken washing machine, and sofa that's well past its best. In these days the basics should include some form of WIFI, a Kettle( I buy one every trip and leave behind!) and even general maintenance to fixture and fittings. Other hotels that provide these services are no longer far behind on price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great self catering accommodation !

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Accommodation was brilliant, very clean, maid service every few days, rooms spotless, good location, very well equipped, easily livable.
Cons: Communication about facilities and when they are open, would of been handy to know when bar was and wasn't open prior to going.
Location: Beach within 10 min walk, marina within 8 min walk, very good bars/restaurants and points to book boat trips etc. Main town under 15 min walk.
Great accommodation, apartments very large and very well equipped, air con in all rooms, kitchen very well equipped, included dishwasher and washing machine which did come in handy ! Bedrooms very well thought out and 2 bathrooms was a bonus. Balcony was very large, our apartment accommodated 6 and even though there was only 2 of us there was ample space for a much larger group. Swimming pool fantastic. Close to beach (about 10 min walk), 8 min walk to marina excellent bars & restaurants there, about 10-15 min walk to main town, only downside to this hotel, pool bar was not open, i asked in reception why and when it would be open and they could not give a reason or when it would be open, a bit of a let down, no notes anywhere to advise, i can only think it was a seasonal thing but then again we are no in June so not sure why it wouldn't be open yet. Also, it apartments situated up a very steep hill, not a problem for us but if you suffer from disability or struggle with long walks/hills then this may not be for you, we did get a cab back from town a couple of nights and it cost about 5 euros (about £4) so if your happy with this then go for it. Well equipped Supermarket located a bottom of hill (pingo dolce) there is a lidl further on but can't see why you would need to go further than the local super market. There is a on site small shop so excellent for picking up bottles of water and any small bits you may need during your stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Basic accommodation avoid block 12

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: The staff were nice and helpful. The location felt safe.
Cons: New beds and a kettle in each apartment . There are no hair dryers . You can hire one for €20 deposit at reception but I was told they only have two!
Location: It's at the top of a steep hill near the Marina. The Meia Praia beach is about 15 min walk and Lagos town is a about 20 min walk. A taxi back is €7
The apartment I was allocated was at the end of block 12 . It was terrible . The wind howled through it all night which prevented me from sleeping. There was no sun on the balcony in the morning or evening when I was there. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. You get basic accommodation. There is a small shop nearby but it closes early and it is a long walk to the nearest supermarket and an even longer uphill walk back!! The onsite bar was not open and there was work being done on it during my stay. You would need a car if you had small children or was disabled to get to the beach or town or to the shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from luton

Great apartment

Posted May 23, 2015
Clean big everything you needed in apartment great pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A great stay with fantastic staff!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Friendly staff, clean rooms and situated close to the beach and marina. When our transfer to the airport was 40 minutes late, staff allowed us to use the reception phone and they spoke in Portuguese to help with the situation. The location is just a 10/15 minute walk to Meia Praia and 5 minutes from the Marina. Highly recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: It had a swimming pool and great staff
Cons: make sure it is insect free and give wifi
Location: Check out the Marina, which is about 10mins walk from the room. Quite atmosphere with restaurants. Also recommend the boat tour. Amazing day
The only great thing about this hotel was that it had a swimming pool. The staff were very friendly which im glad. Our rooms and bathroom had ants crawling around and how is it possible that the rooms had no internet connection. As you can imagine, it became quite boring.
5 out of 5
by Oldtravaler from USA

Great Location to Marina & Oldtown

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
Good location, very quiet during off season, spacious for 2, and washer was a plus!