Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well situated right near to the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The Location
Cons: There are many things which could be improved, see my comments above!
Location: Location good, very close to restaurants, bars, beach, and port
We stayed here from 11-18th July 2017, I had read the reviews from lots of people before selecting this hotel, and in my opinion the good reviews far outweighed the bad reviews, however.... here is my honest assessment of the hotel, staff, and facilities... When we arrived at the hotel my first impressions from the outside were a little disappointing because the overall look of the hotel was not what we expected from a 4 star establishment, it looked very tired from the outside and the feeling was the same as we checked into our room. We were on the first floor, and the room was spacious but very out dated, definitely needs a makeover, ( there was a very old style TV in the room which to be honest I have thrown away better TV's at the tip! ) however we don't go on holiday to watch TV! Breakfast was typical italian style - continental style, toast, croissant, cheese, ham etc which we enjoyed, never ate in the restaurant because we didn't like the look of the menu and to be honest there are some very good restaurants on Via Lido, pool area was small and one complaint I had was that the pool was never cleaned at all whilst we were there, & there was debris on the surface and on the bottom of the pool towards the end of our stay. One very negative point my wife mentioned was the fact that you could not get a drink from the bar until around 4 o clock in the afternoon because there were no staff to serve you, she found that very annoying. The staff were very helpful, very pol
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by soleado, Hotel Management
Dear kevin and Linda, thank you for choosing Soleado Hotel for your stay in town and for taking time to write the review about your holiday. We are glad to know that you have appreciated our location and our staff. At the same time we are regret if something was wrong with your expectations. We hope to still have you as our guest. Kind regards from all the Staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

A lot of improvement needed.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
This hotel has the potential to be much better, the staff at the checkin desk were not all helpful or professional and they never smiled (except for the blonde girl). It was almost impossible to open the bedroom door but when the girl on reception had to reluctantly come up to help me she said I wasnt 'engaging the mechanism'. Took me ages to lock and unlock it. I needed an adapter for my standard European adapter but they don't have any, something I found surprising in a 4 star hotel. The pool is nice but no one works at the bar so you have to ask the girl at reception to (again, very reluctantly) serve you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located very close to the beach and 1.5 km (~10 min walk) away from the historic center. The room was clean, spacious and had a balcony with a view of the sea. The stuff were helpful. Free breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by Kestutis from MAGHERAFELT. UK

Ants in room.

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was ok at the beginning. After 3 days we find out cause our room floor wasn't moping. All dusts and sand was everywhere. And after 2 more days we find out in our room ANTS.That's why we was all nights scratching our bodies cause they was bites us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to Alghero old town

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Great location, walking distance from Alghero and on the beach front
Cons: Old fashioned hotel, 14 inch tube tv but ok for the price
Location: Alghero is a beautiful town, incredible food, highly recommended¬
Soleado is not a 4 star hotel as you expect it, but it is in a fantastic location about 10 minutes walk away from Alghero old town. The rooms are pretty basic but comfortable, nice shower and breakfast is ok. If you can get this hotel for a cheap price it is definitely recommended as a base for exploring the amazing town of Alghero. It's also just across the road from the beach so if see view rooms must be very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Shame about the noise from the bar opposite.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Wonderful reception staff, great location.
Absolutely delightful reception and dining room staff. Great location and very clean and tidy. Sadly the very enjoyable bar opposite, which is open 24 hours, means it's not the place for light sleepers. Having said that we had a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by Eliza from dublin

Excellent value

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Really good value hotel with great location. ...Friendly staff both at reception and dining room. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Fabulous location

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Alghero is a secret gem - beautiful old town, gorgeous beaches. Hotel is lovely. Pool area is small but perfect - no scramble for beds here. safe in room is FOC! Recommend both the resort and the hotel. Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
by ducalfa from denmark

great value for price

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
hope to be back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from UK

Good hotel in lovely town

Posted May 20, 2014
Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Air con seemed a bit temperamental but not too much of a problem in May. Good choice at breakfast although sometimes slow to replenish cheese and meats. Juice tasted watered down at times but great coffee machine made up for it. Nice sea view from balcony and great location. About 15-20 mins walk from old town and marina and a few restaurants with 5 mins walk, incl one set back a bit called "Daps" which we went to 3 times! 10 mins walk from train station - we visited Sassari this way. Good value for money, would recommend.