Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Above the expectations.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The position and "secludedness"
Cons: Room furniture( maybe some paintings) and colors?
Location: Renting a inflatable boat will give the 360 experience. Neptune caves. Alghero ( fantastic the centre at sunset!)
Above the expectations. The place is wonderful and peaceful! Staff is nice and competent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Expedia

Exquisite hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location (the view)
Cons: Could not find anything to mention of.
Location: Good location but it is better to have a rented car instead of using public transport which might take up to 20 min to reach to the nearest bus stop.
In my opinion Hotel El Faro deserves 4.5* / 5*.The hotel is based on the slope of the rock with the most magnificent view towards the bay with the Grotte di Nettuno in the background. Both with my husband had got exactly what we paid for. The room was comfortable and cosy with a quite good view towards Mediterranean Sea and the hotel garden. The staff was very polite, smiley and helpful. The room was taken care on daily basis, always clean and neat. The food was very good, the breakfast slightly to sweet but this is a matter of the culture and the individual taste. I am pleased to recommend this hotel to everybody.
4 out of 5
by Dave

Amazing hotel in a superb location

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel on the edge of the bay with swimming pools and sea bathing etc. Very posh restaurant with prices to match. A little isolated if you prefer to go out for evening entertainment. A car is essential otherwise you would have to use taxis or the local bus to get around. Our room was enormous, about 35 sq.m. with a veranda to match. Only drawback was occasional noise at night as we were overlooking the entrance. Be aware that everything has a price (airport shuttle is 30 euros, for example).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel but...

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Lovely location.
Cons: Staff
7.2 miles to the nearest shop or restaurant and cabs are VERY expensive so a car will be required. Nice size, but only one restaurant and one bar so menu is limited and staff are inflexible re requests or changes for anything (room or food related). Not really children friendly so if you don't have a car, you will get bored.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent staff..they were very helpful

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: It has a perfect location and staff is very warm and friendly
Cons: Breakfast needs a bit of adjustment in the sense that every morning it's kind od the same food
Location: Gratta di Nettuno is a must
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful romantic hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel right on the bay. We had a wonderful ocean view room at a great price and when we checked in, they upgraded us to a junior suite ocean view room with a balcony. We were sad we only had booked one night and hated to leave. The access to the bay and the snorkeling opportunities were great in the protected cove.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inside and out with fantastic sunsets

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had already stayed 4 nights on the east side of Sardinia so moved to the West which was I thought very different. The Hotel was beautifully designed and very contemporary furniture and great pools. Excellent food menu both for snacks and lunch, dinner which we enjoyed several occasions. Our only criticism was that the staff not good customer service which may have been as end of the season with Reception exception to this as they were very helpful? Very aloof and a forced service. Dining experience in their dining room ambience dreadful and music even worse felt like were at a funeral meal lighting too bright, James Blunt, Witney Houston etc not relaxing which was a shame as it could have been lovely. No encouragement to take breakfast outside or make it easy as we had good weather all week. No green tea even though asked each day? Just the small things which were down to good customer service and attitude that spoilt what would have been a lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Quiet retreat. Beautiful location.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Fab hotel beautiful scenary with fantastic sea views. Would recommend hiring a car as the hotel is in remote location, hence a quiet retreat. Plentiful breakfast and good lunch menu reasonably priced. However dinner lacked the ambience expected from this standard of hotel. There are a couple excellent restaurants close by and lots in the old town of Alghero.