Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

A Nice Hotel With A Bad Room

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The reception staff, in particular a lady by the name of Luisa who was particularly charming and helpful. The breakfast was really good.
Cons: The state of the bathroom in the room I was in and the noise. Oddly there was broken furniture all over the hotel, including on fire escapes; not good
Location: A little touristy but rather nice never the less. The old city of Alghero is worth a visit. Lots of restaurants and bars close by. Good boat trips.
This, at first sight, is a nice hotel. A smart reception area, a nice roof pool area, a really good Italian breakfast in a very nice breakfast area. The reception staff were, in the main, very pleasant and friendly. For me the hotel was let down by, what I hope is, the worst room in the hotel. The room we were supplied was supposed to be a superior room but I cannot say it was. The decor was pleasant but had been damaged by a leak through the ceiling which was not repaired well. The air conditioning system was clearly old and extremely noisy. The bathroom, which at first looked good was, in reality, not very good at all. The shower door was almost coming off and one the wheels that it ran on was missing. The shower tray leaked for hours after the shower was used. Hot water in the shower was unreliable and it appeared that, if the sun was not shining hot water was in short supply or took many minutes to make it up to our room. On a couple of occasions the water was not hot enough to shave with and I had to boil a kettle to get water hot enough. When I mentioned this to one of the receptionists that I had to do this her answer was that "that was what I would have to do". The toilet and the bidet were both not fixed in place properly and wobbled disconcertingly. The room we had was also uncomfortably noisy from hotel machinery noise. I later found out the air conditioning heat-exchanger was on the next floor immediately above the room and the noise was caused by the fans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by ETX-ALMAALGHERO, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, thank you for the time that you spent to write your review about your last stay at the Alma di Alghero Hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our location and our swimming pool and our staff. It's very important for us your feedback, but at the same time we are sorry that not all reflect your expectations. Look forward welcoming you back in our hotel. Kind regards from all the Staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

very small rooms and very poor breakfast

Posted Aug 15, 2017
This hotel should be rated as a two star hotel. It is a very modest design, and the rooms are very tinl, we could not believe our eyes, it was rather the closet size, not a bedroom size. The hotel was not supposed to charge a deposit as per expedia booking, but the hotel demanded the credit card details over the phone, which did not seem to be appropriate. There was nothing served in the "buffet". There were only boiled eggs, bans and milk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisol Engand

Nice hotel close to the Beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Lovely hotel close to beach. Lovely walk along promenade to old city. Staff were really friendly and took time out to ask about your day. Rooms were spotless. Good size swimming pool with spectacular views. Only gave 4 for room comfort and bathroom is rather small hard to manovre around but again very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by ETX-ALMAALGHERO, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, thank you for the time spent to write your review about your last stay at the Alma di Alghero Hotel****. We are glad that know that you enjoy your stay and appreciated our hotel. We hope to see you again at the Alma di Alghero Hotel****. Best regards Alma di Alghero Hotel****
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Spring Break 2017

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a pretty nice experience. The pool was not clean and out of order for the first half of our trip. The beaches in front of the hotel are less than desirable but the hotel is located in a perfect place to drive to really nice beaches in 10 minutes. Staff at the hotel were very accommodating and made our stay very comfortable. The listing says the rooms had AC but our experience was they only had heating. There were a couple warm days that AC would've been nice and despite the best efforts from the front desk they could only get the heater to work.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Andyd, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Matthew, thank you for the time that you spent to review the Hotel Alma di Alghero. We are really sorry that your stay with us has not come up your expectations. During your stay in april the temperature wasn't so warm to change the heating in AC but now we have change it. We hope to welcoming you in a near future Best regards from all the staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Clean hotel close to beach, 20 mins walk from town

