Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with incredible views

Posted Oct 1, 2017
When we were driving towards the hotel we were admiring this lovely building on the coast overlooking the cliff and soon realised it was actually our hotel and were so pleased! We arrived at 10.30 and check in was very quick and easy. Our room was extremely spacious and clean with a beautiful bathroom. We were slightly disappointed that there were no options for late night food as we had been travelling but this wasn't an issue. Breakfast was incredible and looked just like the pictures. Omelette bar, croissants, English breakfast, fresh pancakes and more! We didn't spend much time at the pool but on the day we did we ordered drinks which were brought to us poolside with a selection of complimentary savoury pastries which were delicious. For my coeliac boyfriend he was disappointed as all the lunch time snacks were sandwiches etc and so there wasn't anything for him. Definitely something which can be improved. Slightly disappointing but again as we weren't often at the pool, it wasn't really a problem for us. Our return flight wasn't until 10pm. We checked out early and the hotel allowed us to leave our bags in a storage room and they also allowed us to book a room for 6pm to shower and get ready after our day out free of charge. This was so helpful and allowed us to thoroughly enjoy our last day and get refreshed before our flight. Amazing hotel with great staff!! Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely hotel. Great staff.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Had a great week at Carlos V. Superb Location for the Old Town which was a 10ish minute stroll away. Nearest sandy breach approx 40 mins stroll but walking past the harbour is a good distraction and the 40 mins feels like 20. There is a large pool with a great terrace and bar next to it. Ideally a greater choice for lunch/snacks would have been on offer other than some very bland looking ham sandwich and paninis that could have been made days ago! The only real iron for lunch is in the formal dining room, tho was very good and not too expensive - if you chose carefuly. Breakfasts were excellent. We are out every night so can't comment on the evening meals. 5* may be stretching it a bit but def a good 4. Gym was well eqiipped. Spa still under construction. Would definitely recommend spending the extra if possible on tbe executive room with sea view. Spectacular sunsets to be seen and amazing views to wake up to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very comfortable hotel. Lovely pool.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Very clean hotel offering lovely breakfast. Great pool. Pleasant walk to picturesque old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Nice clean hotel close to town staff was courteous and helpful You need to take a ahort bus ride to get to a nice beach The beach near hotel has too many rocks but a fantastic view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

nice hotel great staff

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Pool,breakfast,location
Cons: Trim he trees that are blocking the sea view was very disappointed
Location: If you like rock beaches close by its great but buy water shoes.bars and restaurants close by and a short walk to old alghero
great hotel ,nice pool,gym,great breakfast .staff were very nice and accommodating,our rooms were maintained by Angela and Maria loved them.antonio at the front desk was amazing went out of his way to help us if it weren't for him all my electronics would not have made it to the airport love him.dave at the pool bar was wonderful.my one recommendation to the hotel supervisors would be ease up on your staff and they will work happy.definetly will come back
5 out of 5
by Kit Man

Beautiful Hotel with a View! *****

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Loved loved loved this hotel, great all around service and what I learnt is how they take their roles professional and serious. The waiter and waitress were always spot on and efficient. Sorry if I got the name wrong but Massimilano at the front was so friendly and his advice was class. A local Sardinian recommend great foodie places to visit and what transport to go on to get to beautiful beaches on the coast of Sardinia. The air con room was well needed and worked well especially the high temp from just visiting Alghero. Down side is that you have to go to the ironing room but breakfast was fresh and superb. Beautiful hotel, glad I paid the money for this wonderful experience. Grazie and ciao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent , England

good views overlooking the sea and edge of town.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The bedroom and balcony ad views . - the great breakfasts - the overall ambience of spaciousness and calmness of the hotel . The receptionists .
Cons: At the time I was there they were installing a new TV system - so choices were limited .
Location: The hotel is up a slight hill from the town- 15 min walk - a few nearby cafes and restaurants . There is a rocky beach area opposite the hotel.
I had a room at the side of the hotel overlooking the garden and the sea . The room was very spacious with a very large , comfortable bed. The bathroom was surprisingly small but it did had a nice , powerful shower area. There was , however , no bath. Clean , large white towels were changed daily . Free soft drinks were also provided. The breakfast was excellent in both quality and choices provided- fresh fruit , great variety of cooked choices , cereals , cakes etc !! The staff in the restaurant were professional and polite . The reception staff were friendly and willing to answer questions and help . Buses to/ from the town run from outside the hotel but frequency of buses was not brilliant - ( in June ) more buses run from July 1st . .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bexleyheath

Great Hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The rooms are large and have great sea views. Even the rooms which overlook the pool and garden are great. The breakfasts were unbelievable.
Cons: Not a lot to improve upon , top class hotel
Location: The location is just perfect. A short walk from the centre of the old town.
The hotel was wonderful and you could never get tired of the beautiful views across the bay. It's an easy walk to the old town which has many great restaurants. The local wines are great and I am sure you can find a wine to suit your palate. The beaches were fantastic with clear blue waters, perfect for diving or snorkelling.
4 out of 5
by helen

Nice stay

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely location. Nice spacious room. Decor a bit old fashioned. Breakfast good choice. Some of hot things not always hot
5 out of 5
by Loretta

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Location is a very short distance from the main town. The deck was large and overlooked the sea. The room was wee decorated and spacious. The dining staff was attentive and on point. We enjoyed our stay.