Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be prepared to walk the stairs

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed on the 11th floor. It usually went faster to walk all the 11th floor than wait for the elevator, especially in the morning and evening. Our record was to stop 7 floors on the way before reaching the destination. People in reception was not particularly friendly, nor were they knowledgable about surrounding tourist attractions. They do not have a transfer to the airport. The breakfast was very basic and very loud and hectic. Every morning people were cueing to get in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Underwhelming experience.

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The staff made us welcome. It looked very impressive.
Cons: A food presentation course would teach the Chef's hot food - warm plates, (they do not need to be red hot but warm enough to stop further chilling.
Location: Plenty bars & food available nearby, lovely beach in easy walking distance. Villa Real nearby very nice too. Tavira nice too. Handy for Spain,
The hotel looks impressive but is in need of bringing up to its four star rating, Looks like an aging giant, was once magnificent I'm sure. There is little to tell the guest what is going on any where, the reception staff were helpful, its very mean not to have free wi fi in this situation at a four star establishment. This is the first time I have stayed full board, there were no instruction on how to obtain room service or if in deed there was such a service avail able, no coffee making facilities, just small things that mean a great deal. Drinks water & coffee were all charged so I'm pleased I don't drink a lot even water! The outside of the hotel was a building site, started work at 8.00am dust and noise ,most of the day. There did not appear to be a pool bar although the pool was fine and spacious too. The full board menu was to be kind very average or below average, the standard was very poor, warm, not hot food on cold plates. Very good service, by the waitresses & waiters but the food was not what I expected. No wine offered at dinner, people had to fend for themselves, breakfast was acceptable but again cool to say the least.
4 out of 5
by michel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across from the beach.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Excellent reception staff. Breakfast was basic but good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Matt from Cornwall

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel which has been done up recently, very close to a large flat beach. Close to shops.
3 out of 5
by Peter from Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

Algarve Portugal Monte Gordo

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Ammenities within walking distance
Cons: Room, beds and restaurant
Location: Good see above
Beds hard. Everything extra ie safe, Internet. Restaurant average and too small for size of hotel. Often lineups to get in for breakfast. Gym terrible. No parking (actually limited but 10 euros/day) Location is good, goo beach and lots of things within walking distance ie shops, restaurants, grocery etc but farther away from major centres compared to Algarve location further west.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gail and Larry from Wales, UK

Not the place for a quiet stay!

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: The view from the room
Cons: The noise and being unable to use the pool and the bar area
Location: Excellent - 500 yards from the fabulous beach of Monte Gordo
Unfortunately our stay coincided with the first weekend of the Portuguese school holiday, and a 3 day Under12 football tournament! The hotel catered only for Portuguese families, all the evening entertainment was again in Portuguese and child based. It was impossible to have a quiet drink in the hotel, or swim in the pools due to the volume of children present. The buffet breakfast was manic and like going to the January sales! There was no basic literature in our room to advise us of the services available or learn the emergency procedures, when we pointed this out we were given the hotel laundry list.....again in Portuguese! We have stayed in most of Monte Gordo's hotels on previous visits, and wouldn't have returned so many times if we hadn't enjoyed them, in fact, on a visit 8 years ago we saw it being built and promised ourselves a stay there one day. This is not an adult friendly hotel as far as we are concerned. (we are not 'anti' children, as we both work in that area - but this was a busman's holiday as far as we are concerned!) That said we had a room on the 6th floor with a great sea view, but that won't tempt us back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Prague, Czech Republic

No wifi

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Pros: spatious rooms
Cons: A little bit outdated
Location: good
The hotel was relativey good. But no access to internet in the rooms. Breakfast was also quite modest.