Posted Feb 15, 2017
All OK with hotel. Smart business standard. Dissatisfied that when we left at 6am. They only provided coffee & croissants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
A wonderful hotel, extensively redone with great service, amazing breakfast, extravagant roof pool, a literally 3-minute walk from the beach... Definitely, go there! Everybody was unbelievably helpful and just kind. When we got there, very late at night, the crib for the little one was already there, which is not, far from it, the case in some five-star hotels! We loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Alma di Alghero**** and for the time spent to write your great review about your last stay with us. We are pleased to read that you appreciated all our hotel. Our rooms, our breakfast terrace, our pool on the roof, our staff and all our services. It's very important for us your positive feedback. Look forward welcoming you back in our hotel in near future. Kind regards from all the Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Aust

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Parking was a bit expensive
Location: Tops!
My husband and I found this hotel excellent. The receptionist Carla, on arrival were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and scenic drives along the coast. The breakfast was great as were the friendly girls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by ETX-ALMAALGHERO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Alma di Alghero**** and for the time spent to write your review about your last stay with us. We are pleased to read that you appreciated all in our hotel: our pool on the roof and our staff, and our services. Look forward welcoming you back in our hotel in near future. Kind regards from all the Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Nice hotel, not quite a 4 Star

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The Breakfast terrace was lovely. The hotel was close to the beach. Nice touches like fruit in the room and free slippers.
Cons: An on site restaurant and proper bar. No where to buy lunch of dinner on site, if you fancied a lazy day by the pool.
Location: You can hire cars, bicycles or mopeds from the hotel. The old town is quaint with lots of lovely little shops, and the beach is just across the road.
The hotel was nice, rooms were large, big flat screen TV, but only one English channel. Not many bars nearby to choose from, some lovely restaurants. Recommend Los Arenes if you are gluten free. Great views from the rooftop pool and the breakfast terrace. The hotel has a restaurant 25 minutes walk away in the old town, which we were advised is very expensive. As the pool is on the roof, no parasols for shade, just a blind attached to the sunbeds that you could pull over to cover your head.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by ETX-ALMAALGHERO, Hotel Management
Dear Jwanie , thank you very much for choosing to stay with Hotel Alma di Alghero**** and for the time spent to write your review about your last stay with us. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our services, our breakfast terrace on the fourth floor and our pool on the roof. Look forward welcoming you back in our hotel in near future. Kind regards from all the Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barking dogs and unhelpful staff

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were excited about this stay and the pictures made it look great. However, the service from the front desk was sub-par, barking dogs in kennels below the room, and the desk person said she'd never heard dogs, and said everyone had already checked in and that we couldn't be moved (really 8 minutes after checkin all guests had arrived? She said "Yes!") Unlikely story. We were very glad we only stayed one night. It was nice to use the rooftop pool for a bit, but other than that we were in town and then checked out early to move on. Also, on checkout I noticed a large pool of water in the main walkway in the lobby, right next to the front desk area and that water was leaking from the ceiling. I pointed this out (thinking this is a safety liability for someone slipping and hurting themselves), and the front desk woman said, yes, it is fine we are monitoring it. Oi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Alma di Alghero**** and for the time spent to write your review about your last stay with us. We are so sorry that not all was as in your expectations. Look forward welcoming you back in our hotel in near future. Kind regards from all the Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This is a very nice hotel set back from the main road and very close to the beach. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. They offer a really good choice at breakfast and the rooftop pool, although small, is lovely. They have really nice touches like fresh grapes in your room, and a bag of Sardinian chocolates which they left on the last day. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the old town of Alghero, but if you want to be close to the beach, you will end up staying a walk away. Would highly recommend this hotel if you're staying in Alghero and will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by ETX-ALMAALGHERO, Hotel Management
Dear Abbie, thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Alma di Alghero**** and for the time spent to write your review about your last stay with us. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our breakfast terrace on the fourth floor, our pool on the roof and ouir staff. It's important for us your positive feedback. Look forward welcoming you back in our hotel in near future. Kind regards from all the Staff